We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Villa Rioddi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Rioddi
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in October. They close November on for the off season. Great breakfast in a beautiful dining area. Visited Siena, toured vineyards and old fortified cities. Well located for touring Tuscany. Best meal was at a trattoria named La Carabaccia in the central part of town. The villa is outside the city walls. You can walk, but the easiest is to drive to the north side of the city and park outside the wall. Usually parking available. Villa had a pool but it was closed and too cold and rainy when we were there. Luca and his mother are great. Luca speaks English and will give you directions and tips for just about anything. Volterra was pretty dead at night when we were there. Very few things were open after dinner. May have been end of season.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room, otherwise you will be stuck in a non-view room. The valley below the villa is rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    58
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
153
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent a week in a double room with additional child bed. Reception was great, detailed info with lots of good tips for the area, including picturesque off-the-beaten-track villages and some restaurants also frequented by the locals. We tried several of these during the week and they really were good! Room was simple but v. clean, beds comfortable, towels changed daily. Pool area has fantastic panoramic views over the olive orchard and across the barren, rolling Tuscan hills. Pool itself was perfect. Breakfast is excellent - fine home-baked cakes and bread and the tomato salad is a dream! All in all a great place to stay!
Walking up the steep hill to Volterra for dinner takes 20 mins and will keep you fit (we did it because we wanted to drink but not drive). Avoid walking up to town if you have young children though - for short stretches you have to use the busy main road with no pavement.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at Villa Rioddi and the stay was absolutely perfect. The room was spacious, clean and with fantastic views of the hillside (and with a good A/C!). Breakfasts were very good with homemade cakes, cured hams and cheeses.

Incredible help from Luca regardless of the type of question. Parking in Volterra? No problem. Directions to parking in Florence? No problem - here's the map. We had to add a baby cot to the room in the very last minute before we arrived which was accommodated without any problem whatsoever. All in all a perfect experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been visiting Villa Rioddi for years and we will continue to return because it is lovely. The hotel breakfasts are amazing feasts of home made food including Luca's breads and his mother's gorgeous cakes and fruit salads. The well-informed staff cannot do enough for you and the rooms are super clean. It is the ideal quiet and beautiful place to restore your equilibrium. Volterra is within (up hill!) walking distance- the town itself is another Tuscan gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Beautiful location, beautiful service, beautiful swimmingpool, beautiul people. Amazing how this family run hotel knows how to please and service. Furthermore very clean and a super breakfast. Thank you Luca and your Mother. We had a superb and relaxing stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Efwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Villa Rioddi is located a short distance from Volterra. The roads are a bit windy but with the help of Garmin and Lucca’s suggestion for the best spots to park, the trip was made easy. We used Villa Rioddi as our base to visit Volterra, San Gimignano and Siena. Both my wife and I enjoyed the Italian life style of afternoon siesta back at Rioddi and drives into Volterra for a late dinner, passeggiata and dolce at a bar with locals.

The room itself had high arched ceilings comfortable bed, clean private bathroom, TV, AC, etc. The window for our room was off center so we had to walk to it for the view. Since we really didn’t spend much time in the room, this wasn’t a big deal.

The building itself is an old stage stop with great stone walls. It sits on a Tuscan hillside that provides beautiful sunsets each evening.

One of my favorite features of our stay there is the welcoming and ever energetic Mirella. She was very patient with my attempts at the use of Italian. She was always there to assist you. At breakfast Mirella is at her best with wonderful foods, espresso or juices. She can provide added info for your daily itinerary and just a funny story for the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighThrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent three nights here and used it as a base for day trips to Siena and Monteriggioni and San Gimignano. It was always nice to come back to Volterra at night for dinner because for some reason it seemed less crowded.

The drive to the town is full of twists and turns. Villa Rioddi is a bit outside of the main downtown area town but it was easy to drive in, park and be in town within 5 minutes. The villa is in a lovely, peaceful setting with a nice pool for lounging after a day of exploring castles. The hosts made us feel like welcome guests in their home and their gracious hospitality really made our stay there so memorable. A warm welcome and fresh cappucino made to order when you come down to the outdoor veranda in the morning...and Lucca was always around to provide maps and tips for your next day's itinerary.

Breakfasts are great..the room was spacious and clean...awesome views..and all in an old post house that is full of history. No complaints. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
235 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#7 of 24 in Volterra
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 24 in Volterra
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rioddi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rioddi

Property: Villa Rioddi
Address: Podere Monte Volterrano SNC, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rioddi 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a splendid panoramic position, 2 km from the historic centre of Volterra, the hotel offers a stunning view over the city and Val di Cecina. The spacious lounges on the ground floor, the huge garden surrounding the building and the pool, together with a family-style management offers a highly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Villa Rioddi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Rioddi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing