We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting with Friendly Service”
Review of Villa Otium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Otium
Ranked #3 of 28 Volterra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Villa Otium and were very pleased with the service, food and location. Giulio, Maurizza (and Matteu) provided warm, friendly service starting the moment we pulled up to the place. The first thing they asked us is whether we were hungry - we said yes and within moments were sitting outside at a table with cheese, meats and a bottle of their house red wine enjoying the sunshine and beautiful views.
Maurizza's cooking is wonderful. Make sure to try the traditional Tuscan soup and the rolled meat with cheese and vegetables inside. About 4km outsside of the walled city of Volterra, Villa Otium was close enough to be a convenient drive but far enough to feel secluded and still offer beautiful sunset views of the rolling hills and surrounding countryside.
The room we had (Pino) was spacious and clean but just a little dark so we asked for another lamp and got it- no problem.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 178 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2008

We have a 1 year old baby and were in a large group of people who went to stay at Villa Otium just this last week. There was also 2 other babies with us; an 11 month old and 18 month old. We had the most fantastic family holiday! The babies had a wonderful time, as it's a really family friendly place. I would recommend getting an apartment if you are travelling with small children, as there's more room and it doesn't cost very much more. That's what we're going to do next time! The food was fantastic. The home-made olive oil is to die for! The guys that run the villa are just lovely and more than happy to clean baby bottles and heat up milk for us (which they were doing about a million times a day!). They speak great English. My husband spent every evening in the bar socialising with the owners and had a fantastic time (I prefered going to bed early and getting up early). I have to say we didn't hear much noise from our room. We couldn't even hear the noise from the bar downstairs, but we weren't directly above it. If you're a light sleeper perhaps it's probably best to request a room that's not directly above the bar. Our baby's quite a light sleeper and she had no trouble sleeping. We could hear the odd person if they were talking in the hall, but that's about it. The Villa's about a two minute drive from Volterra, which is a fantactic small town, which is almost unspoiled by tourists. The local people still shop there and you will find a long line of locals at the butchers waiting to buy the local produce! It's also within an hour's drive to Pisa and just over an hour to Florence, but we honestly couldn't be bothered to drive there with a small child (and I've been before), so we just hung out at the villa and took trips into Volterra. I thouroughly recommend this as an economical holiday (Ryanair flies to Pisa) and we're already planning a trip back!!! So, to the lovely guys at Villa Otium SEE YOU SOON(ish)!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stava0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Referring to the comment below the “Worst hotel I've ever stayed in”, contrary to their comments, I think Villa Otium is a wonderful place, quite cheap compared the other B&B in the area. It is situated in an astonishing countryside 5 minutes from Volterra, a city located in the middle of Tuscany. The owners have been really welcoming and friendly with me as with my children. It is true what they say on their website, Villa is “a very friendly relaxing home”. If you stop for dinner you’ll pay an honest price for a delicious and delightful cuisine accompanied by good wine. If you want some company at the bar the owners are always willing to keep you entertained for a few hours, probably offering you something to drink. Everything the B&B offers is what I expect when I got on holiday. Villa Otium is what I call a five stars service.

Have an experience at Villa Otium at all costs!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jengis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Hi!!!
My name is Eleonora and I've been living in Paris for a number of years.
It's a long time since I returned to Italy for a vacation but during the August my boyfriend and I spent some marvelous days at Villa Otium!!!
Villa Otium is situated in a position from which it's possible to see a magnificent sunset while drinking a very nice glass of wine.
Furthermore, the staff are extremely pleasant and the atmosphere of Villa Otium is very friendly.
I also found them very competent with regards to both food and wine and would strongly recommend the restaurant, which is good and reasonably priced!
Additionally I greatly appreciated the sporting possibilities - specifically the opportunity to borrow a bicycle from Villa Otium.
In short, I must say, I spent some splendid days in this mansion and I keenly await my next opportunity to escape from France and return to the quiet tranquility of Villa Otium!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sticht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

An unbelievably bad experience. When we complained about the noise from the bar at 2am (the owner had friends round), the owner responded by turning the music up. One of the staff later threw stones at our bedrooom window. At breakfast we were ignored by the staff. Things then went from bad to worse when we went to pay the bill. We said we weren't willing to pay for the night in question, so the staff member walked off. When I asked him what he was doing he said he would deal with us in an "hour or two". Finally the owner came out and accused us of not being polite enough when we complained about the noise the night before.

Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Giovanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
4.2 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
1.7 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
326 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Podere Rivoltino di Sopra
1.8 mi away
Hotel Volterra In
Hotel Volterra In
#2 of 28 in Volterra
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Otium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Otium

Address: | Località San Cipriano, Podere Le Colombaie, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Volterra
Price Range: $68 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Otium is heaven where you will find hospitality, kindness and tranquillity. Immersed in the heart of the Tuscan countryside and only a few kilometres from the splendid Etruscan city of Volterra, which has been the cradle for history and culture for the last 3000 years. Villa Otium has been completely renovated and refurbished in typical Tuscan rustic style. The bedrooms and recreational areas introduce guests to a warm and inviting environment, away from the cold and formal structures that we are usually confronted with in modern lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Otium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing