We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent price for a 10 day rental!”
other travelers have booked this property
Tuscan Skies, beautiful panoramic view....and a pool!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tuscan Skies, beautiful panoramic view....and a pool!
Pool with a view!  Pool with its view of ancient Montecatini Val di Cecina
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Tuscan Skies, beautiful panoramic view....and a pool!
Pool with a view!  Pool with its view of ancient Montecatini Val di Cecina
View from courtyard kitchen
Downstairs living area
Garden level living area
Terrace at sunset
Master bedroom
View from master bedroom
The garden
The four-poster bedroom
Courtyard level living area
View of Volterra from Podere Le Volpaie
Bathroom
Courtyard bedroom
The terrace room
Yet another festival in Volterra!
Historic Volterra
Le Balze, Volterra
First view of Podere le Volpaie from the road
Podere le Volpaie from the road
Volterra Palazzo dei Priori
The garden, barbecue and Montecatini val di Cecina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Volterra, Province of Pisa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
TheLakesl...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent price for a 10 day rental!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I was attracted to the property because of the location - near Volterra - and the excellent rates for the property. We also wanted to rent a property with a nice pool area and air conditioning so I was a little disappointed to get more info after paying my deposit that said only parts of the property were air conditioned - altho I understand why this is.

This is a great base to explore from and gives you access to a range of different areas within a daily drive. it was lovely to watch the sun rise over Volterra in a morning before setting out for the day. We didn't use the terrace and garden as much as we would have liked as there was no shade at all other than a small beach parasol. I looked with envy at the large canvas parasol in the next door garden! If you're a sun lover then you will spend much time relaxing in these areas and the furniture provided is really comfortable. There is also the pool area which is lovely and catches the breeze down the valley from which you're sheltered in the garden.

The property does literally have everything you could need in generous quantities and it very much feels like you're staying in someone's home. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are great. There are a wealth of local restaurants not too far away and Volterra has a great range of eateries, delis, wine bars and patisseries that are not yet over run with tourists.

For groups and families this property is an absolute gift with lots of space including great bedrooms and bathrooms, great rates, access to a large pool area and everything you need for a relaxing holiday within a few miles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely comfortable beds in a dark shuttered room made for a great nights sleep
Liked least: No real option for shade in the garden or on the terrace which were the only areas to sit out
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We particularly like the fact that you felt as if you were staying in someone's home. That is exactly how we want our guests to feel - even if we are not there to meet with them. Thank you for the comment about parasols; it is something we will look into. For next summer we will have screens on the bedroom windows, which will mean that you can leave windows open at night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schinnen, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and apartment, off the beaten path but near wonderful restaurants
Liked least: having to leave...wonderful area
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed it so much. We tell people the area is wonderful, but they don't always believe our word! It's great to have your endorsement.

You will be pleased to know we will be making the property even more comfortable in the next couple of months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Not an issue with me, but some of the party missed the lack of wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hannisze
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home...”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We (a party of 7 adults) stayed at Tuscan Skies for 5 nights in May 2013 and enjoyed our stay there tremendously. Booking the property via HolidayLettings with Chris and Christine was a breeze. Our queries about the layout of the property and how to accommodate all of us were answered promptly and succinctly by them. After our booking was confirmed, we were sent detailed driving instructions to the property and further useful information on where to find the things we may need inside the property.

Tuscan Skies is made up of 2 apartments on different levels (joined by an indoor spiral staircase) in one of a few other blocks of low-level exclusive apartments known collectively as Podere Le Volpaie. It has 2 different entrances; the one on the upper level faces the courtyard and the one on the lower level is situated at the other side of the building. Although there are other apartments in the same building, only 1 other unit was occupied during the time we were there. So, we almost had the whole complex to ourselves!

We communicated with Jill (the manager who took care of the property for the owners) by telephone before we started our journey to the property from Rome and although we were arriving late at night (around 10pm), she very kindly agreed to meet us at a petrol station in the nearest town to the property, Saline de Volterra, to show us the way there and to hand over the keys to us.

The complex of apartments was enclosed in a large area with breathtaking surrounding views, secured by an electronic gate at the main entrance. The property has spacious rooms and all the amenities functioned perfectly well. The shower was strong and hot, the heating was nice and warm. The kitchen was very well stocked with sufficient cutlery and cooking utensils.

We were out exploring the nearby attractions on most days and did not have time to just stay in and really enjoy the property, which is a great pity! However, we can say that the property serves as a perfect base to explore so many beautiful places nearby like Monteriggioni, Siena, San Gimignano, Pisa, Florence and of course, Volterra. Just when we thought that we had seen all the best places nearby, Chris wrote to tell us that we have not yet seen Lajatico, Bolgheri, Viareggio and Lucca!!! Well, I suppose that will give us a good reason to book this wonderful property again for our next adventure!!

We highly recommend this property to others travelling to this part of Tuscany in a big group like ours. It is a perfect base to keep everyone together under one roof and it is truly a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and utilities
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2013
Thanks, Hannisze. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much. As you say, there are so many places to visit in the area.

In a way, we are pleased you did not spend much time in the apartment: it is a sign of how much you were enjoying yourselves! Thanks, though, for the positive comments about the property. You obviously travel all over the world, so you know what you are talking about!
Jill is very hepful, isn't she?
We look forward to welcoming you back to visit some of the places you missed on this trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A
Dunvegan, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We were looking forward to this trip for so long and we couldn[--]t have been more pleased”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I begin?

Let's start with the apartment and villa. Location, location, location!! The view in every direction was a perfect picture. The apartment (& the entire facility) exceeded all of our expectations. Even though our stay was during quite a heat wave, the bedrooms were very comfortable (& we looked forward to them after each day of travelling/sightseeing).

Booking was easy and Chris was very accommodating when we had to change our travel plans. Jill was a great help upon our arrival and made herself available during our stay to assist us to ensure we got the most out of the area.

When we make it back to this area we will definitely be looking to say at Tuscan Skies.

From the entire family, thanks again to chris and Jill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location made for a scenic and relaxing place to call home during our week's vacation.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2012
We do try to make sure our descriptions are as accurate as possible. We know what it's like to book somewhere based on the advert and then find it's not what we expected.
Booking the right property is vital to the perfect vacation, so if it's even better than described when you get there, so much the better! Here's to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2012
Thank you. It's great that visitors to the website can see just how much our guests enjoy being at 'Tuscan Skies'. It's a wonderful place to be at any time of the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 17, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort in the sun
Liked least: No choice but to hire a car
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2012
We can't imagine a more relaxing escape after you've moved house, especially after the delays!

One of the joys of the farming landscape is that the colours change all of the time. Even though we know the view so well, we still want to keep taking n3ew photos of it because it changes so much with the season and the lighting conditions.

We trust that you are now fully settled into your new home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing