We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel you can travel to, simply just to be there!”
Review of Paulsens Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paulsens Hotell
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hotel you can travel to, simply just to be there!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've been driving past this charming little hotel many times, and decided one day that next time, I'll book a room there. And what a fantastic hotel it is! You're going around 100 years back in time as soon as you open the door, and what a nice feeling that was! No sterile white walls, modern design or high-tech gadgets in sight! Everything in this hotel, down to the smallest details, has a story, and the interior has been kept as original as possible! The rooms (11 of them) are all individual decorated, have great beds, and the bathrooms was modern, but kept in the old style. The staff makes you feel at home as soon as you meet them, and the breakfast and the food at the hotel is outstanding!
I've been so lucky that I lived there for three whole days, and I'm definitely going back!
This is the first hotel I've been too, that I will go back to -just to stay at the hotel!
Thanks for three fantastic days!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgnarOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
76
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyngdal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We heve never been to this place before, and just by going through the doors we were more th 70 years back in time. The staff were amazing, friendly, professional and look after you in very nice way. The rooms, being decorated in the early 1900 style, had excellent beds, sharing toilet and bathroom with other room, was no problem at all. The quality of the food were as everything else, special, absolutely outstanding!
I am an have for the last 30 years been traveling 80 - 150 day`s a year, and this is one of my best hotel experiences ever. It was like staying with some good old friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TechV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited Paulsens Hotell in early June, and were overwhelmed by this charming hotel and its staff. Personally, I appreciated how the entire house was decorated with the inspiration of its origin in the late 1800s, down to the smallest details! We received impeccable service from host Jimmy, and enjoyed the high-quality, home cooked breakfast - decorated with beautiful flowers. The peaceful backyard was perfect for a cup of coffee, and we could have stayed there for hours if we didn't have to leave. Wish we could have stayed for more than one night, but we will definitely visit again!! Love, Lene and Arthur.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this old and interesting hotel. Excellent breakfast and guide to the history of the house by the proprietor. Very convenient location close to Lindesnes (the southern most part of Norway) and for traveling to/from the ferry at Kristiansand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthamptonWolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were on a roadtrip through south-west Norway and stoped spontainious at paulsens Hotell. Here we experienced time travelling with heartwarming atmoshere. Everything inside the hotel looks antique(much of it is indeed); its cosy and beatyful. We slept very well and had one of the best breakfests in our lives! There were home made bread(i will never forget it, it was so delicious) and home made jam. The cheff told us a ghost story from the hotell :) . The staff was all very kind and serviceminded. At the end we got personal tourist information about what we should see in the near area. Our stay at paulsens hotel was an experiance for life! We will come back some other time!
Karen Eva

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen-Eva_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Paulsens hotel is a unique experience. Staff is very friendly and make you feel like a part of the family. Hotel decor makes you feel like you have traveled back in time (in year 1894 to be exact). However, some things are new - but you want them to be new. So you do not need to worry that you will have to wash yourself with a cold water or that you will not be able to charge your electronic devices :-) Very good traditional norwegian breakfast, accompanied with stories about ghost in the house will definitely make you want to come back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Vejle, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was hiking through Norway's woods and arrived at Vigeland, where I was told to go to Lyngdal, to check out the hotel. and that i did, and that was the best decision i could have made! Eventhough I was hiking, the sight of this pearl made me soft in the heart and made me forget everything about tents and campfires, because here you feel welcome, cared for, you feel at home! All this could not have been made possible without the two visionary owners and their staff of talented and skilled cheffs, waiters and hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyngdal Municipality
7.1 mi away
Lindesnes Havhotell
Lindesnes Havhotell
#1 of 1 in Spangereid
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosfjord Strandhotell
Rosfjord Strandhotell
#2 of 3 in Lyngdal Municipality
113 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Boelgen & Moi Hotel Utsikten
The Boelgen & Moi Hotel Utsikten
#1 of 1 in Kvinesdal Municipality
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Rederiet Hotell
Rederiet Hotell
#1 of 2 in Farsund
36 reviews
19.7 mi away
Tregde Ferie
Tregde Ferie
#1 of 1 in Tregde
43 reviews
16.3 mi away
Kjobmandsgaarden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paulsens Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paulsens Hotell

Property: Paulsens Hotell
Address: Groendokka 13 | Lyngdal, 4580, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Lyngdal Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lyngdal Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paulsens Hotell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paulsens Hotell is placed in Lyngdals town center “Alleen”, on the south coast of Norway. Originally the house was in the late 18.hundreds built as a home by two brothers who at the same time built two identical houses side by side in the same town street "Grønndokken". When the houses was finished the two brothers drew straw to pick out who should live were. Of these two houses Paulsens Hotell is the house closest to the salmon river “Lygna”, which is convenient since salmon fishing is the main reason why the home became a guesthouse and then a hotel in the early days of the 20th century. In 1932 stood build up finished, but since then time has stood still at Paulsens Hotell, at least on those aspects that are not at the expense of comfort. Today the hotel and its restaurant appear in its original splendor. White linen cloths cover the tables and the silverware is refurbished. Carefully preserved interior fills all rooms, and a number of historical treasures can be discovered. The white-painted house in the architectural style "sveitserstil", is surrounded by the hotel's beautiful garden and outdoor areas. At Paulsens Hotell you will experience comfortable amenities, a wonderful restaurant and great hospitality. You are welcome as a holiday guest, on transit, or on business travels. At Paulsens Hotell you will experience quality in every aspect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Paulsens Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing