We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should Have Stayed Longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hotel le Fonti
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Nashville
2 reviews
“Should Have Stayed Longer!”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at Park Hotel le Fonti for three nights on our honeymoon and wished we had stayed longer. The room was clean and spacious with a view of the infinity pool and the rolling Tuscan countryside. We made great use of the large poolside terrace- relaxing and drinking wine watching the sunset.
We walked around Volterra one day and took a day-trip to Pisa and Lucca but couldn't wait to return to the hotel for drinks and dinner each night. The manager Francesco was friendly and professional and made us feel like honored guests. He made excellent wine suggestions for our meals and served us complimentary home-made tiramisu on our last night!
The breakfast was included and incredible! Fresh eggs, salami, ham, tarts, pastries, juices, coffee and more.
Superb service and food with fabulous views of the Tuscan hills- how did Rick Steves miss this one?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenJNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    191
    94
    38
    11
See reviews for
66
282
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We were so pleased with Park Hotel le Fonti. It was a great location and had a beautiful view with a lovely swimming pool. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and patient. Our room was clean and worked out well as we stayed there for 4 nights. We would highly recommend this hotel. Unfortunately, Rick Steves doesn’t have it listed in his book. We intend to let his organization know that we thought the hotel was great!

Traveler's tip on dining
A good restaurant to eat at in Volterra is Don Beta-

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_D4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Beautiful views of the Tuscan hills. The service was superb, we arrived on our honeymoon and they greeted us with complimentary champagne and a delicious meal at their restaurant. Room was comfortable, staff was incredibly hospitable and the prices were really reasonable.

Only thing I didn't like was all the spiders in the wellness center (but spiders are everywhere in Italy).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afouad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Park Hotel Le Fonti in Volterra! My room was reasonably priced and had a gorgeous view out over Tuscany. I had a delicious meal at the restaurant and swam in the luxurious pool. The staff was friendly and helpful. Jan

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belleidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Overall a good stay, albeit short -1 day at beginning and one at the end as part of a cycling holiday. The restaurant was very good and Francesco the manager was excellent. Rooms good although air conditioning was rather noisy (both in mine and adjacent rooms), however i am a light sleeper so you may not notice. Pool is a quite a feature. Large coach party of Swedes on last night were pretty noisy - calling to each other from the windows and completely taking over the terrace after dinner !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I loved this hotel and intend to return. Other recent reviews have giving testimony to the quality of the service, the rooms, and the overwhelming view this hotel affords. I agree, but would like to add that the hotel's position, just below the wonderful town of Volterra and cental to so many delightful areas in Tuscany, makes it the perfect place for longer stays, particularly in the warm months when you can keep your car parked and enjoy the terraces and the pool overlooking the Tuscan countryside.

The hotel's name and its roadside advertisements, at least to the American ear and eye, ring of a overpriced chain hotel, devoid of local cultural charm. This could not be further from the truth, as the Park Hotel is family owned, uniquely Tuscan, and, for those of us who do not own private jets, it offers luxury at a very reasonable price.

The Park Hotel has an excellent staff who, from my exposure, take great pride in their facility (and who are English speaking). It offers a truly fine Tuscan experience that outranks, in my view, the supposed charm of the countryside B&B because it offers comfort and easy access to the cafes and restaurants and sights of the hilltop town of Volterra.

The only drawback I can think of is that the owners need to help out driving tourists with better directions to the hotel once they enter Volterra. We saw the road sign outside of town, then spent the better part of an hour trying to find the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadThought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pr1 lancashire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Hotel not too happy that most guests in our party wished to sample the food and nightlife in nearby Volterra. Thunderstorm threatened to keep us all confined to barracks and the table d'hote option was removed so we'd have to go a la carte. Instead we got turned over by a local taxi who took 8 of us on a 2 minute journey into Volterra for 20 euros. Costs recovered by paying 50% less in il pozzo degli etruschi and antica taverna - see restaurant reviews.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jthain58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
235 reviews
3.9 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#9 of 24 in Volterra
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 24 in Volterra
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel le Fonti

Property: Park Hotel le Fonti
Address: Via di Fontecorrenti 2, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel le Fonti 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Iuxury hotel in Volterra is idyllically situated on the magnificent rolling hills of Tuscany that surround the historical hilltop town of Volterra whose medieval walls still give sanctuary to Etruscan and Roman remains. If you are looking for a luxury holiday, our hotel in Volterra is the best choice. Relax and regenerate yourself in the elegantly Tuscan style furnished rooms and the wellness spa of our hotel, and enjoy the typical cuisine of Volterra and Tuscany in our restaurant. Discover the high quality services of our luxury hotel and plan your dream holiday in Volterra. Park Hotel le Fonti is a countryside heaven, a luxury hotel located within a park with a spectacular panoramic view over the unique landscape of the Cecina Valley, a web of gently rolling hills and primitive crags, mysterious chasms that now hide and protect the ruins of ancient burial sites. The view stretches out to the gleaming horizon, the soul is revitalized and the mind is finally at rest, able to regenerate itself. Enjoyment and leisure, the secret of Tuscan living!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Park Hotel le Fonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing