We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique Italian experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed for a week in an apartment and found it restful and enjoyable. The location is great for day trips to the surrounding Tuscan Villages. The staff are friendly and helpful and the gardens and pool are inviting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandAnnVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

It was a wonderful experience at agriturismo hotel, it´s simple, but clean. All the area around de house it´s a movie view. Dinner is a good option, we could try a real toscana meal, we recommend, and the hostess was kindly. You only need to go by car, is a little far away from the city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaPaulaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

As we planned our trip to Italy, our first priority was to feel like we were among Italians, not tourists. Podere San Lorenzo was the highlight of the trip. Our room was next to the dining room and as we rested, the aromas from dinner cooking next door awoke us from our naps. The food did not disappoint. Marinella and her staff prepared amazing dinners that was unmatched in all of Italy. Everything fresh and delicious.

Podere San Lorenzo has such a peaceful setting and is just a very short drive into Volterra. We will definitely be returning and staying longer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyLovesItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This place is seriously beautiful. Lonely Planet is right to recommend it so highly. And as we rented a car, it was very convenient to see Volterra. (you can park for free just outside the city walls... look for lot #3) We didn't have the dinner, so I can't comment on that, but breakfast was also the best continental that we had on our trip. And there are very cute dogs running around.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hfb220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Its a great location -rustic -quite basic but sensational building and the dinner venue is amazing-12th C chapel.Marinella ,Francesca and Simone were wonderful hosts especially as a family member needed to visit the emergency section of the hospital -offers for translations and to pop in to help were made .The cooking school is well worth it .
Dinner is a set menu and very good -I did find it too much food and hoped the leftovers went to good use !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at San Lorenzo for four days. Maranella was great with directions to anywhere from the facility (nice location for visiting this part of Tuscany) and the cooking school with Marianna and Francesca was much fun, even for an old AF pilot !
The grounds are beautiful with a great pool and facilities. The room are very nice and each is different. Beautiful sunsets and location to view them with wine and chips provided by the villa. Rent a car to go here and travel around the area and the walled cities in the area. Volterra has a Roman coliseum being unearthed and the Etruscan Gate, the oldest use of a keystone known. Many other walled cities in the area. Very friendly and fun place to be. You can just stay at the villa and relax or travel the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sunset!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at Podere San Lorenzo for 3 nights during our honeymoon, and we loved it! Look out for the sign at the roadside about 1.5km before Volterra and turn into an unlit path. I would highly recommend renting a car to come here as I can imagine how difficult it would be otherwise, furthermore it gives you the freedom to drive to the Tuscany towns and villages that interest you.

Anyway back to the Podere, we arrived at dinnertime on the 1st day and were ushered into a lovely dining hall which had been used as a chapel previously. The feeling of tucking into fresh, home-made food at the end of a long drive was great.

After dinner, Marinella welcomed us and showed us our apartment (apt 2) which was next to the chapel. Initially we were a little apprehensive about the lack of A/C but we realised that for Sep if you opened the window (there is an insect screen), we could sleep very well. The apartment was furnished simply but served its purpose. We did not use the kitchenette so cannot comment on that, but the showers and the bed did their jobs and we were quite pleased.

Others have mentioned about the natural swimming pool and also the hiking trails. Though they looked inviting, we did not have time for them as there was just too much to see in Tuscany! What we did do was to participate in their cooking lessons (E90/pax) for which we were plunged right into the deep end and had to help prepare the evening meal for 15 pax! We did enjoy ourselves though and learned a lot, including how to make fresh pasta. Together with the lesson and the memories, we received a cookbook and apron each. We also purchased two bottles of olive oil so that we could re-create the magic in our kitchen at home.

Ultimately, we left with some regret that we did not spend more time at the Podere. Ideally we would have stayed for one more day which would have consisted of swimming and lazing by the poolside with a good book, but alas we will have to leave that for the next trip!

PS: One little issue is that they have a policy of cleaning rooms and changing the towels only once every three days. As they are a working farm and not a hotel, I will give them the benefit of the doubt for this, however I would suggest a turn-around time of two days instead.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
6.7 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
3.7 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#5 of 25 in Volterra
590 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#12 of 25 in Volterra
190 reviews
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo Il Mulinaccio
Agriturismo Il Mulinaccio
#6 of 98 in Volterra
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo

Address: Via Degli Allori 80 | Strada, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Volterra
Price Range: $140 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing