We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice apartments.”
Review of Residence Il Sogno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Il Sogno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

4 of us stayed here (2 parents, 1 teenager and 1 grandparent) in a 3 bedroom apartment. At first we were given an apartment with 2 beds but once we went back down to reception the staff were very nice and moved us to a bigger one. The kitchen was quite small, but there was enough room to cook for a family. The apartments themselves are in a great location, not too far from the ferry port, so you can pretty much travel round all of Garda! The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean and tidy. Some of the bathroom was a little old fashioned (it had an old wooden sliding door), but the shower and bath seemed brand new. There was a small black dog that somehow got onto our floor (the 2nd floor) and stood outside our apartment barking, but it soon went back downstairs. The pool was nice as well, but it was very very cold, an Italian woman put her feet in then refused to go any further. Overall, we had a very good 4 nights in Desenzano and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneIlSogno, Receptionist at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad that you stay well with us in Desenzano and you'll come back... We hope So! Maybe after May, so you will enjoy more the swimming pool and the Garda Lake of course.

Best regards
Laura & the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Residence Il Sogno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

With 2 couples, we had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment. It was lovely and quite convenient to the ferry stop for visiting around Lake Garda, and not too far from the train station. Be sure to email ahead to get directions as there were no taxis when we arrived, and directions were a little hard to come by. We managed to walk there without too much difficulty. The staff called a taxi for us to return to the train station as it was uphill. We were on the ground floor and had a private garden which included a table and chairs for dining. As it was an apartment, there was a kitchen with everything you could need for the occasional meal in. The staff was helpful and friendly. Although they said there was an extra cost for daily cleaning, they did come in and make the beds and tidy up every day, which was more than enough. We would definitely stay there again if we were to return to Desenzano.

Room Tip: If you need a 2 bedroom, ask for "Marguerita" on the ground floor for your own garden.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneIlSogno, Receptionist at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, really complete, we are glad you stay well with your friends at the Margherita aparment its one of the most beautiful. Then we count that you will come back to us again to Desenzano del Garda, maybe you could try on the top floor with very nice lake view!
Thank you again

Best regards
from Laura & the Staff
Residence il Sogno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

As we were getting the train from Venice we chose this hotel as it was close to the station (about 10 minute walk) & the price was more reasonable than the others in the area.
When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who gave us a lot of information on the local area. When we got to our room it was lovely! It was a studio with great self catering facilities, a decent bathroom & a spacious balcony. The pool area was clean & also quiet most of the time, some days we had it to ourselves! It is about 5 minute walk to the main centre of Desenzano & the lake were you find loads of bars & restaurants. There were enough to try somewhere different for every night of our 11 night stay!
We had breakfast included & there was a great choice of cereal, fruit, cheeses, breadrolls etc & throughout the day you could help yourself to tea or coffee.
I would highly recommend this hotel & would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneIlSogno, Segretario di ricevimento at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Guest, thanks for the wonderful review. Reviews like yours encourage us to do even better. We are very glad that our lake and Desenzano you liked.In the afternoon we offer hot and cold drinks because we think that for true relax you need a good cup of coffee or glass of juice. We look forward to a next time! Salvatore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Four of us came to Desenzano del Garda, for our first visit to Lake Garda. We picked Il Sogno based on location and cost, and it more than met our expectations. We had a two bedroom, two bath suite, and it was very nice. It had a full kitchen, a dining/living room, air conditioning with separate controls for each bedroom and the living room, and an outside sitting area with a table and chairs, overlooking a small garden. There also is a pool, but we did not use it. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and are available 24 hours a day (we were told, we did not check in the middle of the night). A breakfast was available for 10 euros a person, but we did not take it.

Everything was very comfortable, and we were only about three blocks to the dock area where you get the boats that take you to resorts around the lake. It also was within walking distance from the train station, and we walked there with our luggage after we arrived. That was fairly easy, as it was all downhill, and our luggage was all on wheels. Returning to the train station, we took a cab to avoid the hill, but could have walked it if we wished as we found a slightly shorter route while we were there.

We would definitely return to Il Sogno if we return to Desanzano.

Room Tip: We had the Margarita suite on the first floor, and it had a sitting area and a view to an almost pri...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinVA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneIlSogno, Receptionist at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are really glad that you enjoy your holidays in the Residence il Sogno and like you said, "it was more than your expectations" , we work hard every day for that, and we like when guest says they found well in the apartment (the most important thing!) and with the Staff. Thats the maximum for us.
Thank you again for every thing, and hope you will spend nexts holidays with us!
Best regards
Laura & the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We picked Il Sogno for our weeks vacation with my mother because at her age she finds walking distances, and in particular hills, a struggle. This was just perfect being situated between the old town, harbour for boat trips and the station, albeit on a gentle hill. The nearby restaurants - particularly those in the old town are worth investigating and the supermarket was a short walk away. The 2 bed apartment (4th floor)was clean light and airy and the large balcony/patio area (with table 6 chairs and 2 sun loungers) had views of Sirmione across the lake. The kitchenette was quite small but having tried the wonderful buffet breakfast (only 10 euros each for fruit, cold meats, cheese, cereals, yougerts, rolls, bread, cake, pastries, coffee, teas and fruit juice!!!) we were hooked. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. They looked up and printed off train times, weather forecasts and even allowed me to confirm my return flight seats on line. The staff made the difference between a good holiday and an excellent one!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKJsguidedtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneIlSogno, Receptionist at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you first of all for the wonderful and complete review, we are delighted of your words, which encourage us to do even better. We really thank you for your kindness, and hope you will want to spend with us next free time in Italy, maybe in the spring, it will not be so hot as this summer.!
Best regards
Laura & the Staff Residence il Sogno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It's a decent accommodation on Lake Garda. I've been on a single room which was clean enough, but I had the bad experience of a faulty shower cable. It broke when my gf was taking a shower, fair enough, it can happen. I told the reception and the following day it was replaced.
Great! But at the check-out they asked us the cost of the cable! Can't see why I had to pay for their regular maintenance.
Definitely won't come back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank S3_p0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneIlSogno, Proprietario at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Customer, we are sorry that your stay at the Residence Il Sogno has not been satisfactory. Despite being a residence, we try to provide many services such as a hotel, such as the free parking garage with video surveillance, outdoor swimming pool, a daily breakfast buffet with sweet and salad foods, 24-hour reception, daily cleaning of the apartments so our customers are welcomed in a cool, clean and friendly. However, it seems that the poor perception of your stay is due to the requirement to pay a symbolic contribution regarding the replacement of the shower hose. It is not our practice to require supplements for routine maintenance but the shower hose was replaced a few days before and it was so new and not worn. The request was only symbolic because the replacement cost much more.In any case, we will be happy to welcome you again in our hotel to show you the best of our hospitality. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were greeted by a very friendly man on reception who gave us loads of information without us having to ask for it. Our room was a studio with everything you could need if you prefer self catering with a good sized furnished balcony. We even got a free bottle of wine because there was a festival on. We were on a B&B basis and the breakfast was really good. You could also have complimentary coffee and brioche in the afternoon. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and the location was great too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneIlSogno, Segretario di ricevimento at Residence Il Sogno, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dar Kind Guest, thank you very much for your wonderful review. Our objective is to make our guests feel at home. The afternoon snack service is designed to allow guests to relax with a cup of coffee or juice while reading a good book or taking the sun in the pool. See you next year! Salvatore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#4 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - Desenzano del Garda
Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - De...
#36 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Il Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Il Sogno

Address: Via Bonvicino 2 A, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: $123 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Il Sogno 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Il Sogno enjoys a privileged position, it is the only facility of this kind located near the historic center and the lakeside. Residence Il Sogno welcomes families in an environment fit for children: a large green space, an enviable location within walking distance from town center with boutiques and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Il Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Il Sogno Hotel
Residence Il Sogno Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing