We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meets the expectations”
Review of Tripoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tripoli Hotel
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meets the expectations”
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Hotel Tripoli is located perfectly, right opposite to the jetty from where the ferries leave and amidst all the restaurants and shops. Although the interior looks pretty outdated, this does not really bother at all since the rooms are perfectly clean and rather spacious. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is according to normal Italian standards.

We asked for a room with a view on the lake and we got one. Which we almost regretted when we came back from dinner and discovered that the most popular bar of Desenzano is right next to the hotel with a crowd of at least 100 people standing outside and enjoying the summer evening with a nice drink. Luckily the balcony door was able to keep most of the noise out and sleeping was not a problem. But if you are a light-sleeper you might want to ask for a room at the back in stead of with a lake view.

The bathroom felt even smaller than an airplane toilet. But it was clean and everything worked well so to us there was not a real problem. People who have a problem with their weight might however consider booking another hotel. Yes, it was really that small...

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian_Rivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    20
    5
    10
See reviews for
18
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

just back from this hotel, had bril time, asked for room with lake view and got same, lie in bed and look out at lake and mountains, fab. ferry right outside door, takes you to other towns around lake, bus outside too, we visited peschiara by bus only 20 min,s, sirmione by ferry, 20min's, train to verona, staff really helpful, one guy, usually on at night has excellent english, would def stay here again, market outside hotel every tuesday, we flew to bergamo, so took about 2 hours to get there, bus, to bergamo, train to desenzano change at brecia, and very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marrsireland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We recently spent 4 nights at the Tripoli Hotel and I can't find fault with it. I was a bit concerned that there were very few recent reviews on here already and wondered if it had gone downhill a bit. I needn't be worried.

What a location - directly across from the ferry port where you could take a boat to the various towns around the lake. It was also perfect if you felt like just people watching as hundreds of people wandered around the piazza outside every night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and I had requested a room with a view and was definitely not disappointed. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. It was beautiful. The rooms were a little dated and the bathroom tiny but having our little balcony made up for it all.

There were lots of bars and restaurants in the area, however once you closed the windows and shutters at night you couldn't hear a thing from outside. I woke up Saturday morning and there was a market outside the door. We didn't hear them set up or anything.

I can't believe that Hotel Tripoli wasn't full while we were there. I definitely wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else next time. It must be the best location in all of Desenzano.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skylarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

we had an excellent stay at the tripoli hotel, the staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable,we had a room overlooking the lake and what a view to wake up to each morning,the hotel is in a lively area of the resort but from in your room you would would not think so thanks to the double glazed windows.we had a market set up under our room and did not hear a thing,only when we opened the curtains did we know it was there.situated opposite the ferry terminal was very handy,and the hotel gave us discount vouchers to use roomsare spotlessly clean,sheets changed every 2 days,exellent breakfast, Desenzano is a wonderful place to stay very italian full of resturants if you want tacky souvenier shops go to Garda or Malcesine which can be visited by ferry again the Tripoli is ideal for place to stay on lake garda and i will be returning

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank allantrish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We booked a last minute one night stay at Hotel Tripoli (3 star). 160 euros for a quad room which are hard to find in Europe. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was good, and staff was very nice. The hotel is in a prime location, directly across from the ferry terminal and within walking distance of the beach. We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with children and needing two double beds in one room.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, S Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2005

Couldn't fault the hotel, comfortable rooms and superb location overlooking the harbour and next door to a gelateria!
Only drawback is that the hotel does not have any gardens but there are plenty of seating areas just outside the entrance.
Staff were very polite and helpful, nice breakfast, would certainly stay again at this hotel when visiting in the future.

Helpful?
13 Thank JD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piroscafo
Hotel Piroscafo
#14 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#18 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alessi Hotel
Alessi Hotel
#20 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#31 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittorio
Hotel Vittorio
#16 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
#10 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tripoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tripoli Hotel

Property: Tripoli Hotel
Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 18, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tripoli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tripoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tripoli Hotel Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy
Hotel Tripoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing