We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“an excellent choice”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in late July / early August 2013 and had a very positive experience. The location is very good, just a 5 minute walk from the beach, a 5 minute drive to downtown Desenzano, and a 15-20 minute drive to beautiful Sirmione. Here you don't have all the services of a hotel (e.g. the front desk is not open 24 hours, no telephone in room, no restaurant) but in exchange you have a kitchen in the apartment, simply but adequately equipped, with a supermarket next door, so you don't have to eat out at every meal. If you do want to eat out there are good options close by. You also get some services most hotels don't offer, such as the use of bicycles and baby strollers without charge. Omar, the owner, was always extremely helpful in solving problems and providing useful information. At the beach, guests of the hotel do not pay for an umbrella and chairs. My one complaint: the music emanating from the bar at the beach (which is not, I believe, owned by the hotel but has a relationship with it) was much too loud. (By the way, who wants music at the beach at all, when you have the sound of the waves to listen to?) To avoid this problem, we found some shady spots in the public part of the beach down along the boardwalk, out of range of the music. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro for 14 nights in July and had a great holiday on Lake Garda. The rooms are spacious and very clean with an abundance of fresh towels supplied. When we arrived there was a welcome pack which contained washing up liquid, dish cloth, jams, tea and other items which was a lovely surprise. All rooms are air conditioned and had wifi. The pool and surronding gardens are kept very clean and there was always plenty of sun beds available. The hotel provided free sunbeds on the local beach across the road from the hotel which we used regularly.

The location of the residence was about 20 mins walk into Desenzano or approx 5 min bike ride. The hotel provided bikes free of charge and was such a bonus having bikes when they were available as we had no car. We flew into Verona Airport and caught the shuttle bus from Verona Airport to Verona Train Station and then another public bus to the hotel. I would recomend to bring your own car or hiring a car if you are staying on the lake because as a family of four we found the ferries around the lake very expensive and extremely slow going but was still an authentic way of seeing the lake, very relaxing and with beautiful scenery. A big thank you to Omar who was very welcoming and was a great source of information, nothing was too much trouble for him.

I would recommend Residence Spiaggia d'Oro and our family will definately be returning. The hotel is such a great base and I would love to see more of this beautiful lake and also to return to the fabulous shopping at the Desenzano market (every Tuesday till 1PM) and maybe take the kids to Garda Land...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights following a trip to Venice, it is fairly close to the train station. Omar was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Apartment was good, with everything we needed for the stay. Free wireless was quite fast with no issues. Both rooms had good air con units. There is a private beach not too far away with free sunbeds and umbrellas for Residence guests. It is about a 15 minute walk to Desenazno for restaurant, bars and the ferries - be warned the ferries are not cheap, 110 euros return to Garda. There is a supermarket next door which was handy, and quite cheap, also a larger one about 10 minutes away but more expensive. Pool was very nice with plenty of sunbeds and very clean. There is also a washing machine for guest use. There are free bikes to use, plus table tennis and pool. Although we did not need to use there is a small parking area for 8 -10 cars and underground garage. The main gate closes at night so felt quite secure. There is a small safe in the room also. We would not hesitate to stay again. Thank you Omar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ixtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klarup, Nordjylland, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

we were in the apartment for 8 nights 2 adults and to kids 15-17 years old.
- Staff were really nice and service-minded. They were ready to help whatever we asked them.
The place is nice good location, 1200 meters from the city center. You can walk to the city center with no problem, the road is good for walking and biking. The resort offers bikes for free.
Pool area was nice and not over-crowded during our stay.
Good lounge area indoor and outdoor with pool table, and table tennis and chairs and table's.
The sofa bed's in our apartment could have been better, for smaller children it would have been ok.
The bed-room was fine.
2 room aircon working good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keuruu
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just were 6 nights at Residence Spiaggia d'Oro and it was really great place to stay with child. We had a rental car and it was easy to park and drive around the Gardalake. Service was very good and staff really friendly. I can recommend this lovely place especially to familys who have kids. I hope that we can go there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is my last day of a week here in desenzano, my one bedroom apartment was spacious, clean and bright with a great view of the lake and mountains and the tip of sirmione. Plenty of car parking spaces both at the front of the building and under the building with each apartment having a dedicated parking space. The staff here are extremely friendly and very helpful. check out time is normally 10.30 however as my flight is not until 4.30 I asked if I could hold the apartment until 12.30, not a problem and no charge. So I'm sitting by the pool in the sun enjoying my last few hours in this beautiful place. The apartments are a great base for visiting any of the towns around the lake and also has a supermarket right next door, all in all a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment 304 I think it has the best view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonny61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We flew into Milan and stayed here for 5 nights with our 8 and 10 year old children. Very clean and a decent amount of room with a double bedroom and separate lounge/dining/kitchenette. Decor a little dated but overall very nice. Modern bathroom and good size balcony. The place was very quiet when we were there. Great for people using a hire car as good car parking with electric gate. Would also recommend this apartment to people with toddlers/children as a little play area on grass and nice (unheated) pool area. Buying food couldn't be easier with a Penny Market next door. People on reception very helpful and wi-fi free. Desenzano was lovely. We walked in on Tuesday for the huge market. This took about 25 mins with the kids. Nice flat path all the way - perfect for bikes/strollers. We took a boat trip to Sirmione with 13th century castle. Lazise was not far away and was a lovely old walled town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank View-from-my-window
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#24 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Hotel Villa Erme
Admiral Hotel Villa Erme
#18 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
291 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Il Sogno
Residence Il Sogno
#11 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 40 in Desenzano Del Garda
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro

Property: Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro
Address: Via Dugazze 2/A, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Hotel Spiaggia d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Spiaggia D'Oro Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing