We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
108
99
20
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
108
99
20
7
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 243 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Villa in May 2015. The Villa is very close to the sights of Volterra so everything is within walking distance although the road in front of the Villa is rather busy. The hosts are very friendly and have a very nice breakfast in the morning with delicious pastries and melon with prosciotto. However, breakfast doesn't start until 8:30 which can be rather late for travelers and those that want their coffee or tea earlier in the morning. If breakfast can't be served earlier, having a coffee maker in the rooms would be a nice addition.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2015

We had a room with a beautiful view and two large windows for enjoying the breezes of Tuscany. Friendly hosts who served a great assortment of pastries, meat and fruit in the morning. My only suggestion would be to start serving a bit earlier, or have coffee available for the earlier risers. Close to the arch and right outside the wall. Steep walk up to town, but good for working off the calories.
Very reasonable rates and a great value.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntfeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Expedia and when we arrived we were disappointed to find that they had been overbooked. Although this wasn't the ideal start to our vacation, within the hour they had offered us a cafe and personally escorted us to another nearby hotel with the exact same conditions and price. Maybe next time we will get to spend our trip at Villa Porta all'Arco, in the meantime we appreciate you taking care of us when other places may have said sorry and moved on.

Date of stay: May 2015
Thank JenandEric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015

This small gem of a hotel is located right beneath the Volterra city walls. The hotel is lovely, with comfortable and well-decorated rooms, and the most comfortable bed we had in many vacations. It's set in a nice garden, which would be an added attraction in summer (we were there in winter). The hosts are very nice, and the breakfast is delicious and ample. They have a nice selection of meats and cheeses, rolls, ripe melons, 2 or 3 kinds of homemade cakes, yogurt, and large cappuccinos. It's quite a steep hike up to the old city of Volterra, but that's to be expected in a hill town. I wish we could have stayed at this hotel longer.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank q2q3q4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2014

Volterra is a beautiful medieval town in Tuscany, & is definitely one of my favourite towns in Italy. It is not far from San Gimignano, but evidently lacks the tourism draw of that (also beautiful) town. This B&B is located very close to the city walls, just a couple of hundred metres from an Etruscan gateway into the town. The B&B is family run, with Antonella as the front person; her dad, Carmine, is your genial host for breakfast. Everything is done well, & with a smile. A great place to stay, in a fascinating small city.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews