We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting, amazing pool.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel le Fonti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Hotel le Fonti
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great setting, amazing pool.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Well run hotel with excellent restaurant and lovely views.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzylondon13UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    175
    90
    37
    9
See reviews for
59
262
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

A hotel that is obviously a relatively recent addition to Volterra, set just outside the town walls, about ten minutes walk from the centre. It has decent facilities - a pool, jacuzi, sauna (that wasn't working while we were there) and "emotional showers" make up a complimentary spa area. The pool gives a fantastic view of the surrounding Tuscan countryside, but over all this feel less opulant than the 4-star rating might suggest, with the rooms not being all that large. Being asked to pay a 20 euro upgrade charge for a room with a view was a little galling too.

Nice enough, with helpful staff, but not a hotel I'd race back to again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I purposely have not read the other reviews on this site yet as I want this to give an honest account of how we found this hotel.We stayed here for a week to visit friends living in the area. The hotel is billed as 4 star, I would say it is 2.5 at best. The owner(s) are much in evidence but make no effort to chat to their guests or gain insight into the hotel, even when it is clear that there is a problem.
I would like to say at the outset we are a pretty normal family, we always make an effort to smile and say buon giorno when we see hotel staff. Our motto is always treat others as you would want to be treated yourself. Our first meal at the hotel was breakfast and the service was poor, the staff were unfriendly, unhelpful and I had to lay our own table for breakfast - in fact I did this 3 times during our stay. When we asked a waitress for cappucinnos we were told to 'wait!' I'm on holiday I don't want to be treated abruptly, it spoils the day.
The rooms are fairly spacious but in desperate need of updating, the furniture and beds look like they come from a junk shop - not shabby chic - just shabby. The bed was rickety and uncomfortable - it reminded me of being in a hotel which caters for schools, when they don't want to put anything nice in the rooms in case the kids spoil it.
We had lunch at the hotel on 3 occasions, the food was excellentand reasonable value but again spoilt by sullen and understaffed service. There are some exceptions to the general unhappiness of the staff but not enough to change my overall impression of the hotel as a place that people don't like working.
Hotel Park Le Fonti does have good points, the views are lovely and Volterra is a fabulous place with some outstanding restaurants.
We won't be going back to Le Fonti or recommending it to our friends, which is a real shame, because I think with good management and some investment it could become a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miniadventurer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for just 4 nights and were amazed at the view from our 1st floor room which overlooked the swimming pools.It was a surprise though to find that access into Volterra was either by way of a very steep climb or by using the local bus service.However this service stops after around 7.30pm so you have to find a taxi to get back, assuming like me you don't fancy a steep decent on foot.Apart from this the hotel was very satisfactory. A self service breakfast bar was well stocked but we could never find the waitress with the coffee, it would have been far better to have had a carafe of coffee placed on the table.Any minor niggles were forgotten by taking in the view across the Tuscan countryside,seeing the early morning mists clear as the sun rose.A good hotel for relaxing in with no worries about room cleanliness, only wish I was a bit younger and a lot fitter to tackle that climb into Volterra.

Room Tip: Definately go for a 1st floor room looking over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RANDPWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel is in general ok, but the rooms are old-fashioned!!! The bathroom is even more terrible! (very old and therefore not clean!) When they should update the room + bathroom the hotel should be ok. But how the rooms are looking at the moment, it's no longer from this time... The sleep quality is also not great... a lot of noise from the hall...
The staff at reception and bar is great! There works a real friendly lady at the bar! She was the sunshine of the hotel! The others (restaurant) aren't that friendly... a simple goodmorning is for some even to difficult...
The swimmingpool with view is also great. The location is ok: a 15à20 minutes walk to the city. There is free parking!
The food at the restaurant is like heaven!!! The prices are high but normal for this quality! It was a fantastic experience! I could eat this type of food every day!
The wifi was not working during our stay due to a technical problem. Annoying... The friendly guy at the reception gave us a reasonable explanation.

Renovate the rooms and this hotel is a 4 star hotel. At the moment it's with a bit of luck a 3 star hotel. The prices of the hotel are not in accordance with the rooms! The restaurant is fantastic!
We would like to eat and drink here again, but sleep... i don't think so...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stienro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We got back last week from a four day stay, having had a hectic few days in Florence. We had a wonderful experience: the staff were friendly and helpful, our room was lovely - everything worked, good air con. Breakfast was superior to other hotels we have tried. We ate there twice, a la carte and hotel menu, and both times were fine - a little expensive, but worth the extra for the setting, sitting outside as the sun set. Most important (for us) the general feel of the place was relaxing and the staff really wanted to please. The pool is lovely - immaculately kept.
The walk up to town has been rather exaggerated in our opinion - we are not the fittest, and yes, it is steep, but not for long, (15 minutes including a couple of stops to look at the steadily improving views) and it's worth it to be out of the swing of things. When walking, be sure you ask for the quickest way - don't follow the road, as the pedestrian route is much quicker!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Myself and my boyfriend travelled to volterra for a wedding and stayed here... Really nice pool, pool area, jacuzzi etc.. restaurant was also nice as was breakfast.. Problem was you could not order food at certain times of the day the restaurant closed so if we wanted a snack it was not available.. As the hotel is a good walk from the town it really was a pain. Also you could be waiting 20 minutes for a drinks order with two drinks. At 11pm one night we came back to the hotel to have a quiet drink and we were refused told the bar was closed , this happened on two occasions, and there was no tea or coffee making facilties in the hotel and all the tv stations were in Italian.. I dont think i would rush back to this hotel! Some of the staff were extrememly helpful but others just said no restaurant closed or bar closed etc and would not try and facilitate your request. Terrible as i have never come accross this in a hotel before!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmmm135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#2 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.9 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#10 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#3 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#7 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel le Fonti

Property: Park Hotel le Fonti
Address: Via di Fontecorrenti 2, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel le Fonti 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Iuxury hotel in Volterra is idyllically situated on the magnificent rolling hills of Tuscany that surround the historical hilltop town of Volterra whose medieval walls still give sanctuary to Etruscan and Roman remains. If you are looking for a luxury holiday, our hotel in Volterra is the best choice. Relax and regenerate yourself in the elegantly Tuscan style furnished rooms and the wellness spa of our hotel, and enjoy the typical cuisine of Volterra and Tuscany in our restaurant. Discover the high quality services of our luxury hotel and plan your dream holiday in Volterra. Park Hotel le Fonti is a countryside heaven, a luxury hotel located within a park with a spectacular panoramic view over the unique landscape of the Cecina Valley, a web of gently rolling hills and primitive crags, mysterious chasms that now hide and protect the ruins of ancient burial sites. The view stretches out to the gleaming horizon, the soul is revitalized and the mind is finally at rest, able to regenerate itself. Enjoyment and leisure, the secret of Tuscan living!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Park Hotel le Fonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing