We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Du Lac
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nazionale(Desenzano Del Garda)
$173
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giardinetto(Desenzano Del Garda)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Berta(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
$112
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
$138
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palace Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
$179
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bonotto(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
$115
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Rosa Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
$319
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estee Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
$210
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
$200
$194
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Aurora(Desenzano Del Garda)
$121
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
76
107
71
45
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
107
71
45
33
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 332 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here in Aug 2013. We booked an apartment expecting good self catering facilities. The kitchen consisted of an oversized wardrobe unit consisting of a sink, d/washer and microwave unit. They wanted to charge us extra for using it!
The overall appearance of the hotel was jaded and run down - it did not look maintained. The place lacked all traces of warmth and was a functional base.
It is a location we would not return to

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AOD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went here expecting a nice 4 star hotel, with Italian styles. The location is very nice, near enough to the town and boat hire but not too close. But the pool was very poor and was too shallow to swim in. There are water jets at night which are so loud and so tacky we didn't drink at the bar. The rooms are acceptable but do not expect a kitchen, because you get a cupboard with a kitchen in. Any review saying ignore previews reviews clearly doesn't know what 4 stars should give you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August 2012 and had a really fantastic time.

Like (I guess) many holidaygoers, you have a great time and vow to return next year - but rarely do? Well we did - we returned in early August 2013 and had another really enjoyable 2 week stay.

For people considering this hotel we would say...

Ignore the negative reviews on this site - many of which seem very specific to individual stays.

By UK standards the 4 stars is probably pushing it a little but the rooms are quite spacious and the air con is really good - at times we had to turn it off as we were shivering when it had been in the 90's all day.

The hotel is quiet. No evening entertainment, no evening room service, no restaurant but on the plus side you can relax and hey, if you do want more evening fun and games then grab a quick taxi to either Desenzano or Sirmione - both of which are a 10 min drive away.

The staff keep the place going - often carrying out multiple tasks seemingly all at the same time.

If you are on a budget then we'd suggest you check what you have booked and paid for as the hotel seems to have a free-form approach to a tariff. One year the kitchen in the apartments is charged at 10euros a day and the next year it is free, one year you pay for wi-fi the next it is free.

Is breakfast included or not? Good question...

Overall we have now stayed here two years running and would stay again.

On the plus side:
Staff are friendly and helpful
Rooms are good
Aircon is fab
Pool is great
Daytime snacks and drinks are good
Location good between Desenzano and Sirmioni
A good supermarket within walking distance

On the slight neg side:
Maybe buy a pool table for the children? Table tennis and bar football are okay but soon lose their novelty
Some gym equipment would be good? Even if only a couple of bikes / rowers etc?
Can be noisy as mopeds and ambulances whiz past...
Check the tariff.

Overall - a good place for a relaxing break in the wonderful Lake Garda area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheAlexanders777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have just arrived home after a weeks stay here with my husband and three teenage children. I was quite nervous before I arrived after reading some of the reviews as I wasn't expecting the worst. As we arrived at the hotel early morning the rooms were not ready (as we expected) but the lady on reception managed to get us a room within fifteen minutes of ur arrival which was fantastic.

The rooms are large and clean, the kitchen area has a sink, dishwasher, hob, fridge and microwave, it's basic but gives you the ability to prepare food should you wish too. The bathroom was one of the cleanest bathrooms I have ever had in a hotel (we have stayed in 4/5 star hotels all aross the world so have plenty of experience when it comes to hotel standards of cleanliness). The beds were fine for us, ok they were not like my bed at home but they were good enough. The air conditioning in the room is fantastic, the best I have perhaps ever had in any hotel.

The pool was very clean, it isn't the deepest of pools, an adult can stand in it all throughout he pool but it was very refreshing and did the job. The pool area was very clean with plenty of sun beds, yes the pool is on the front of the hotel so you can hear traffic from the road behind but if certainly didn't disturb us.

The location is in between Desenazno and Sirmione, we walked into Desenazno which took about 30 minutes, at other times we used a taxi to reach each destination but there are also frequent buses running to both locations. Outside of the hotel were a few restaurants including a fantastic grill which is a five minute walk from the hotel, it sits overture lakeside where there is also a small lakeside bar, we found both the restaurant and bar very relaxing. Pedalo's are also available from this area as well as swimming in the lake so you don't have to travel far to eat or to use the lake.

At the back of the hotel is an amazing supermarket, much cheaper than our supermarkets, bottles of English beer were less than one euro and fruit and salad cost pennies. The supermarket certainly helped us as a family of five as drinks tend to be very pricey around Lake Garda where you can pay anything from five to ten euros for a beer!

I would certainly return to this hotel, which is a compliment as we rarely return anywhere twice. Lastly, I must mention the lovely lady n reception who was very welcoming and helpful.

All on all a decent standard of accomodation if you are looking for a self catering holiday in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dp0well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

this appartment complex is advertised as a four star venue. why is this absolutely not the case:
-the building needs repainting, refurbishments, redecorating etc etc.
-the balconies are disgusting and filthy
-you need to pay for beach towels
- there is no cleaning in a 4 person appartment with kitchen when renting it for a week
- the playground for the kids is close to a steep open staircase to the basement
- the swiming pool is at the frontside of the hotel with a big gate to the main road. not ideal for kids running around.
-is there any personel?
- the beds are of maximum mediocre quality, very thin and low to the ground
The abovementioned is all at a 2/3 star level so do not expect luxury treatment
You absolutely need a car to go to any village or the lakeside since the closed beach is a least 2/3 km. The big plus is the airconditioning in each room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 575Sander575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews