We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean, lovely garden and having a swimming pool is a bonus. Breakfast selections are good. Staff recommended places for us to visit. We can also recommend Rossi, rossie restaurant for food quality and good price with an outside sitting area which is about 5 minutes walk from hotel. Sirmione is a good place to visit by boat, Venice is only an hour and half away by train. Can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoracayLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 219 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Villa Maria is not a very nice hotel, because rooms are quite old and cleanliness isn't very good. Since air conditioning isn't very effective, in summer the hotel is hot; in the reception, although it works, air conditioning is often switched off. Garden mantainance is quite disappointing. It definetely does not deserve four stars and prices are too high. The strong target of the hotel is the car park. If I go again to Desenzano I won't choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with balconies: they have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sire96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here for just one night whilst touring Italy and my room was HUGE!! I mean it could have literally accommodated eight people. The bed was comfy although very low to the ground – a bit odd but didn’t stop me sleeping. The bathroom was a little dated but really that’s being picky. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming – nothing was too much trouble, fetching drinks from the bar, storing luggage at reception.
I ate in the restaurant and the food was very and good and there was plenty of it! Drinking in the bar is highly recommend as the bar man pours the largest single shots of spirits I’ve ever seen!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

You fill family'very good location ,near to highway to any where you need.
The room are good,big,clean,comfortable,the service is very good.
The staff and the reception are very very good!try to help you when you need,love to advise,to
Recommend,professional .
The dinning room and the restaurant are nice and good!good coffee!!!!!!
Free parking!!!!

Room Tip: "Higher floors is possibility not only ,ask for nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoni567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is lovely, very clean with extremely helpful staff. The facilities include a large swimming pool, bowls, tennis court, & free rental bikes! We enjoyed all of these! The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The only downside to the hotel that should be noted by travellers WITHOUT cars is that its location is about a 20-30min walk from the centre of Desenzano. However, the hotel are more than happy to arrange taxis etc and make bookings for you. There are also some lovely restaurants close by! Would return again definately!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are obviously a lot more spacious but we covered a few rooms on different floors, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VxM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

After staying at this lovely hotel four times (twice as part of an organized tour and twice while traveling independently), I'm finally getting around to writing a long overdue review. While the hotel is a popular draw for vacationing European families, it is a wonderful, romantic place for couples as well. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. While the pool area can get crowded (it's sometimes a little difficult to find a free chair), the pool is beautiful, immaculate and so large that it's enjoyable even if there are a lot of people in the water. There's an outdoor bar, which serves drinks and light meals, and is a nice place to pass the evening after dinner. There is also a very good restaurant in the hotel where you can sit on a charming terrace surrounded by the lovely grounds and gardens. The staff is hardworking and friendly. I received a warm welcome upon arrival even after a four-year absence.

You should be aware that this hotel is in a residential area and not in the center of Desenzano. It is about a mile to the town and port area. It's a pleasant walk but you have other travel options if you are without a car as we were. There is a local bus that stops right down the street from the hotel and costs only one euro or you could borrow free bikes from the hotel if available. It's a quick,easy (mostly flat) ride into town.

I know that many Americans have never even heard of Lake Garda. They don't know what they're missing! I hope this review will encourage other people to visit Lake Garda and of course stay at Villa Maria!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and a lake view. It's worth the extra money to wake up each morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Excellent views. Swimming pool is great for stying duin the morning. Food is ok. Breakfast could improve. Rooms are big, clean and beds are ok. Fully recommended for enjoying some days in the lake. Reception provided good recommendations for eating in closer restaurants. We will repeat again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jahve_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#4 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Hotel Villa Erme
Admiral Hotel Villa Erme
#17 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alessi Hotel
Alessi Hotel
#20 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Estee Hotel
Estee Hotel
#18 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castello Belvedere Apartments
Castello Belvedere Apartments
#13 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Desenzano
Hotel Desenzano
#14 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Address: Viale Michelangelo 150, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy (Formerly Villa Maria Hotel & Residence)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: $119 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the midst of a marvellous 3.7 Acre park with secular trees, only 300 metres from the Garda Lake shores, the Villa Maria comprises the main hotel with 40 guest rooms, 24 beautiful three-room villas, a restaurant, and a congress centre. This elegant 4-star hotel in Desenzano del Garda offers spacious and quiet accommodations, all equipped with direct dial phone, mini fridge, safe, hair dryer, and flat-screen LCD TV with international channels. Wireless Internet access is available in all rooms and common areas, while an Internet point is at your disposal in the hall. Further on-site amenities include a wonderful outdoor swimming pool with spacious solarium terrace and a cocktail bar for a quick snack or an aperitivo. The Liberty-style villa houses the restaurant, where you can taste delicious Italian and international specialties, as well as vegetarian dishes. Moreover, you will enjoy the following facilities, free of charge: tennis court, bicycle rental, bowling green, and outdoor parking. Garage parking is subject to charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maria Hotel And Residence
Hotel Maria Residence
Hotel Villa Maria Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing