We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant & Reception” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping San Francesco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping San Francesco
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“restaurant & Reception”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Bad restaurant and the owner is one that takes advantage.
At the reception they held the document for the entire stay and were rude

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank program123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    94
    31
    22
    14
See reviews for
142
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

I've just spent one week the camping with many friends. We were there for our annual motorbike meeting. We have been placed in a just develop area with nice and brand new bungalows (Garda Suite Deluxe). The accomodation was good and with all confort nevetheless the area is still under construction and there are workers around doing sometime a lot of noise with their equipment.
The swimming pool is very nice and big nevertheless it close at 7:00 PM that is ridicolous in Italy in summer when the sun is still high in the sky at that time.
At 18:45 we have been invited in a very unkindly way to leave the site because the personnel was not paid to make extra work...no words for that.

I didn't use all the services of the camping but I've spent a week there and I've found that the worst thing of the camping is the restaurant. The personnel of the restaurant is totally not prepared to manage such structure and we had to face a lot of troubles. The waiters are very nervous and unpolite maybe because they are not skilled enough to handle such big dining room.

We had the chance to talk to the director of the restaurant we have been treated in a very rude way. The direction of the camping should know who is directing this very important service of their company.

Be aware to not buy the camping sheets and towel kit, it will cost you 14€ to have bad quality paper stuff when you can buy a regular towel in the camping market for half price.

I won't stay there again.
G

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VentoeAdrenalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We also went with Venue holidays and can confirm the reps Jon and Hannah were very good, helpful and informative.

We stayed in one of Venue's large frame tents, which comfortably sleep five on spring beds. Their prices are good, especially out of season.

The site is next to (and within earshot of) Garda Village and its disco, though the latter finished around 11.00 pm. and was not particularly noisy.

There is a bus service on the main road, though the nearest stops are 10-15 minutes walk. You can also walk to Desenzano and Sirmione in an hour or so.

The site has a comfortable mix of tents, mobile homes, tourers and camper vans, the majority being Italians with quite a few south Germans and Dutch and a few British. English is spoken in the reception, shop and restaurant.

We had a couple of good meals at the restaurant and had no problems with the attitude of the staff. Prices were a little higher than in restaurants outside.

The shop was running down its stock at the end of the season. However, there is a large cash and carry on the other side of the main road, to which Jon referred us.

The toilet block that we used was modern and regularly cleaned. We had no problems with queues.

The pools were popular, though we did not order coffee. There were plenty of sun loungers around them. However, I could imagine overcrowding in high season.

Sunset over Lake Garda was memorable and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Legalgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Went for last two weeks of August, so late Season. A well located campsite with good facilities, let down by poor customer service and cleanliness. Mostly Dutch campers with a smattering of Italians, Germans and Brits.

Positives:
- Access direct onto Lake Garda, with paid for watersports available. My kids loved jumping in the Lake from the jetty. Beach was pebbly, but what else would you expect
- Modern facilities, toilet block etc
- Great pool area and poolside bar, although we had to take an underpass under the road to get there
- Quick and easy getting there, via Bergamo Airport
- Excellent Venue reps, John in particular
- Sirmione only 5 minutes away in the car, a truely beautiful old town

Negatives:
- Poor customer service at the restaurant (waiting over an hour to be served), with extremely rude and short-tempered waiting staff.
- Poor customer service from the bar side pool, very short-tempered staff told me off for not ordering 2 coffees in one go (I did it in two orders...)
- Dirty toilet block, due I believe to under staffing
- Very low stock levels at the on-site Supermarket and massive queues in the morning for bread etc.

The service problem at the toilet block got very bad in the second week, so I guess there may have been a staffing issue that week.

Overall, the campsite has much to recommend it. It needs a change in leadership and staffing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilymanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desenzano Del Garda
4.5 mi away
Camping Bella Italia
Camping Bella Italia
#1 of 32 in Peschiera del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
5.4 mi away
Del Garda Village and Camping
Del Garda Village and Camping
#3 of 32 in Peschiera del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.9 mi away
Piantelle Camping
Piantelle Camping
#1 of 24 in Moniga del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Camping Europa Silvella
Camping Europa Silvella
#3 of 12 in San Felice del Benaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.9 mi away
Camping Bergamini
Camping Bergamini
#4 of 32 in Peschiera del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.5 mi away
Camping Eden Village
Camping Eden Village
#4 of 12 in San Felice del Benaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping San Francesco

Property: Camping San Francesco
Address: Strada Vicinale San Francesco, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping San Francesco 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Camping San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping San Francesco Hotel Sirmione
Camping San Francesco Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing