We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Interesting 14th and 15th Century paintings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinacoteca e Museo Civico

Pinacoteca e Museo Civico
Ranked #10 of 41 things to do in Volterra
Attraction details
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Interesting 14th and 15th Century paintings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited with no charge on one of Volterra's Notte Bianca (White Nights). Because the museum had only just opened, there were not too many people and we were able to easily view the paintings. They were very interesting and probably would merit a 4 star if the gallery had been bigger. The shop and other facilities were closed when we were there as it was late at night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank hjtWindsor_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    16
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very good works in small museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This museum has some very fine pictures. I particularly liked Domenico Bigordi's Christ in Glory. You can purchase this museum ticket with the Etruscan museum, which makes it reasonable value.

Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“3 Museums in one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

You get this art museum included with the Etruscan admission. Both were our favorite museums in Volterra.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank divadouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the Tuscan hilltowns . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

This museum is truly a hidden gem . . . in a less-traveled city . . . but an excellent museum. If you are in Volterra, do not miss the opportunity to spend some time here. A true highlight of our trip to Italy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tenntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“small gem of a museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The paintings from the 1300s are very well preserved and interesting. Check out some of the woodworking. Incredibly detailed inlaid wood scenes on cabinets and tables.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank slits007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinacoteca e Museo Civico also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Pinacoteca e Museo Civico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing