We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful tuscan villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Ginepraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volterra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Le Ginepraie
Save
You added Villa Le Ginepraie to your Saves list
Podere Le Ginepraie | Localita Pignano, 56048, Volterra, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful tuscan villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here with family and friends in Aug 2011. The villa is lovely and Valerio was really friendly and helpful in all respects. We made good use of the pool and loved using the pizza oven for cooking during our stay. The children enjoyed horse riding at Pignano (a short walk away) and we enjoyed seeing the scenery in the surrounding area by hiring a quad bike from the viila (both of which Valerio helped organise along with a trip to some local small lakes which we swam in). We had a lovely holiday and hope to return one day !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Nice house with a lot of bedrooms . Each one had his own privacy. The owner, Valerio ( and his pregnant wife...) is very kind. Take the breakfast , easy and delicious! Ask your question and Valerio answer immediately ( and try to help you to find the best way for you ). quiet. Nice retaurant , cheap, about five minutes away ...Enjoy this house! JM

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henrotte j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I think I've been very lucky in finding villa le ginepraie because it's really my dream tuscan villa!I've stayed there for a week in Rosso Fiorentino apartment:the room is so romantic and the entire apartment is very charming and comfortable. I loved the panoramic swimming pool,the delicious local cuisine and the strategic location between the two most enchanting tuscan places: Volterra and San Gimignano! Lovely owners,enchanting panorama and charming apartments: i suggest it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorylui79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I cannot begin to describe the beauty of the Tuscan countryside and Villa Le Ginepraie. We were greeted by a wonderful, hospitable Val who answered all our questions and helped us make the most a stay that was too short. If you are considering a stay in Tuscany make sure you stay here! I recommend you have a hire car while you're there to enjoy places like Sienna and Cortona and make sure you stay longer than 3 days. We will definitely return!
(please ignore my selections. I don't read Italian and can't work out how to change the page to English)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicca29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My wife and I spent 5 days at the villa of Paulita and Valerio. It was a great time of year to be there. Weather was great and we were really the only ones. Valerio and Paulita were so accommodating and nice. We wanted to do a pizza cooking class and they set up a personal training with a local pizza restaurant. They even came and translated! I think we became good friends and hope to see them again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMolenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We recently stayed at Valerio and Paola’s wonderful villa in the heart of Tuscany and could not have been happier. Our room was spacious, immaculate, and inviting, with a divinely comfortable bed. The views in all directions were postcard perfect - classic Tuscany. The breakfasts were delicious with a special surprise baked fresh each morning by Paola. Valerio and Paola, who both speak English, are genuinely warm and gracious hosts who went out of their way to ensure that we had a memorable stay. Stop looking; this is the place! You will love staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSandAndStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We can't wait to return to Paola & Valerio's beautiful villa! This was one of our favorite places in Italy. The surrounding land and views are gorgeous, the villa was spotless, large and comfortable, and Paola and Valerio are the kindest people. We had so much fun staying here and were able to relax while also seeing Siena, Lucca, Volterra and San Gimignano. Definitely have a meal at the villa if you can arrange it- Paola is an amazing chef!
We can't say enough good things about this wonderful place and the owners!! We miss it already!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodledoodledoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volterra
6.3 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 32 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#7 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
5.2 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
1.4 mi away
Relais Villa Sensano
Relais Villa Sensano
#4 of 100 in Volterra
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Ginepraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Ginepraie

Property: Villa Le Ginepraie
Address: Podere Le Ginepraie | Localita Pignano, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Le Ginepraie, a typical 17th century Tuscan farmhouse, with private chef and private restaurant only for the guest, stands on a knoll surrounded by hills, offering a superb panorama. Even though the location enjoys total tranquillity, it is in a strategic position between San Gimignano, Volterra, Colle Val d'Elsa, Siena, Florence and the sea, which can all be reached easily. The private swimming pool and large garden encourage relaxation, sunbathing and reading, while the surrounding countryside offers a number of pleasant walks. In other words, Villa Ginepraie offers itself as a unique place to spend a restful holiday with your friends and family, only a short distance from Tuscany's art, history and entertainment.The three roomy apartments and the two bedrooms that make up the Villa are elegant, but warm and welcoming at the same time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing