We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel, but the Beds . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This would have been a nice little hotel - - to bad about the beds. Hard as a rock. Literally the most uncomfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on. The pillows were even worse - - wedges of extremely firm foam with almost no give. Fortunately, they have normal pillows stored in the closet that you can replace the foam ramps with; unfortunately, we didn't discover this until the next morning as we were checking out.
The hotel itself is quite nice and very clean. Would be a great place to stay if not for the bed problem..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlanta_Cruisers_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 194 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hard to find. Even with sporadic hotel signage along route, I do not think that I could have found it without my GPS.

Super cheap room rate. Spartan rooms and décor. But very clean. Beds were comfortable. Small shower. Thin walls. Free parking. Wi Fi was 3 Euros for 6 hours. Breakfast was included and okay [nothing special].

Located outside city walls adjacent to a wooded area. Less than 5 minute drive to Volterra. There is paid parking at bus station [you can park there and walk up to Volterra]. However ask the front desk about all of the free parking lots along the perimeter of the city Wall used by the residents including the one right next to the Roman Theater archeological site. Saved 3-4 Euros every time we parked there.

Personally, I preferred staying outside the city walls and for that reason, I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolawca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Foresteria during the end of March. The room was very large, clean and comfortable. We had half board and the food was good and plentiful. The problem arose on the first night when shortly after we started our dinner around 50 middle school aged children filed into the dinning room along with five of their teachers. They proceeded to cheer and yell among themselves giving us the atmosphere of a noisy school cafeteria. Obviously this is not what we came to Tuscany for. Later in the evening the youngsters set up a loud boom box in one of the common areas (It sounded as if it was in our room with us) again giving us a summer camp feeling. At breakfast the next morning we were overtaken by this group one last time. In all fairness the staff tried to handle the situation as well as they could. However, I fault the owner/manager for booking such a large school group at the same time they have individual guests.
For the following two nights of our stay we were pleased with the accommodations.
My advice for anyone deciding to stay here is to be assured that they are not booking large groups at the time of your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I was going to leave a good review because the girl at the front desk was so nice but the next morning at 7:30 am, the maid banged on the door and told us we must leave within the next 20 minutes so she could clean the room! I have stayed at hundreds of hotels and we usually check out around 9 am, but the posted time is 11 am. I have never had the maid demand we leave by 8 am. Very unprofessional!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

After several hot, busy days in florence our night here in volterra was a fantastic rest, really refreshing, lovely calm atmosphere. Lovely tuscan views from our balcony. Immaculate rooms and communal areas if a little spartan and slightly lacking in character - but dont let this put you off... very spacous room and nice bathroom with organic shower gel etc Very helpful friendly staff (poss owners) told us a bit about the local organic farming and vineyards. Fabulous extensive breakfast of among other things: fresh bread, croisants, lovely fruit, lots of cheese and ham, yoghurts, beautiful homemade cakes (which we didn't really want for breakfast, but wrapped up and pinched for later! thanks guys!!). Also very nice little trattoria don the road with delicious hare ragout, and very generous with the afterdinner fire water! beware crazy italian drivers zooming up behind you and beeping on narrow precarious country roads to get up to volterra - very high up, widing roads!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brmbrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had some trouble getting to the Hotel Foresteria, mostly because the bus from Volterra Saline puts you out on the edge of the old city and we had to walk with our luggage a pretty fair piece on roads really meant for car traffic. However, once we located the hotel, the room was spacious and and clean, with a beautiful view across the hills. The desk staff was friendly and accommodating, ordering us a taxi for our very early departure the next morning. Would definitely recommend to friends, as long as they get directions first!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I stayed here with my Dad and Step Mum. We had a triple room and it was lovely and clean, the staff seemed friendly just a little hard to understand but my Step mum needed to send a fax to her wedding planner down in Sorrento and the staff were very helpful, Breakfast we lovely had a bit of everything to choose from! We got free parking and there was one computer for all the guests to share (it was very slow) The only issues we had was the air con was broken and it was 37 degrees celsius! Now this hotel is not within the walls of Volterra but with the car we didn't find that a problem, all it up it was a lovely cheap stay

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alecia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
281 reviews
6.2 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
0.9 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
507 reviews
4.3 mi away
Molino D'Era
Molino D'Era
#7 of 25 in Volterra
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foresteria Volterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foresteria Volterra

Address: Borgo San Lazzaro 5 | Localita San Girolamo, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: $63 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Foresteria Volterra 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Foresteria Volterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing