We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We, a family of 8 stayed in rooms 304 & 305 for 4 nights and all was great, close to Lake Garde. Rooms & Bathrooms very comfortable. The rooms have a small kitchen and you can save a lot of money going to the Penny Market right next door and cooking yor meals in the room. We have to make special mention to the great attention received from Mr. Amadeo from the 1st to the last day of our stay. Mr. Amadeo is a great & kind person.

The only Con we could say is that the double bed in room 305 was two single bed put together.

We recomend Spiaggia d'Oro 100%. And again a big tank you to Mr Amadeo for his great attention.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodolfo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were expecting the hotel to be considerably closer to Lake Garda than it actually is! It must be noted any rooms which the hotel stipulates as "lake view" are only a very partial view of the lake in the distance! Also we found our room/apartment to be very very sparsely furnished and very "uncosy" - the bed was quite uncomfortable too! I think their rooms need a total revamp to make them a little more appealing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This Residence is located more than 300 meters from the lake. They advertise with 80 meters. They have also no private beach as mentioned. Room was not clean. The house is very noisy. Early in the morning you can hear the noise from the Supermarkt behind. If you search for relaxing...that Residence is the wrong place. Inventory is not fixed. Roller blind didn't work.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaft-GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a 'mature' couple [one English & one Irish] we travel quite a lot and love to make our travel arrangements individually over the Internet. As one of us was in Dublin for the previous week, rather than fly from our local airport in Leeds via Venice or Milan we met in Dublin and flew in to Verona. On similar lines to a recent post we took the train from Verona to Desenzano [Regionale service much cheaper and fast enough although the express service did have a two for one offer on the Saturday of our return, the latter of which being bookable on-line]. Bus from the airport cost 6 Euro [every 20 mins. from just outside the station] and the apartment can be reached by taxi, local bus [1 and 2 stop close to the apartment or even walking at a push].
On arrival we were met by Omar who throughout our four day stay was always available should the have been a problem [there wasn't!]. Omar indicated on a map local points, restaurants etc and showed us to our comfortable and spacious one bedroomed apartment overlooking the pool. A small welcome pack is provided and next door is a very good, reasonably priced supermarket so we tended to buy essentials and such as fresh milk and salads, seafood etc. from there and eat in house [no oven but fridge and all other items as usual]. Restaurant prices with home made pizzas ranging from 5 to 8 Euro.
It is roughly 20-25 minutes to walk in to the centre [buses available] which was fine for us along a reasonably busy road using the available footpaths and bikes are free from the apartment. The centre has far more to explore than at first sight and we particularly enjoyed our trip up the castle and surrounding area. Good boat service from the harbour but felt the prices were rather expensive.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the apartment and Omar kindly gave us a lift up to the station to catch our return train; prices of accommodation generally are quite high [apartments always seem to be in Italy] but we paid just over 100 Euro a day and were very happy with our stay in early Sept.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were called by Booking.com to advise us less than 24hrs when already in Italy that the hotel does not have a room for my family, although we booked it 6 months ago. Not sure where we are stopping tomorrow. I would not recommend reserving a room with this hotel. Me my wife and children do not know where we are staying in 15hours time. Appalling, but perhaps the hotel will redeem themselves by honoring the booking

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar B, Proprietario at Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

I am very sorry mr. PETER for what happened.
You have reason, but you forgot to mention that I immediately offered a valid alternative:
a residence in Desenzano with the same characteristics and a best price of what you booked.
Obviously I'm very sorry but the alternative was ​​more than satisfactory.
best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in late July / early August 2013 and had a very positive experience. The location is very good, just a 5 minute walk from the beach, a 5 minute drive to downtown Desenzano, and a 15-20 minute drive to beautiful Sirmione. Here you don't have all the services of a hotel (e.g. the front desk is not open 24 hours, no telephone in room, no restaurant) but in exchange you have a kitchen in the apartment, simply but adequately equipped, with a supermarket next door, so you don't have to eat out at every meal. If you do want to eat out there are good options close by. You also get some services most hotels don't offer, such as the use of bicycles and baby strollers without charge. Omar, the owner, was always extremely helpful in solving problems and providing useful information. At the beach, guests of the hotel do not pay for an umbrella and chairs. My one complaint: the music emanating from the bar at the beach (which is not, I believe, owned by the hotel but has a relationship with it) was much too loud. (By the way, who wants music at the beach at all, when you have the sound of the waves to listen to?) To avoid this problem, we found some shady spots in the public part of the beach down along the boardwalk, out of range of the music. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro for 14 nights in July and had a great holiday on Lake Garda. The rooms are spacious and very clean with an abundance of fresh towels supplied. When we arrived there was a welcome pack which contained washing up liquid, dish cloth, jams, tea and other items which was a lovely surprise. All rooms are air conditioned and had wifi. The pool and surronding gardens are kept very clean and there was always plenty of sun beds available. The hotel provided free sunbeds on the local beach across the road from the hotel which we used regularly.

The location of the residence was about 20 mins walk into Desenzano or approx 5 min bike ride. The hotel provided bikes free of charge and was such a bonus having bikes when they were available as we had no car. We flew into Verona Airport and caught the shuttle bus from Verona Airport to Verona Train Station and then another public bus to the hotel. I would recomend to bring your own car or hiring a car if you are staying on the lake because as a family of four we found the ferries around the lake very expensive and extremely slow going but was still an authentic way of seeing the lake, very relaxing and with beautiful scenery. A big thank you to Omar who was very welcoming and was a great source of information, nothing was too much trouble for him.

I would recommend Residence Spiaggia d'Oro and our family will definately be returning. The hotel is such a great base and I would love to see more of this beautiful lake and also to return to the fabulous shopping at the Desenzano market (every Tuesday till 1PM) and maybe take the kids to Garda Land...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
812 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#24 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alessi Hotel
Alessi Hotel
#22 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
215 reviews
2.0 mi away
Health House
Health House
#40 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#17 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro

Address: Via Dugazze 2/A, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: $95 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Spiaggia D'Oro Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing