We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view”
Review of Hotel Vittorio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vittorio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here as a base for exploring lake garda. Had a balconyt overlooking the lake on 4th floor along with sun loungers and what a view, expecially for fireworks. Room was nice, seemed recently done up with fridge etc. Hallways etc looka tad old but rest assured room is nice. Theres also 2 friendly lizards hanging around the corridors which initially scare you but they don't bother you. Sleep is good, nice and quiet though air con is only fair enough
Breakfast is nice, lots of variety and no shortage of good food. Bus stop is only 1 min away for sirmione to verona and train station is easy to walk from (downhill) but i wouldn't be bringing bags back to it due to uphill. Milan is 1 hour 10 mins away, verona is 25 mins away on train.
Visit sirmione and perchiera, both lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishtourerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vittorio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 275 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our third stay here and it remains a favourite. Its not luxurious but its clean and tidy with good air con, a fridge and saftey deposit box. The rooms are a good size. The breakfasts are good with the usual italian fayre boiled and scramble eggs, streaky bacon, fruit, cakes, yogurt and cereals. The staff are always helpful and friendly and the location is excellent and rooms on the front with lake view are great you can spend all day just gazing over lake. Its minutes from the best restaurants and the ferry port. Going to the station is good walk up hill about 15 to 20 minutes, Desenzano is on the main line to Verona Venice and Milan.
The hotel is good value at 115 euros for lake view room per night.

Room Tip: Room 130 is on the end and can be noisy as there is a motorbike parking area below.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Vittorio hotel is conveniently located very next to the old port in the very heart of Desenzano. The Garda Lake lies accros the street. From the rooms at the front, all with balcony, you will enjoy a fantastic view. Restaurants and bars can be found just around the corner on either side. The shopping area as well. The rooms are clean however they could and should be modernized just as the bathrooms. The breakfast is good. Unfortunately no P garage in the immediate vincinity. It is a 10 minute walk. Although a P place lies next to the hotel it is recommended to park the garage in the P garage due to the costs. a Nice discount is offered for parking in the P garage when staying in the hotel. I stayed several times in the hotel. Every time it was a satisfactory stay due to the very good location.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had such as picture perfect view from out balcony. I could have sat there all day... but there were too many places around the lake to explore.

We travelled to Lake Garda for 4 nights between being in Venice and before moving onto Verona. Desenzano was a great destination in terms of travelling by train as it is on the Venice to Verona train line. With the hotel not too far from the train station - we walked, but there were taxis outside if you'd prefer.

Desenzano has a great ferry port to hop onto boats to lots of other places around the lake, so was perfect for getting about. As well as being a nice town to mooch around so you don't have to keep going on a boat to have a good day.

I loved it here and have highly recommended the hotel & resort to many of my friends and family.

We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 77Hels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

A very nice Hotel on the Lake shore. A perfect location to explore the relevant places of the city. We got a quiet, well sounproofed and quite wide room for three, with a fantastic view on the lake. A very central location, one of the best breakfasts we got on our trip in Italy (There are better breakfast standards than the Italians). We felt the ventilation problems of the restaurant, or those in the vicinity, from the backside of the hotel in the old corridors. The eccentric night watch is a phenomenon, but masters English. The Hotel cannot supply Parking on monday nights, since the facade (actually the whole lake shore road) becomes a colourful market on Tuesdays. There is a Parking 300 meters aside but ask for a precise explanation on a map for reaching the spot. On Tuesday morning we witnessed the setting of a huge street market from 06h00 and on to after sunrise, IN TOTAL SILENCE, from our window. We wouldn't notice it happening, had'nt we been prepared for it the night before.

Room Tip: Go and ask to see the rooms first. If you stay on a Monday nights, ask for a room on a higher floo...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skipper_il_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Fab little hotel. Great rooms - effective aircon, brilliant soundproofing and curtain blackout.
Fabulous views from all bedrooms.

Room Tip: First floor rooms get a fabulous terrace with great views of the lake...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nipoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel Vittorio for 5 days in May 2011.. We chose it for various reasons. We wanted to be in the town centre where an abundance of restaurants would be within walking distance, and the town itself was convenient for the railway station, as we arrived by train & would be leaving at the end of our stay to travel to Venice. The hotel is only separated from the lakeside by a road, overlooking the harbour and within 200 to 300 yards from the lake ferry terminal. Our room was a corner room, very light, with 3 windows and although we were prepared to perhaps tolerate a little noise, once we had closed the double glazed windows and the wooden shutters, there was little or no disturbance. It would have been nicer if it had had a balcony, as some of them had, but it did not seriously affect our enjoyment. The road passing in front of the hotel is not particularly noisy as vehicles are travelling extremely slowly along the cobbles, and with numerous pedestrians around. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, as were the breakfast serving staff. Some aspects of the hotel were perhaps a little 'tired' but overall we had a lovely stay and the hotel is very convenient for both some buses and the lake ferries. Desenzano is a lovely town, with it's obvious quota of tourists but also a bustling local town and the warm evenings were a pleasure with everyone 'promenading'.
A couple of tips: all the hotels have a promotional discount leaflet,and once stamped by the hotel , gives a discount on all the ferries around the lake. The voucher is valid for 3 days from the date first used but of course one can obtain more from the hotel. The other tip is: use the bus (route 27) which goes all the way up the west side of the lake to
Riva, calling at all the town & villages on the way. In some respects you see more of the surrounding countryside than you do on the ferries. If using the bus it is considerably cheaper to obtain your tickets before you board.
We had a delightful stay & would not hesitate to stay at the Vittorio again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Dalesman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
#10 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#4 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alessi Hotel
Alessi Hotel
#20 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#33 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vittorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittorio

Address: Via Porto Vecchio 4, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: $116 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vittorio 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vittorio enjoys a wonderful position in front of Desenzano's harbour and Lake Garda. Rooms are tastefully furnished, offer nice views, and include air conditioning and a satellite TV. All rooms of the Vittorio offer free Wi-Fi. Some overlook the historic centre and the harbor, some feature a balcony with a view of the lake. Vittorio Hotel serves a varied buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Vittorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittorio Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Vittorio Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing