We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - Desenzano del Garda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - Desenzano del Garda
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Desenzano is the best place to be, it is close to the highway, and away from the traffic areas like Salo and Pischeria. There are a short drive away. The hotel has a decent selection for the breakfast bar if you are not looking for eggs and pancakes. The gym is a huge room with 4 pieces of equipment and is locked most of the time. The pool is nice but a bit small. They supply a WIFI account for the quests, so that is a plus. I will probably be back here this year again. P.S. The front desk staff is very helpful. Free parking.

Room Tip: You must ask for a KING bed or you will get 2 beds squeezed together. Also, if your room is at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    94
    73
    31
    23
See reviews for
47
133
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

The advantage of being out of town is that there is less road noise and parking is easy, but the port, ferry terminal and town centre are only a short 10 minute or so walk away. Very good position for touring towns around the lake itself and for Mantua, Cremona and Verona and a bit further to Vincenza and Padua. A wealth of amazing mediaeval architecture and quaint lakeside villages just a drive away. The hotel looks traditional from outside but is modern and spotless inside and well up to Best Western standards. Rooms are of an adequate size for the purpose and kept clean by the friendly staff. Most rooms seem to have some lake views and some look over the pool. If a lake view is important then specify this when booking. The hotel is built on a slight slope so all the rooms that begin with a 1 are actually on the 'ground' floor not the first. If allocated one of these rooms do check to see if you are satisfied as some do not have balconies and some are very near to the 'upper' car park and some are not that private. Br prepared for some dark areas and corridors, the result of a commendable energy saving policy with timed light switches. There is good and relatively cheap internet access in the reception area.
The pool is very good and when we stayed (September) there were no problems with getting sunbeds. The reception staff were very friendly and informative and met our request for tea/coffee facilities in the room straight away. Being used to Best Western hotels in America we did miss an ice machine but we were able to get ice from the kitchen.
One of us suffers from Coeliac and needs gluten-free food. We had e-mailed the hotel beforehand and when we went to dinner the staff all knew about the condition. Each evening Mimmo pointed out those items on the menu that were gluten-free and alternatives were provided. This was a great relief. Many thanks to the chef, Mimmo and all the, again, very friendly and efficient restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Just ask when booking for a full Lake View if that is what you want (might cost you more). These wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petenbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We only had 5 days to holiday and chose the Oliveto in Desenzano on lake garda through inghams. The hotel looks a bit tired from the outside and is not what i would describe as a 4 star (having stayed in 4 star hotels in spain) but i think it's just a bit old fashioned. It is spotlessly clean and the pool area has been refurbished to an excellent standard. Our bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was quite big. try and request a higher floor as we got a pool view but could also see the lake from our room so this was perfect.
We were half board and the food was fantastic. a really good choice at breakfast (although no cooked breakfast on offer unless you ask) and the evening meal is from a set menu with a choice of 3 starters, mains and puddings. the service is only fab (to begin with it can come across as a bit stuffy but i think the italians are just super efficient)
My only negative is the distance into the town. It is a 15/20 minute walk into the town centre which is not an unpleasant walk but being pregnant I found it a long way to do at least twice a day.
Other than this I would say if you can get a bargain then it is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was the fifth year in a row that we have spent our summer holiday in Italy and the Oliveto was our best hotel yet. We have had some lovely hotels and some not so wonderful but the Oliveto was the best on all levels. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and the chambermaids kept it beautifully clean. The bathroom was always well-stocked and the towels replaced regularly with more soft, white, fluffy ones. Reception staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant, never losing patience with our occasionally dozy questions! Dining room staff were ably led by Mimmo, who was always charming, and all the waiters were efficient and friendly, with warm smiles for everyone. The food was superb, we had our evening meal at the hotel as well as breakfast, and there was always a good choice. The outdoor facilities were great, with the most brilliant pool - a really good size! We shall make a point of searching out Best Western on future holidays, if this is the standard they maintain.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back with a view of the pool and the hillside that rose above. It was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caskendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was looking forward to a bit of luxury after our first hotel in Desanzaro - the Plaza - which was in a very good location in town but somewhat basic. The room we were given - 148 - was in the part of the hotel I think would normally be for conference delegates, but the main disappointment was that the balcony was on ground level and in the car park. The cars were parked right up against the room so apart from no privacy you were woken up in the early hours of the morning by cars coming and going. There was also no bath, just a shower. When we asked to change rooms we were told the hotel was full and the man on reception was generally quite rude. It was a good 15 minute walk into town and the buses stopped around 8pm. It wasn't a huge problem but next time I'd stay in a better hotel in town.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank elizashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

service from all staff in the hotel , was very good. all the staff friendly and helpful. could not do enough to help ,when my elderly father had a bad fall in the street near the hotel. we had to visit A and E dept of local hospital, luckily he was okay nothing broken as feared. Rooms clean ,pleasant view and balcony to sit out on we were given kettle cups to make tea etc on request.. only downside hair dryer not very powerful, luckily had brought one with us. pool and garden pleasant to sit out in. we had taken our own beach towels. food was lovely and The head waiter Mimmo and all the restaurant staff pleasant ,helpful nothing was too much trouble. The bar area and general seating area might have lack a bit of atmosphere, but staff always quick to come and serve drinks there. we were a family of four ,two teenage children plus granpa. All of us really enjoyed staying there and would happily return. hotel is about 10 min walk from town centre, quieter part of desenzano which we liked and would not have preferred to be nearer the town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank family-groves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights..Really I couldnt complain about the hotel at all the rooms were very large and had a good balcony facing the lake. The back rooms would be a bit dull I think as they faced the pool side of the hotel. The beds were comfy and it was clean and tidy the room had a fridge and good air cond. a must in the summer months in italy. The pool was great, a good size and plenty of sun beds. The only thing was the hotel provided no service to the area and it did need that. I felt they could improve the takings dramatically by providing bar and snack service to this area as it was well used, so I guess the service certainly could have been improved upon. The hotel is located ouside of the main town area and it was a good 30 min walk to the ferries and the resteraunt area. The hotel had its own dinning room which I thought was a bit overdone and pompus for the type of hotel it is. We did eat there one night but found it not to our likeing, it lacked a variety of a more modern cuisine and only would appeal to senior aged customers and had the ambience of being on the Titianic. Without a car its quite a way to walk and I thought a free mini bus would have been a nice touch to drop visitors to the town and ferry if only a few times a day. There is a local bus but it rarely comes down to this end of the street so could not rely on that at all to get about. Having said that I still feel it was good value for money. but next time would choose a hotel closer to the town. However most of those offer no pool which was a blessing in the heat. Breakfast was included and this we found to be very good, with continental variety. On the whole a good hotel but with room for some improvement which would make it much better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lassie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#8 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#11 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Estee Hotel
Estee Hotel
#17 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
#9 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Health House
Health House
#37 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - Desenzano del Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - Desenzano del Garda

Property: Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - Desenzano del Garda
Address: Via Lungolago Cesare Battisti, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - Desenzano del Garda 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oliveto Lago di Garda - Desenzano del Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oliveto
Best Western Desenzano Del Garda
Desenzano Del Garda Best Western
Hotel Oliveto Lago Di Garda - Desenzano Del Garda Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing