We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of urns”

Museo Etrusco Guarnacci
Book In Advance
More Info
$731.45*
and up
Florence Day Trip to Volterra and San Gimignano
Ranked #5 of 41 things to do in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses one of Italy's best collections of Etruscan artifacts.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots of urns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Yes there are an awful lot of urns. The Etruscans were big on burials, their main legacy. The carving and sculpture is superb and there is some stunning gold jewellery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shezma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    176
    80
    36
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A Homophobic Institution”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

While we understand Italy is the seat of the Catholic faith, and we understand that our family is not accepted in many parts of the world, it is however 2013 and so we simply were not prepared for the slap in the face we received at this museum. Upon walking in, we read the ticket prices, and perhaps being used to Chicago museum definitions of "family", as two adults with children, we smilingly asked for a family pass entrance. The woman behind the desk however got very angry and yelled at us in Italian that a family is made up of a mother and a father, and NOT two men. She then turned her head away to cut off any further communication. So, we left, disappointed and upset. While we could certainly respect the museum's policy in how it defines entrance fees, it could have been handled differently. It was upsetting to us and our son and put a pallor over our perception of Volterra.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
92 Thank RoaminChicagoBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you love history - this little three story museum is packed full of Etruscan relics. Lots of pre-etruscan artifacts, some pretty interesting Etruscan funerary objects (most of the remains are from tombs), and some amazing gold pieces - including the famous golden crown of oak leaves, and magnificent gold earrings. Oh, there's also the amazing bronze piece that Giacommetti acknowledged as the inspiration for his work (he also visited Volterra). The museum is starved for funds (this is Italy), but very much worth a visit - you won't find this much Etruscan objects anywhere else in the world. The sad thing... they only have room for 10% of what they have warehoused for lack of display space!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Nice artefacts, poor information”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Some very nice artefacts, especially in the first floor. The experiency would have been much better with information in english

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astrid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

As a family of history lovers, we knew we had to include a visit to Volterra, one of the oldest towns in Tuscany, if only to see the Roman theatre and, of course, the Etruscan museum. We read the section about choosing the right Etruscan museum during your visit to Tuscany in Florence & Tuscany with Kids, and decided that the Guarnacci Museum is worth a try. We weren't disappointed! Though the museum really could use some sprucing up, and even though the information in English was absolutely lacking, the artefacts are very very interesting. There is such a rich array of Etruscan findings that we were at times amazed at the things we saw. In short - a must see stop in Volterra.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Etrusco Guarnacci also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Museo Etrusco Guarnacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing