We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
117
40
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
40
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old style other guests homemade bread furniture bath backyard toilet artifacts
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 164 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2017

A nice hotel just off the E39. This hotel in Lyngdal suited my purposes as being low cost and only a short car Journey from my location. The facilities may be basic in the rooms but this is the charm of the place. Shared bathroom was no problem, neither was TV and other amenities in the room. Nice comfy bed and warm warm only a small heater. Breakfast was in the cafe and had the place to myself - no buffet but the waitress laid on a feast.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saggabott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We stayed overnight on our way back to Denmark. Already when stepping out of our car, the camera was in use. It’s an amazing old Norwegian style hotel where everything, down to the smallest nail in the wall, is kept in original style. We arrived Sunday and sadly, we didn’t know that the kitchen closed at 6:00 pm. However, the kindly staff quickly guided us to a nearby restaurant.

The room was nice, cosy and we did get a good night sleep. When joining the breakfast we did get a good talk with the owner about the history of the hotel. We will come back for sure.

PS: Thanks to Jimmi for a wonderful morning.

Room tip: Amazing old Norwegian style
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank René F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

We had a few days at this charming hotel, it felt like a trip back in time. We loved the surprising details, and style from the 19th century. A real Norwegian breakfast served in a calm atmosphere, with small story's of the history of the hotel by the owners, gave such a good calm start. You could of course have all your meals at the hotel, but nothing beats a god start of the day. The room was kept in its original style, the bed was comfortable. The downside was the traffic noise outside and the small bathroom. If you want a different and personal hotel experience this might be what you are looking for.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wenche S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

From the moment we sat foot in the doors of this hotel, we knew we were going to get a different experience. One of the hotel owners Mr Bent himself, shook hands with us and wished us warmly velcome. We were introduced to Celine who had made clear our room, and Jenny stylishly attired in 1800 century maid uniform. For lunch we tasted at an amazingly good fish soup, and when the evening came, we got served shellfish buffet with live music. The breakfast was served us the next day by Jimmi, the pleasant and smiling Dane. This is a place I would warmly recommend to anyone who wants something out of the ordinary. All the little details and the fact that everything is taken care of since the 1800s is incredibly charming. Thanks for the experience, we will surely return.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Fibula77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

This is a gem that should get a lot of credit for inviting customers back in time, in furniture, decor, signposts and service. This was a very pleasant stay indeed and very unusual - definitely one of a kind. If you can't stay the night, be sure to visit the cafe which is more like a restaurant really. At least when it comes to quality. The only (minor) downside is that the traffic behind the house can be annoying during the evening and even at night. As there is no modern ventilation in this old house, you are almost bound to sleep with your window open.

Room tip: Beware of rooms at the back if you are sensitive to noise.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sandalsand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews