We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good views & rooms if a little pricey”
Review of Hotel Vittorio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vittorio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

our room had sweeping views of lake garda and the main square which was lovely in the morning. the shower was a little broken, and the room overall a little clinical. the breakfast was ok - coffees were generous but the buffet itself was a little uninspiring. the gentleman on the front desk was charming and helpful, and recommended a great pizza & pasta place for dinner. a little pricey at 115 euros, but we did book last minute. good location on the waterfront. the train station is a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 283 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel and decided to at at the adjacent restaurant "al Ponte". Best move we have made in Italy.
The belinni cocktails are the best we had in Italy - and at €8 each were much better value than any ther bellini cocktails we have had in Italy - these took some time to come but were made with fresh peaches and were delicious. The food was also inexpensive and great value for money.
We highly recommend both th hotel and restaurant.
Our room ( at €105 per double) had a four star view over Lake Garda that was the best one could imagine. Situated close to the ferry terminal, the hotel is ideally placed to explore Lake Garda. The only disadvantage is that there is no on-site parking, but you can park at the town's underground parking station and get a discount voucher from the hotel which provides all day parking for €9.
Hotel rooms are basic - but good value for 2-star accommodation.
Highly recommended as good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front - and you will get a great view. And don't forget to ask for a card...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here as a base for exploring lake garda. Had a balconyt overlooking the lake on 4th floor along with sun loungers and what a view, expecially for fireworks. Room was nice, seemed recently done up with fridge etc. Hallways etc looka tad old but rest assured room is nice. Theres also 2 friendly lizards hanging around the corridors which initially scare you but they don't bother you. Sleep is good, nice and quiet though air con is only fair enough
Breakfast is nice, lots of variety and no shortage of good food. Bus stop is only 1 min away for sirmione to verona and train station is easy to walk from (downhill) but i wouldn't be bringing bags back to it due to uphill. Milan is 1 hour 10 mins away, verona is 25 mins away on train.
Visit sirmione and perchiera, both lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishtourerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our third stay here and it remains a favourite. Its not luxurious but its clean and tidy with good air con, a fridge and saftey deposit box. The rooms are a good size. The breakfasts are good with the usual italian fayre boiled and scramble eggs, streaky bacon, fruit, cakes, yogurt and cereals. The staff are always helpful and friendly and the location is excellent and rooms on the front with lake view are great you can spend all day just gazing over lake. Its minutes from the best restaurants and the ferry port. Going to the station is good walk up hill about 15 to 20 minutes, Desenzano is on the main line to Verona Venice and Milan.
The hotel is good value at 115 euros for lake view room per night.

Room Tip: Room 130 is on the end and can be noisy as there is a motorbike parking area below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Vittorio hotel is conveniently located very next to the old port in the very heart of Desenzano. The Garda Lake lies accros the street. From the rooms at the front, all with balcony, you will enjoy a fantastic view. Restaurants and bars can be found just around the corner on either side. The shopping area as well. The rooms are clean however they could and should be modernized just as the bathrooms. The breakfast is good. Unfortunately no P garage in the immediate vincinity. It is a 10 minute walk. Although a P place lies next to the hotel it is recommended to park the garage in the P garage due to the costs. a Nice discount is offered for parking in the P garage when staying in the hotel. I stayed several times in the hotel. Every time it was a satisfactory stay due to the very good location.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had such as picture perfect view from out balcony. I could have sat there all day... but there were too many places around the lake to explore.

We travelled to Lake Garda for 4 nights between being in Venice and before moving onto Verona. Desenzano was a great destination in terms of travelling by train as it is on the Venice to Verona train line. With the hotel not too far from the train station - we walked, but there were taxis outside if you'd prefer.

Desenzano has a great ferry port to hop onto boats to lots of other places around the lake, so was perfect for getting about. As well as being a nice town to mooch around so you don't have to keep going on a boat to have a good day.

I loved it here and have highly recommended the hotel & resort to many of my friends and family.

We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 77Hels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

A very nice Hotel on the Lake shore. A perfect location to explore the relevant places of the city. We got a quiet, well sounproofed and quite wide room for three, with a fantastic view on the lake. A very central location, one of the best breakfasts we got on our trip in Italy (There are better breakfast standards than the Italians). We felt the ventilation problems of the restaurant, or those in the vicinity, from the backside of the hotel in the old corridors. The eccentric night watch is a phenomenon, but masters English. The Hotel cannot supply Parking on monday nights, since the facade (actually the whole lake shore road) becomes a colourful market on Tuesdays. There is a Parking 300 meters aside but ask for a precise explanation on a map for reaching the spot. On Tuesday morning we witnessed the setting of a huge street market from 06h00 and on to after sunrise, IN TOTAL SILENCE, from our window. We wouldn't notice it happening, had'nt we been prepared for it the night before.

Room Tip: Go and ask to see the rooms first. If you stay on a Monday nights, ask for a room on a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skipper_il_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alessi Hotel
Alessi Hotel
#21 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#3 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
#10 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vittorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittorio

Address: Via Porto Vecchio 4, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: $108 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vittorio 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vittorio enjoys a wonderful position in front of Desenzano's harbour and Lake Garda. Rooms are tastefully furnished, offer nice views, and include air conditioning and a satellite TV. All rooms of the Vittorio offer free Wi-Fi. Some overlook the historic centre and the harbor, some feature a balcony with a view of the lake. Vittorio Hotel serves a varied buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vittorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittorio Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Vittorio Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing