We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of Caffe al Ponte

Caffe al Ponte
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Slow and chaotic service from the kitchen - main courses not arriving anything like together. Waitresses who will take an order and then ignore it. And a manager who is surly, unapologetic and makes excuses for appalling service. If you don't like the service, make no mistake, it's the customer who is in the wrong, not the restaurant. Not recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PabloWolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    107
    132
    116
    268
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Beautiful scenery but disappointing service and food. Wait staff are very surly and not helpful. Good is mediocre at best. Don't waste your money

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A quick and delicious dinner”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We found this place over the port in Desenzano and we decided to have a dinner here.

Main course, traditional, fair enough and at good prices.

A very wide choice for dessert and ice cream cups.. Delicious as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacks85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of our best restaurant experiences in Desenzano”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Concerned by some of the poorer reviews about this restaurant. We had a great experience just last week. Setting is lovely on the front with views of the lake. Our service was very good and timely. Drinks ordered quickly so we were able to enjoy our wine whilst choosing our food. Would recommend the spaghetti and clams, it was delicious. As was the carbanara. I would agree about that the size of the place could be a problem but can honestly say we did not experience any problems and the restaurant was nearly full. Toilets were also an issue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rach86_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Poor Hygiene worse service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here a few days ago
What a mistake!
Worst service in the whole town. Waiters are surly and rude and the waitresses are the grumpiest I have seen in a longwhile
The food is inedible and if you check out the general hygiene of the place, you will do well to go for a vegetarian option or go somewhere else
Fortunately this town has brilliant eateries, only come here if you like being insulted or ripped off

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe al Ponte also viewed

Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Caffe al Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing