We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hotel Piccola Vela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Piccola Vela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying at the Picola Vela. (Booked through Inghams). We had a lovely time in this great hotel. It is well appointed and in a super location with plenty to do nearby. Breakfast was plentiful and the service perfect. The hotel's swimming pool is the cleanest we have ever found -which was a bonus!
Desenzano is a great base to explore lake Garda - a beautiful part of he world!
Thank you , we would recommend this hotel without reservation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Piccola Vela
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Lovely location, nice clean accommodation (with reliable free wifi), terrific helpful staff, good buffet breakfast. Didn't try dinner because the lakeside restaurant across the road was so good! Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parsimony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear customers, thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy that you spent a nice holiday with us. We hope see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday based at this little gem of a hotel. We were welcomed at the foot of the driveway on arrival and our cases whisked away to our room while we enjoyed a drink on the terrace. The hotel and rooms are classically decorated, rather than glitzy and the feel of the place is comfortable rather than luxurious. The room was well cleaned every day and had everything we required, although we prefer a double bed to 2 singles pushed together. There was plenty of storage space and a fridge to keep our drinks cool. We loved that our room overlooked the garden which was so tranquil - no traffic noise at the back! However our room ( 26) was directly over the kitchen so could sometimes be noisy and the extractor fan ran up the side of our balcony. The bathroom desperately needs refurbished as it had several cracked and broken tiles, cracked sink and shower curtain, not what we would have expected from a 4 star hotel. The stars of this hotel are the staff who always acknowledged us as we passed reception, or met us elsewhere and nothing was too much trouble for them, especially the waiting staff. We loved our breakfasts out on the terrace by the pool and had several excellent dinners. No need to take beach towels as there is a large flowery bag with pool towels provided in the room. We would definitely stay here again and would thoroughly recommend it for couples looking for a peaceful haven just a few minutes from the town.

Room Tip: A garden view is lovely, but ask first if it has a refurbished bathroom!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear customers, thank you for the review. We look forward to a future stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Second summer holiday in Lake Garda after previously staying at Nettuno in Bardolino. Stayed B&B as half board not offered at this hotel through Thomsons. Breakfast did not include any hot items however fruit cereal yogurts bread and cakes were plentiful breakfast could be taken around pool area in fine weather. Desenzano itself was a much bigger town than others on lake and quite upmarket in a lot of respects ie popular with Italians and locals especially at the weekend nice walk in both directions albeit quite lengthy but flat one way to Sirmione the other to Padenghe and onwards if you wanted to. Used local bus to go to Brescia which was very nice you could also go to Verona Trainline runs through Desenzano to major cities but obtaining train timetables/prices proved quite tricky. Several organised trips available if that is what you want. Hotel itself could not be faulted for cleanliness comfort and service and pool/sunbed area was very peaceful Weather was hot but generally pleasant apart from one and a half days in 11 and one stormy night Expect to pay approx. 20 euros at lunch for two people for 2 sandwiches portion of chips and two drinks. Eating out at night take care as most restaurants have a cover charge but this also avoids the need to leave a tip. Starters are expensive don't be afraid to just order a main course but you still have to buy side dishes separately. We ate at Pizzeria Teatro (terrible) Alessi Otium Fattore Porto Vecchio Splendind Mayer Vivi Pipol Osteria Sappore the best ones being the Osteria and Otium Good to watch ferries coming into port and watching the world go by in general both during the day and evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gipster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear customer, thank you for the review. We hope to have you again as our guest for a future trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a week at the Piccola Vela-and we cannot praise it enough.Facilties are first class,the rooms are roomy, and have everything you need and the hotel provides towels to use when out by the excellent swimming pool. We had only booked B/B but ended up having our evening meal in the hotel every night-no-the food is not cheap but the quality of is excellent with ,plenty of choice and we received a 15% reduction on listed prices. Nino and Glenda looked after us so well in the dinning room and all the staff were polite,respectful and really made you feel special.So all we can say is 'don't change anything-you have certainly got it right!!

Room Tip: We had room 25 -overlooking the garden-very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 602WRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear customer, thank you for this detailed review. We are happy that the stay was nice. Nino and Glenda are thanked for their compliments. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our first visit to Desenzano, which was made all the more special by our stay at Piccola Vela. Only a short walk down a very slight hill to the water side. The staff couldn't do enough to help us make the most of our stay. The buffet style breakfast was lovely over looking the pool, our waiter Neno had a smile for us every morning and a good knowledge of the area, and the front of house staff were great too especially Dieago.
Our twin room had a balcony and a lake view, which was lovely, having previously stayed in Riva Del Garda in a rather small room, I was pleasantly surprised by the size of our room at Piccola Vela, with all the amenities you would expect from a hotel in the uk.
I cannot wait to return to Desenzano and intend on staying again at this hotel which provided peaceful and restful nights away from the nightlight in the centre of Desenzano

Room Tip: You could try sending an email in advance requesting a lake view, I did, and wasn't disappointed
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Karen, thank you for your review so detailed and beautiful. Nino and Diego also thank you for the compliments. We are waiting again for a future stay. Bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay in Desenzano on Lake Garda. It was our first visit to the Lakes and staying at the delightful Hotel Piccolo Vela was just the best first experience we could wish for. We had a lovely garden room which was spacious with a great en-suite bath and shower room and a lovely terrace overlooking the garden at the rear of the hotel.
The interior of the hotel is gracefully furnished and along with touches like umbrellas and plants by the entrance, books and sofas in what feels like a garden room since the doors open out on to the terrace and garden, the stylish salon bar leading into the elgant dining room and having breakfast overlooking the pool, all added up to not wanting to leave; we would have happily stayed on for a second week! Desenzano is just what you hope an Italian town will be with numerous restaurants and cafes, great ferry services out on to the Lake for trips out to other towns and even its own Venetian bridge over a little harbour. Definitely intending to return to Desenzano and the hotel Piccolo Vela.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are away from the road at the front Mattresses are FIRM, but king-size...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moviemaniac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piccolavela, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Piccola Vela, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear guest, thank you, thank you and thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in our city Desenzano. We wait again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
812 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#3 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
870 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
657 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
645 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#9 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccola Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccola Vela

Address: Viale Tommaso Dal Molin 36, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: $163 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piccola Vela 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccola Vela Hotel, a magnificent villa on the shores of Lake Garda and near Desenzano city center, offers its guests extensive space to relax in the peace of its garden, by the beautiful internal rooms, or at the solarium pool. The hotel rooms are equipped with: Air Conditioning, Telephone, Bath or Shower, Satellite TV with free Mediaset Premium, WI-FI, Minibar, Safe, Hair Dryer Piccola Vela Hotel is also the ideal place for private and business events The meeting rooms are equipped with: sound system, audio recording, video projector, overhead projector, free wifi. The elegant à la carte restaurant with reservation, offers the best of traditional Italian dishes and international cuisine. The hotel also has a large garage and outdoor parking, lounges for reading, a bar with table service. The reception with multilingual staff, is open 24 hours on 24 and offers tourist information and booking service to sightseeing tour. There are bicycles and mountain bikes to rent. The hotel has also joined the project Bike Hospitality, respecting the standards of cyclists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Piccola Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccola Vela Hotel
Hotel Piccola Vela Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing