We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!”
Review of Villa Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Rosa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a great hotel!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

On our (early) arrival met by very friendly and helpfull staff who gave us our room straight away. Very comfortable, clean and well presented room and indeed the whole hotel. Very good food and service throughout and lovely position. We will be back!

Room Tip: A view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    218
    44
    15
    5
See reviews for
129
475
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and set in a perfect location. It is within easy walking distance of the town of Desenzano. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was exceptionally clean. The Rose and Sapori restaurant at the hotel served the most beautiful food and the staff were so friendly, it was a lovely experience eating there and being able to look out over the lake. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lake Garda.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed 2 days and it was realy super! Great room (upgrade to a superior room), friendly staff, very clean hotel. Ideal to discover the city of Desenzano.
The city center is on walking distance and offers a lot of nice shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
285 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have stayed in MANY places around all the Italian Lakes....always looking for that something "special"...ie. location or ambience etc...and we have always found it!
We had not stayed in (but had driven through once) Desenzano before so chose carefully...as always, our accommodation!
I was told over the phone as I booked this hotel that the only rooms with a Lake view were Suites...so, I booked a Suite at 266 euro per night...not over the top but not inexpensive either!
This DID include breakfast but room service breakfast was 6 euro per tray....was this cost really necessary?....AND it was very simple Continental breakfast...nothing special...but it was nicely presented and always on time!
Our room DID overlook the Lake but there is a busy road between the hotel and the Lake...so, it was not an ideal place to sit on the balcony and enjoy breakfast....for example!
Whilst the reception staff were very efficient there was no warmth from them. For example...whenever we left or arrived from or into the hotel we had to pass the reception desk...not once did anyone look up to smile or wish us a happy day etc...usual pleasantries from an hotel of the calibre I would have thought....and have experienced in many other establishments!
As we had arrived late...and tired...airline and traffic delays!....we decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant. We booked a table but when we turned up we could have been invisible!...waiters rushed in all directions....except ours! EVENTUALLY we were ushered to our table. The waiting staff were good but the service was VERY slow!...dinner WAS worth waiting for though...a pity we were almost too tired to appreciate it!
We tried to book for the next night (Saturday night) so that we COULD enjoy dinner BUT were informed that there was no room for us to dine there! NOT happy!
Fortunately the town is only a (good!) 10 minute walk away and we found much there to keep us suitably fed and watered! Although it was not recommended by the hotel we did visit the little restaurant directly across the road from the hotel (it was a rainy evening!) and we had a thoroughly good meal in there! Basic...but good!
I WANTED to love this hotel...to have another string to my bow of good hotels/experiences around the Italian Lakes but whilst there is nothing specifically negative to say about it...for me it does not hold the "special" factor I look for....and I cannot wait to get back to The Cannero Hotel (in a Suite without a busy road in front of it!) on the Cannero Riviera in August!

Room Tip: Remember the busy road...although I wanted a Lake view...it WAS spoilt by the traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FRANCES39A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My Wife and I were lucky to select the Villa Rosa hotel for our recent Honeymoon, commencing our 10 night stay on 23rd May 2013. We were greeted by the friendly reception staff who congratulated us and thanked us for selecting their hotel as our honeymoon destination. We had previously upgraded to a Junior suite with a lake view, it was located on the 2nd floor and was immaculately clean, spacious and had a small terrace with a table and 2 chairs to enjoy the lake Garda view. In our room we found a nice letter of congratulations from the hotel management and staff along with a nice bottle of red wine and a beautiful vase of long-stem roses.
The room was kept very clean with fresh linen and towels changed every day. The room was well equipped with power sockets, good sized LCD TV, reasonable sized wardrobe, with mini-bar and free to use digital Safe. The bathroom was well finished and clean, with shower over the bath, WC, Bidet and large sink. Plenty of worktop for all your toiletries and a built-in hair dryer that saved my wife having to take her own.
The Breakfast was extremely comprehensive buffet style, with plenty of choice for everyone. Great automatic orange juicer machine and 2 coffee machines.
We were lucky enough to be half-board, and wow that proved to be a great decision; the Rose & Sapori Restaurant was absolutely superb, giving us 3 choices of starter, main and desert with a different menu each day for 7 days and then started over again on day 8. There was also a unique ‘side-dish of the day’ each day, which was always great. This was good as we got to choose a different option 2nd time round when we had previously been torn between the choices. I’m delighted to say that without exception we had 10 fantastic meals each, and the deserts are wickedly wonderful.
Marco and Giuseppe our waiters were extremely polite, friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu and the locally produced wine, the Costaripa Rosa and the Bardolino Cavelchina were great accompaniments to our meal, as was the Prosecco to celebrate Mark Cavendish winning in Brescia on the day we went to see the final stage of the Giro d’Italia.
Auriel in the Bar always made us welcome and gave us excellent courteous service.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, they all spoke good English and helped us by booking taxi’s and preferential rate on a hirecar which was delivered to the hotel at no extra charge.
The hotel’s location gave us a nice view across the lake to Sirmione and we liked the short walk into the town of Desenzano along the paved lakeside path. Also right opposite the hotel is a nice lakeside bar which gives work opportunities to people with minor difficulties. We again found the food here of a very good standard and the service was good too, the proximity made it great for a rainy day!
In summary the Villa Rosa Hotel – Desenzano is a wonderful place to stay and if you like great food, you cannot go wrong, 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Front Corner suite was quiet and had lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice hotel, not too big but with everything you need for a business or holiday trip. Excellent location at Lago di Garda, only a few minutes to walk into the city centre of Desenzano, but far enough to be calm.
Great service, super friendly staff and a really good breakfast, what else ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schokoladeneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A fabulous 50th present from my gorgeous wife to a place I have wanted to visit for many years. The hotel itself is well furnished and appointed though beware of some of the balcony rooms as our first one overlooked the carpark!!. That said, we were quickly moved to a lake view room. We ate in the Rose & Sappori restaurant on the last night and the food was amazing and beautifully presented, real live fine dining!!

We would also recommend the Desenzino Pizzeria directly across the road (it's not just pizza's) as the octopus dish was fabulous. Anything to complain about, just the weather last friday as it literally poured down all day but will definitely be back, probably to stay in Garda as we went for the day and it is almost like a little Venice (without the canals)

Room Tip: Only the rooms at the front have a genuine lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezzafUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#4 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#6 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
306 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
620 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#9 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Hotel

Property: Villa Rosa Hotel
Address: Lungolago C. Battisti 89, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rosa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting wonderful views over Lake Garda, the Villa Rosa Hotel is set in front of a small beach area and just a short stroll away from the historic area of Desenzano, with its ancient churches and museums, shops and coffee houses. The contemporary and chic interiors feature stylish design touches that contrast beautifully with the neoclassical style exterior, and the elegant guest rooms and suites are decorated to high standards with modern, clean lines and neutral tones, each featuring stylish furniture and a balcony. Set in the gardens, with panoramic views over the lake, there's a seasonally circular outdoor pool with Jacuzzi section. Light lunches and cocktails are available at the poolside Lunch Space restaurant, whilst Rose & Sapori Restaurant, winner of numerous awards for its excellent cuisine, such as "Chicco d'Oro 2007", "Italy International 2010", "Menu Franciacorta Sparkling 2009", "Italian Hospitality 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014",provides the setting for evening dining with mouthwatering Italian and international dishes creatively prepared by internationally renowned chefs. The guests can choose between half board menu or a la carte menu, that on warm days can be enjoyed al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lake. We are also prepared to cater for coeliac (gluten fee) and vegetarian guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rosa
Villa Rosa Hotel Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing