We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camping San Francesco
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Maria(Desenzano Del Garda)
$173
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astoria(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giardinetto(Desenzano Del Garda)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bonotto(Desenzano Del Garda)(Great Value!)
$158
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Estee Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
$211
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Rosa Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
$411
$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
$166
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lido International(Desenzano Del Garda)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Piccola Vela(Desenzano Del Garda)
$207
$200
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Benaco(Desenzano Del Garda)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
90
115
42
24
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
115
42
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsonsite shopwashing facilitiesdirect accessbeautiful sirmioneliving areatable tennisrestaurants barslake gardagreat facilitiespitchescaravancanvaspedalossupermarketlakesidetourertowns
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 292 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed for 12 nights in a Eurocamp mobile home, the mobile was clean, spacious, airconditioned (a necessity) & expensive. The Eurocamp mobiles are very squashed together and it feels as though you are living on top of the neighbouring mobiles. There are several other mobile home providers on site and each of their mobiles seemed to be as well kept as the Eurocamp mobiles but had lots of space around them. The site is immaculately kept, very clean and felt very safe. There are lots of pools and you are right on the beach, meaning you never get bored. Some of the pools charged for entry but if you were a member of Sam Club entry was free. There are lots of activities on site some free and some had a charge depending on membership of the aforementioned club. The Club was 17euro per person and entitled you to free archery lessons, gym membership and other discounted activities. The site has a well stocked supermarket and 3 restaurants & bars. We took the bus into the local town Caorle a few evenings which was beautiful, no english or Irish bars, very quaint but busy with plently of shops. Shopping is expensive. It was reasonably priced to eat out.

The waterpark in Caorle is great fun for a day out!

The only down side was the mosquitos, I highly recommend bringing plenty of Deet spray; I was unfortunate to have an allergic reaction to the mosquito bites but allergy medication such as Piriton or Benadryl helped as does cortizone cream.

Trevisio Airport is very small so when travelling out of it arrive really early because you have to queue up 4 or 5 times to check in and get through security. There is also no where to eat once you go through security.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italianh0liday2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed at Camping San Francesco for 2 1/2 weeks in June with 2 young children. The location, halfway between Sirmione and Desenzano, is great (as long as you have a car). It's also within walking distance of supermarkets, restaurants etc.

Good points were : The swimming pool was great for small kids. The restaurant was alright - but a little pricey for a campsite. The fact that it's on the lake is lovely. We went with Canvas Holidays and their rep there was excellent. He couldn't do enough for us.

Poorer points were : The mobile home pitches were very close together and you were on top of your neighbours. The pitches were not very well kept and there were plenty of overgrown weeds and grass around the mobile home. There weren't enough staff at reception and those who were there were quite rude. Some of them treated customers as an inconvenience. The children's playground was very poor and full of rides which required a Euro.

We had a really great holiday, but there are much better campsites out there. We'd return to this one if there were none other available, but we'd look for another one first.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublin_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Bad restaurant and the owner is one that takes advantage.
At the reception they held the document for the entire stay and were rude

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank program123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I've just spent one week the camping with many friends. We were there for our annual motorbike meeting. We have been placed in a just develop area with nice and brand new bungalows (Garda Suite Deluxe). The accomodation was good and with all confort nevetheless the area is still under construction and there are workers around doing sometime a lot of noise with their equipment.
The swimming pool is very nice and big nevertheless it close at 7:00 PM that is ridicolous in Italy in summer when the sun is still high in the sky at that time.
At 18:45 we have been invited in a very unkindly way to leave the site because the personnel was not paid to make extra work...no words for that.

I didn't use all the services of the camping but I've spent a week there and I've found that the worst thing of the camping is the restaurant. The personnel of the restaurant is totally not prepared to manage such structure and we had to face a lot of troubles. The waiters are very nervous and unpolite maybe because they are not skilled enough to handle such big dining room.

We had the chance to talk to the director of the restaurant we have been treated in a very rude way. The direction of the camping should know who is directing this very important service of their company.

Be aware to not buy the camping sheets and towel kit, it will cost you 14€ to have bad quality paper stuff when you can buy a regular towel in the camping market for half price.

I won't stay there again.
G

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VentoeAdrenalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We also went with Venue holidays and can confirm the reps Jon and Hannah were very good, helpful and informative.

We stayed in one of Venue's large frame tents, which comfortably sleep five on spring beds. Their prices are good, especially out of season.

The site is next to (and within earshot of) Garda Village and its disco, though the latter finished around 11.00 pm. and was not particularly noisy.

There is a bus service on the main road, though the nearest stops are 10-15 minutes walk. You can also walk to Desenzano and Sirmione in an hour or so.

The site has a comfortable mix of tents, mobile homes, tourers and camper vans, the majority being Italians with quite a few south Germans and Dutch and a few British. English is spoken in the reception, shop and restaurant.

We had a couple of good meals at the restaurant and had no problems with the attitude of the staff. Prices were a little higher than in restaurants outside.

The shop was running down its stock at the end of the season. However, there is a large cash and carry on the other side of the main road, to which Jon referred us.

The toilet block that we used was modern and regularly cleaned. We had no problems with queues.

The pools were popular, though we did not order coffee. There were plenty of sun loungers around them. However, I could imagine overcrowding in high season.

Sunset over Lake Garda was memorable and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Legalgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews