We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT hotel”
Review of Hotel Piccola Vela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Piccola Vela
Certificate of Excellence
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good location, 5 minute walk into centre. Bike hire on site, friendly staff, great swimming pool. very clean and high standard of accommodation. Very close to all public transport. Staff very informative. We wold definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    91
    21
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
165
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our stay in the Piccola Vela was very enjoyable, a comfortable hotel with excellent food and friendly staff without whose help and that of the Inghams rep, Frederica our lovely holiday could have been completely spoiled by a last minute accident.
On our last morning in Desenzano before returning to Leeds my wife dislocated a bone in her foot whilst crossing the road near the Prosechiria. Their staff were extremely helpful, ice for the foot and calling a taxi to take us us to the Piccola Vela. Despite it being Saturday lunchtime and change over day the manager was wonderful getting a wheelchair and contacting the Inghams Rep, Frederica. As we were due to leave at 4 pm and it was now 12 noon the manager drove us to the hospital, escorted us inside and explained the situation to the desk staff. Before leaving the manager left his card telling me to phone when we were ready to return to the hotel.
After nearly 3 hours at the hospital having the foot X rayed and bandaged, we were given the X ray disc( no charge) and told not to weight bear on the foot. The manager returned as promised, helping to settle my wife in the lounge and saw to it that we had coffee and a snack.
When the wonderful Frederica arrived she had changed her working hours so that she could accompany us to the airport. She drove me to find a chemists that was open, to buy some
crutches. At the airport Frederica arranged for a wheelchair and sorted out suitable seating as my wife needed an extra seat to rest her damaged foot on.
I hate to think how much more could have gone wrong without the kindness and care we received from everyone that afternoon and I can't thank them enough.
Mille gazie a tutti,
Ted W.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

our family of four stayed here in July 2012 for one night. We arrived by train from Rome, via Verona, and after gettng a really good room (with bunk beds for twin 15 year old girls, we wanted to know about boat options to see the lake. We got the complete background from the front desk but were told to hurry to the dock 5-10 minutes away for one of the last boats with connections around the lake. We did, just made the boat, and it was a GREAT day on the lake.
Beautiful place...and that evening we found the staff to be even friendlier. The hotel is not right on the lack but across the street. You can climb the stairs at night to see sunset from the hotel and really relax around the pool. Great staff, reasonably priced, and fit a family of four.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Having to wait for a surgery in the UK, with no dates given, we thought we opt for a package holiday and half board. We went for this hotel as they offer a buffet for starters. We were welcomed by the hotel receptionist and directed to our room. I asked for a feather pillow, I was told they would ask the owners. I had three uncomfortable nights' sleep as a result. We had also found a puddle in the bathroom, which was reported, however nothing seemed to be done about it. When we returned from an excursion on the third day, the puddle was still there, it transpired that a plumber was sent to another room in error!!!!!!! I finally asked the hotel to change my room, which they obliged on the same day, we gave them permission to move our belongings to the new room. This room was clean and more contemporary, with a bath and shower, no feather pillow though! I was told the owners would not be providing one! I couldn't even find a shop selling one, I was prepared to buy one.

Having said all the above, I couldn't fault the staff's friendlyness. The buffet starters were great and food was fine, no problems there. We found the half board offered us good value for money and we were very happy to have our pre-dinner drinks as well as post-dinner drinks there. The position of the hotel is very good, not far from Verona or Venice. The good sign was that there were some Italians staying at the hotel. The resort was the best we saw, no cheap nic nacs for sale, but some very nice independents operating, what I would love to see more of at home!

We liked the staff and food so much, that we hope to go back, but I will take my own pillow next time!

Room Tip: The hotel is across the road from the lake. Our first room was on the side of the hotel but we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chichi199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Ok so this was our 4th holiday at Lake Garda (so you know we like it!) but the first at the southern end, where we stayed in Desenzano.
We stayed at the Piccola Vela, which is a small family run hotel 5 minute walk away from the historic centre. The hotel itself is located on the main road towards the centre with the front pointing towards the Lake which is behind the restuarant across the road. It is set back from the road and shielded by trees so the road noise is not intrusive. We had a room at the back which overlooked the gardens and it was very quiet. The rooms themseves are fine; very clean, nicely decorated, air-con (needed it was hot!) ,flat screen TV with satellite, safe and all the other amenities you would expect. Sitting on the balcony over- looking the gardens was a joy.
For relaxation you have a choice. There is a pool at the front which is very child friendly, with loungers set in the gardens surrounded by trees. We preferred to stay at the back in the garden which was an oasis of peace and calm in lovely surroundings.
Being a family run hotel the hotel staff were great - very warm, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was a problem night or day.
The restaurant was nice; the food was good if not fancy with a nice selction of choices.
Would we stay there again? Yes we would. This is a good, honest, warm family run hotel with a gem of a garden to relax if you want peace and quiet.
As a place to stay, however, we prefer Riva del Garda to Desenzano. Nothing bad about it - just personal preference. Riva has mountains and lake walks, but is a bit more remote if you want to go south e.g. Verona, Venice although you can catch the frequent bus services. Limone is very picturesque but small; Sirmione is lovely but can get very busy at high season. Desenzano has a roman villa and castle to visit. Lots of shops and and bars and restaurants. You can sit at a bar and play spot the Ferrari ( or Porsche etc). The connections at Desenzano are excellent; Train station; ferries and bus and Autostrada means that you can easily visit other parts of the lake or head off to Verona, Venice or Milan. We didnt do that as it was too hot, but the options are there if you have not been to this part of the world before.
Hope this helps. Want to know more just get in touch.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the garden and are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GuyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We travelled to Desenzano on June 20th 2012 for a weeks golfing holiday with six friends, my husband suffered a severe back problem the day after we arrived, and was taken to hospital. The staff at the hotel were amazing, they were so helpfull, the hotel is fantastic, the staff fantastic, i would recommend this hotel to anyone, we are looking forward to returning in 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel on the ground floor overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Did not travel in Nov 2010 as review states. No option for earlier travel.Had a smashing holiday with friends ( party of six ) In May 2010. The Hotel was excellent . The staff were attentive and our room was very clean. The food was one of the highlights ! Could not fault it in any way. We only had one problem and that was having wine with our meal at night. We asked for house wine which we thought would mean the cheapest.We did not ask to see the the wine list. Do not do what we did! We were faced with a huge bill for wine at the end of our stay. That I have to say was the only downside of our holiday. Other than that t was one of the best holidays we have had. Would definitely go back .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craftychristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
732 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#3 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
836 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#9 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccola Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccola Vela

Property: Hotel Piccola Vela
Address: Viale Tommaso Dal Molin 36, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piccola Vela 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccola Vela Hotel, a magnificent villa on the shores of Lake Garda and near Desenzano city center, offers its guests extensive space to relax in the peace of its garden, by the beautiful internal rooms, or at the solarium pool. The hotel rooms are equipped with: Air Conditioning, Telephone, Bath or Shower, Satellite TV with free Mediaset Premium, WI-FI, Minibar, Safe, Hair Dryer Piccola Vela Hotel is also the ideal place for private and business events The meeting rooms are equipped with: sound system, audio recording, video projector, overhead projector, free wifi. The elegant à la carte restaurant with reservation, offers the best of traditional Italian dishes and international cuisine. The hotel also has a large garage and outdoor parking, lounges for reading, a bar with table service. The reception with multilingual staff, is open 24 hours on 24 and offers tourist information and booking service to sightseeing tour. There are bicycles and mountain bikes to rent. The hotel has also joined the project Bike Hospitality, respecting the standards of cyclists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Piccola Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccola Vela Hotel
Hotel Piccola Vela Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing