We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to get back to Volterra, Italy”
Review of Albergo Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Nazionale
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Winston Salem NC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back to Volterra, Italy”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at the Albergo Nazionale, in a "quad" or room for 4 people. Our room was clean, quiet and roomy enough. The bathroom was good sized. Breakfast was typical for Europe; pastries and jams. Coffee/tea. The hotel is located at the entrance to the town, and since Volterra is small, everything is close. The hotel locks the doors at midnight, but that was not a problem for our family. We would happily book a room at the Nazionale again. The "new" tourist attraction is that the town is featured in the 2nd Twilight movie; New Moon. The "old" attractions are the Etruscan Museum, which is amazing. Also, the overlook of the Roman Theatre is spectacular. All the restaurants we ate at were great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicewriting6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    46
    59
    44
    26
See reviews for
31
80
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orange county, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We toured northern Italy for 10 days and Volterra was the highlight of our trip.

We are a 20-something couple and have never been to Europe before. We loved the building, and though it could be a tiny bit noisy it wasnt nearly as bad as in the major cities (Florence and Venice), and it didnt really bother us.

Parking was great! It wasnt through the hotel, but the structure was secure and safe and very close by. Also, you are allowed to drive up to the front door to drop your bags (usually only people with special permits are allowed to drive within the city walls, so this was a nice benefit).

The balcony had a beautiful view of the front gates of the city and the hills and town that lay below. It was pretty large too. The chairs were plastic and there wasnt much decor out there, but as far as that goes, the view is all you need.

The room was medium sized, the bed was ok...a bit hard, but typical for Italy. The bathroom was pretty good sized and everything was very clean, it was also decorated with beautiful tiles.

It was very close to everything. In a town that size, distance isnt really a problem, but it was steps away from the main piazza and Etruscan museum.

We loved it there and would absolutely go back again!!

  • Liked — Location and balcony
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatangelagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2008

stayed here two nights in march. hotel rooms very clean but dated ie 1970's brown floral tiles in bathroom. Staff warm and friendly. Rooms 401-404 on fourth floor have balcony and views from the front of the hotel to the sea in the distance lift available. Other rooms at the front would have some veiw but more noise from the street.Ideal if arriving by bus as buses start and stop across the street siena / florrence easy, change at colle di val d'elsa .cold breakfast basic but ok automatic self serve coffee machine. Paid £65 per night good value for welcoming, clean, central located hotel in Volterra.
Would recomend ristorante enoteca "Del Duca" turn left out of hotel then 50m in front of you. The best restaurant in Volterra euro 85 meal for two plus wine, has web site.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank independent69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Albergo Nazionale – Via dei Marchesi 11- Volterra (Tuscany), Italy – Ph (39)0588.86284 - [--]
Volterra is reached via winding roads to its hilltop, windy location, with the hotel near the wonderful Piazza dei Priori and its ancient buildings, which become an open market on Saturday. The hotel is attractive with ample-sized rooms and bath at 83 euros per double in November 2007. The hotel restaurant is off the lobby but independently operated with very good food (delicious ravioli when we arrived and dessert wine Grancia spumonti dolce). The pre-dawn smell of bread baking was marvelous and matched the fresh croissants at the relatively simple included breakfast that also offered deli meats, yogurt, juice, cereals, coffee, tea. Parking was 11 euros per day at an underground garage nearby, one of our lesser parking expenses.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2005

We stayed here one night while driving through Tuscany. The hotel's location is very good, close to a large public pay parking lot and very central. The town itself is small and empties out entirely after 9pm (at least in late October), so it's very quiet no matter where you stay.

The room we had was unremarkable, in drab brown 1980's decor, but comfortable enough. At just 69 euros a night (we declined breakfast, and ate at a nice patisserie/gelaterie next door instead) it was the cheapest hotel on our 3-week trip.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffp94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 24 in Volterra
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#9 of 24 in Volterra
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel S.Elisa
Hotel S.Elisa
#17 of 24 in Volterra
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Nazionale

Property: Albergo Nazionale
Address: Via Dei Marchesi 11, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nazionale is situated in an antique palace since 1890. Thanks to our great central position, you can visit wonderful Volterra easily on foot. We offer 38 rooms all of them with private bathroom with all necessary amenities, a telephone and a TV. . Spend an original and pleasant stay in one of our rooms. All the rooms are provided with the free Wi-Fi internet access.A lovely Restaurant can be found inside. Here, you can enjoy great Tuscan cuisine prepared with nothing but the freshest and most genuine ingredients , combined with an excellent wine selection. The restaurant is made up of an ample dining room that can host up to 110 people, making it particularly adaptable for weddings, ceremonies, official work or group dinners.If You're travelling by bike, You can store it inside the Hotel. If You're travelling by bus,We stand 50 meters in front of the main bus stop. If You arrive by motorcycle, You can park in public places outside the building.To reach easly the Hotel by car, follow Viale dei Ponti untill You reach Piazza Martiri della Liberta and enter this adress in Your sat nav system. You can park Your car in the close secure public garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Albergo Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Nazionale Volterra
Albergo Nazionale Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing