We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to spend a week”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

With two friends, we booked a week at Hotel Europa. It was fantastic.

We arrived to a very warm welcome (in excellent English). Our rooms were overlooking the Lake. The rooms were well appointed, a very good size, plenty of storage space, and good air conditioning (which with temperatures of 30+ each day was needed).

We stayed on half board basis which turned out to be a good decision. At breakfast there was a good selection of fresh rolls, meats, cheeses, cereal, cakes and fruit. Evening meals were chosen at breakfast time - this doesn't suit everyone but for us was fine as we had a good choice and we realised that it meant the ingredients could be fresh. In fact, all the evening meals were first class and would probably have cost double if we had eaten them in the surrounding restaurants. Drinks were very reasonably priced.
Service was with a smile and we felt that the hotel staff treated us as important guests.

The hotel location is excellent being a very easy stroll along the promenade to the lake ferries and the town centre.

If you have flexibility, I'd recommend being at the Hotel on a Tuesday and Wednesday. Tuesday is market day when the whole of the centre is full of stalls and then on Wednesday another market which goes on until the late evening complete with half a dozen live music performances at various points around the town, all free to stand and listen. We think the Wednesday event in summer only but the Tuesday market all year round.

In summary, a very well run Hotel, offering excellent value for money in a great location.

Room Tip: If you have a full Lake view room, you might need to keep the windows and shutters closed at night t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexsaxplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 357 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

stayed here on our fifth day of a cycle ride around Northern Italy . reception and all staff very friendly sorted a place for our bikes . Upgraded to Two two bed rooms instead of one four beds room . Both rooms with views over the lake and balcony's. Breakfast very good with a very helpful and friendly waitress.
Desenzano town has a very nice atmosphere

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Finally, we got a room overlooking the lake. We spent two lovely days at this hotel. The room was clean and tidy, the view is beautiful. The city is very nice. There are many delicious Italian food we ate.Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franciska1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My family and I stayed at Hotel Europa fo 5 days in June.The main reason for choosing this hotel was that there was a half or full board option.We decided to have half board (breakfast and dinner) and were glad we did.There is a choice of good quality food and generous portions,all served most efficiently.
We were allocated a top floor room which had a small balcony overlooking the lake.Our room being a treble was of good size for 3 people.The whole hotel is kept very clean,towels and bed linen were changed frequently.All in all a good 3 star hotel ,with pleasant and helpful staff.It was,in my opinion,good value for money,especially if you choose the HB option.Desenzano is rather expensive to eat out,especially if you have a three course meal as we did at the hotel.I would recommend this hotel for all type of travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front all have lake view but some traffic noise can be heard from the main road.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The reviews we saw on Trip Advisor were mixed, to say the least. We only stayed B & B, so I cannot comment upon the evening meals, but the dining room seemed full on most of the four nights we stayed, mainly because of a coach party of either German or Russian guests. The room was on the first floor with a great view over the lake, and we benefitted from leaving the shutters open at night, with the 'mosquito blind' down so that the sun shone in in the morning. The bed was kingsize and vast, and we both slept very well. The bathroom was fine, with one of the best showers I have ever come across, and a good system for squeezing out the shower gel without wrestling with bottles falling on the floor etc.

The best feature of the hotel was the staff, and I have to mention Emma and Massimiliano in particular. Emma was in charge of the breakfasts, but seemed to be there late too and worked very hard. She had a good grasp of English and was very kind and helpful. For example, after returning from my early morning Christian devotions on the beach just across from the hotel (location is A1) at say 7.15, I asked if I could take my wife a cup of tea. She very helpfully showed me where all the ingredients were on the first morning, and thereafter, without being asked, prepared a tray for me each morning in readiness. Great service. Massimiliano was on the desk during the day, and was unfailingly friendly and helpful, though his English was not quite so strong I think. In my experience if you go out of your way a bit to be friendly to hotel staff, they will reciprocate, and these were two fine examples.

Breakfasts were plentiful on a buffet basis, with a DIY boiled egg facility that was very well thought out. They even had a large digital clock with minutes and seconds right there, which you could see from your table, thereby avoiding the need to stand there for 4-5 minutes waiting for the egg(s) to boil. The usual mixture of fresh and tinned fruit (peaches that week), cereals, croissants and toast and jam / marmalade plus ham and cheese slices were plentiful and tasty.

We had learned that Desenzano is more of a 'real' 'working' town than several others dotted around Lake Garda, which are typically of Roman origin, mediaeval buildings, cobbled streets and reachable by ferry from the port about a five minute stroll along the front from the hotel. Once you have seen one very pretty and interesting such town, we reckoned you have seen them all, so we did not visit the others apart from Sirmione the nearest.

There are some lovely cafes, gelateria (ice cream parlours) and other shops along the front in Desenzano and in the streets behind. On Tuesdays they have the biggest market I have ever seen, which is saying something, stretching for hundreds of yards right along the front - well worth a look, though we sailed on a ferry to Sirmione that first day.

A little way along the front before you get to some of the main areas, there is a lovely restaurant called Osteria Saporo Divino, with menus outside on the wall written on blackboards. We went there twice and the mulberry ice cream is superb, plus a steak dish for 18 euros with Gorgonzola potatoes (saute) and jam (!) which is lovely. We had a sharing version for two for 28 euros, and have never tasted better beef in three Italian trips - seemed like some 15 thick slices!

Right along the other end of Desenzano, maybe 45 minutes walk, is the best beach, called Spiaggia Al Porto, with a very nice cafe and plenty of room to spread out to read or sunbathe on the shingle. Ignore Spiaggia D'Oro on the way there (golden beach, a real misnomer, nothing seems to have happened there for years, and we even witnessed two council workers locking away a lorry load of chairs and tables in a cupboard on the deserted beach, alongside two chained up beach huts and a kind of shed! Maybe they unleash them in July...) Although there are no signs that the beach cafe serves hot food, it does and we had a reasonable snack lunch there. You can see lots of lizards running around on the walls outside and the swans can be friendly as they creep silently out of the lake to investigate if they think you may have something interesting for them.

All in all we had a terrific time, our 42nd wedding anniversary the first day there, and would go back. We visited Verona (about 26 minutes by train after a long uphill walk (or taxi for the boring!) to the station, and Venice, a rail journey of 93 minutes by more expensive fast train (€27.50) but only a little over 2 hours for 4 more stops and costing only €10.75 for the slower one. Desenzano is the nicest Italian town we have seen in three trips, alongside Lucca near Pisa / Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view, most of them have that
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mahershalalhashbaz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel has amazing views across the lake. Absolutely spotlessly clean. The staff were brilliant, incredibly helpful and made our stay wonderfully easy. Just a short wander to the town centre along a flat boulevard bordering the lake. Easy reach of the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chriswksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Although the rooms in this hotel are clean and functional the food is some of the worst I have ever come across.The starter buffet table never altered,everything else seemed to be frozen and deep fried,I never once saw a fresh vegetable.I stopped going to dinner after day 4 as it was so bad.Also you have to chose the day before what you will eat the next night.I just got the feeling we were being fed at the lowest possible cost and with the least amount of effort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Hotel
Villa Rosa Hotel
#3 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
#10 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#4 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Lungolago Cesare Battisti 71, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: $94 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa hotel is located on the promenade of the beautiful Lake Garda, in front of the Desenzano beach and just a few minutes walk from the central shopping area of Desenzano. Many of the small, charming towns that surround the lake are easily accessible from the hotel by car or boat. The restaurant and most of the guest rooms offer magnificent views of the lake. The hotel has a TV room, bar and a restaurant with air conditioning serving Italian and international cuisine.The hotel's private parking area is free of charge for guests.Free Internet Point ( broadband ADSL ) Free Wi-fi service for ours guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Europa Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing