We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for a couple to relax and find themselves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012


We have just had 10 days at the Acquaviva, it is a beautiful very modern hotel, a slight down side is it feels very much a business hotel. The hotel is 50% business conferences and 50% tourist. Which can feel odd when you are walking through the restaurant full of business people in suits when you are dressed for the pool. Our room looked out over the lake less than 200m away a wonderful sight each morning. The rooms are spotless and well designed.
The pool is delightful and there is an access tunnel that takes you to the lakes edge, with sun beds and hot tubs to enjoy the view even more.
The restaurant we could not fault it, the staff are great and the restaurant manager is a star, incredibly professional but with a wonderful sense of humour, he makes you feel special. .On his days off he is missed though. You may read on some of the comments about the quality of the food, we enjoyed every meal, though if you are on B&B it could be seem expensive. 
The location on the lake side is wonderful but if you have no car it is half an hour walk in to town, we did this walk four times, good exercise but not for everyone I guess. Oh and the taxi's are expensive.
The only part I would change when we come back is we will come in the car so we can get around better. 
Overall,  good location, great staff, nice facilities, very peaceful on a evening.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 828 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

First impressions from the outside was not the best. It looks very plain and does not (IMHO) show how good the hotel is. However as soon as we walked into the hotel we were well impressed. The water features were very nice and the lobby was spacious.

Booking in was easy and the receptionist was helpful and spoke good English. (I speak basic French and German, I never got round to Italian). Only thing was we were given one room key card?

Our Room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfy, but it was two single beds joined to one. Which is never the best. The room was well cleaned when we came back each evening.

Breakfast was not great, but did the job and we didn't need to eat until lunch most days. But if I was to give negatives this would be it.

Disabled access thought the hotel is good, but if like my wife you are not good with stairs then you may struggle to get to the private beach. We stayed at top level which was about 7 steps. Going out to the pool is all on one level, the pool is nice btw, but they have stupid paving slabs with gaps in which make pushing a chair a bit awkward.

The America bar is open of a night this was quiet warm despite lots of Air con units but the Barman was friendly and remembered your drink each time you went there.

Good points:
Hotel is at a very good standard and the WiFi is free. This should be free in all hotels!!

Gym is better than most and I use the gym every day. This one had free and machine weights as well as a usual cardio machines. Most days I was the only on in there which is a waste but good fro me. This is true of most hotels i stay at.

Bathroom was good with a large bath and the shower was excellent, strong and hot. Just like the wife :-)

Bed rooms big and well laid out.

Good disabled access, apart from 2 points I mentioned above.

Bad points:
Breakfast not the best and ( maybe its because I'm English) the bacon was very fatty. The mixed fruit was of a poor selection.

TV selection poor for English channels but is not really the hotels fault.
Two single beds joined into one large one.
No coffee making facility in the room. This is a pain as you always fancy a coffee or tea after a long day.

Summary:

A good hotel in a nice quiet location with friendly staff and good facilities. I would definitely stay here again. Some may find the location a bit quiet and you may need hire car but it was only 30 minutes’ walk to the town centre or a short taxi ride. We always walked, you need to walk off the ice scream :)

Room Tip: We asked for a view of the lake, which we got but it was also facing a busy road. Not an issue for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

just back from 4 day break in acquaviva-a lovely hotel and room, unfortunately the staff, particularly reception were overall unhelpful , i needed some help after my i phone was stolen from my room (apparently this is commonplace) during dinner but was basically told "not my problem-sort it yourself"- all I needed was someone to translate and maybe look into who may have had access to our room.
It left a sour taste and I would not recommend it- also we had my 80 yr old mother with us and unlike every other hotel we stayed in, there was no efforts made to help her in any way . Such a pity this hotel is so let down by its staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel was the first one we stayed on our recent 3 weeks in Italy. From the moment we checked in we felt relaxed after our long plane ride. The room was spacious, had a very comfortable bed, and our balcony overlooking at the Lago Di Garda was fantastic! The grounds of the property were always clean and they have a private access to their own little pool and jacuzzi overlooking at the lake. They could work a little more on having a better atmosphere at day time on their bars as we felt that during the day there was nobody attending the bars. Remember that not everybody speaks perfect english here so speak clearly and if you can practice your italian! Arrivederci!

Room Tip: lake views are the best and the street noise doesn't bother you at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicoDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hotel was great. Our room was on the 4th floor spacious, clean and had nice balcony. We didn't have a lake view room, but there are plenty of places around the hotel to sit back and take in the atmosphere. Spa was lovely with a decent sized pool. The breakfast buffet had good selection and served until 10:30 which allowed a decent sleep in. We ate once at the Terrace resturant - good food but possibly not as good value for money as some of the restaurants in town. The location was good - a little way out of town but this was remedied by the cheap shuttle service to Desenzano and Sirmione.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have just spent the first week of my honeymoon at the Hotel Acquaviva. It was fantastic to say the least.

There was a bottle of sparkling wine on our arrival and the view over the lake from our room was spectacular, the road isn't even that noisy.

The staff re by friendly, especially the guy in the little pool shack by the lake. Unfortunately they were very unhelpful when it came to information about excursions. They kept referring us to the tour provider manual in reception, great if it wasn't all in German! In the end we gave up asking and will go on a wine tour in Sorrento.

The food in the restaurant is good, if a little high brow for me. But again the staff were really helpful.

The spa is brilliant. The steam room etc are all free to use and VERY relaxing.

The room was clean and comfortable with a MASSIVE bed. The maid service were really good, cleaning our room the minute we left for breakfast.

The area is nice as well, a 20 minute walk in to the centre of Desenzano and a 30 minute bike ride (hireable from the hotel) to Sirmeone.

The only real criticisms are the staff when asking about excursions, they were great at all other times, and wifi is only in reception.

Room Tip: The lake rooms have a road in front of them but this isn't loud and the view more than makes up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very pleasant modern style hotel in great location next to Lake Garda. Public areas feature many water related ornemental designs. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Request a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desenzano Del Garda
0.7 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
677 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
840 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#13 of 67 in Sirmione
471 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#17 of 67 in Sirmione
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acquaviva del Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acquaviva del Garda

Address: V.le Francesco Agello, n.84 | Rivoltella, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: $120 - $791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Acquaviva del Garda 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel stands out for its modern & designer furnishings and for the wonderful view of the lake. Inside there is a large wellness area with sauna, turkish bath, fitness room, cabins for treatments and a heated indoor pool. Outside a park of 8 thousand square meters, two swimming pools, including one for children, and the private beach with hydro lake view. The restaurant offers the guests a cuisine based on local and international notes and a wine list that is including the best local vineyardsthat can be enjoyed in the dining rooms or on the terrace overlooking the lake. The presence of a conference center with 7 meeting room, with capacity from 8 up to 250 people, make the Hotel Acquaviva del Garda the ideal setting for meetings, weddings and events . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Acquaviva del Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acquaviva Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva Del Garda Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing