We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, at a low price.”
Review of Albergo Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Nazionale
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, at a low price.”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Overall a very well priced hotel with panoramic views, from the balcony, of the Tuscan hills. Staff were pleasant, the lady who checked us out was very helpful, although the man who checked us in didn't explain very much (wifi, breakfast, and taking of passports). The rooms were nice but a little dated, and the double bed was actually two singles pushed together which became quite irritating. However overall a good experience and we would definitely come back. We would also recommend 'Don Beta' restaurant which is just round the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Reeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    59
    44
    26
See reviews for
31
79
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Went with my husband as part of a walking group and really loved the town,interesting,historic but lively. The Albergo Nazionale is perfectly placed very central and convenient for the restaurants,bars ,museums churches and the bus station. A short walk from the hotel entrance is a wonderful viewing area and I would recommend going out at sunset.

Our room was fine and it was clean with new towels every day. The woman on reception is charming and friendly.

With a few changes this could be a delightful hotel. I would suggest that there is a bowl of fresh fruit on the breakfast buffet and that the coffee is hot. Likewise the chips for supper.

Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: One at the back would ensure absolute peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is in a brilliant position to explore beautiful Volterra....... however, having spent three nights in the Nazionale, we dont expect to return there again. Had an amazing view of the valley from the balcony which was so spectacular but very noisy as it overlooks a bar. The room was so hot - no air conditioning and in temperatures of plus 30 degrees no fan in the room - unbearable! The bathroom is tiny. Staff not very friendly. Breakfast only one choice of cereal and left over cake from previous days. So much could be done to improve this hotel.
Volterra - FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casagrande12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is in a great position in the centre of Volterra.

The hotel is historic and very grand, even if it could maybe be upgraded slightly. It is very comfortable but was extremely hot when we stayed. A fan on the ceiling would be a welcome addition to the rooms.

We will come back again though because of location.

Please note there is no parking with this hotel, some booking sites say it does. There is a public car park just near by, 11 euros for 24 hours.

Room Tip: The central location means rooms are a little noisy, but you cannot have everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cencible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights as part of a group walking holiday. The location is fantastic. Near where coaches/buses have to stop, and right in the centre of things. Good for exploring, then taking back shopping, having a quick break and then back out again. There are things to see and do all day and evening in Volterra.
The lady on reception in the mornings was really helpful and friendly.
The room was clean and tidy. It was on the fourth floor, so I had a view over the nearby rooftops. Bathroom was small but functional with plenty of room for toiletries. I slept well and found the room quiet (it overlooked a small walkway at the back of the hotel).
However, the food really lets is down. Breakfast is ok, but if I went again, I'd pay for room only and eat breakfast in local bars/cafes. Dinner is a real disappointment. As this was a group holiday, there was a set menu for the group. One day we had pasta we were assured was spinach and ricotta ravioli. The filling was brown and nothing like the spinach and ricotta ravioli we did have a couple of days later. The rest of the group concluded it was mushrooms, which I cannot eat, and which the hotel had been advised of prior to travelling. So I left it. Another evening, I didn't eat dinner, and didn't feel I'd missed out. I didn't finish a single course in 5 days. People with special dietary requirements really struggled to find something to eat, even though advance notice had been given. It seemed to be a surprise each evening when one guest refused the pasta because of a previously advised wheat intolerance. They were also offered tinned fruit salad on quite a few occasions as they were unable to eat cake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a chance of a good view, or a room at the front (probably noisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn Heights
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in May 2012. We paid a little more for the view, which was well worth it as it gave the full effect of the town and the valley below. Parking was easy, if you were willing to pay. Hotel staff were available (if inattentive) and fine (high maintenance guests should probably go upscale for better service). The bathrooms were small but serviceable. Generally, the place was worn and you can see the remnants of a nicer hotel (it certainly could stand to upgrade the bedding). There was a little noise, and the low price (I think that we paid euro 78 cash) likely attracted some younger, louder guests. The key point here, however, is location. The hotel is perfectly situated to explore one of the best Tuscan hilltowns. The town is made for exploring dawn, day, and night -- and walking out of the front door puts you right there. It was difficult to get too far from the hotel in case we wanted to run to the restroom (always a challenge in Italy) or grab or unload something. We skipped breakfast at the hotel for a little cafe around the corner, ate a lunch of a couple slices of pizza perched on a bench in the piazza by town hall a couple blocks away. Every time that I walked out the hotel door, I felt right in the middle of things, which I what I wanted. I am sure that several places down the mountain were nicer, but we got what we wanted out of Albergo Nazionale for a single night at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheyeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Nazionale is very conveniently located in an old palace, at the entrance of the city walls of Volterra, two steps away from the bus terminal and the Piazza dei Priori.
I was pleasantly surprised by the amiability of the staff: I wrote them to confirm my reservation and asked for a room with balcony (I am a smoker) and for an early check-in, and I got a positive answer on both in only a couple of hours.
I had room 310, at the 3rd floor (with elevator), the only floor were rooms had balconies. The view was magnificent; I could see from my balcony both the Palazzo dei Priori and the entire valley (Volterra is on top of a hill). The room was a spacious double that I had in single occupancy for 1 night, October 17/18, for 50 eur. Personnel was always nice, breakfast was standard continental.
I think the hotel was very nice, I recommend it to fellow travellers and I will go back for sure if visiting Volterra again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alia_Aliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio G, Proprietario at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank You so much for Your positive comment. My staff and me hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camere Renzi
Camere Renzi
#13 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.7 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#9 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Nazionale

Property: Albergo Nazionale
Address: Via Dei Marchesi 11, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nazionale is situated in an antique palace since 1890. Thanks to our great central position, you can visit wonderful Volterra easily on foot. We offer 38 rooms all of them with private bathroom with all necessary amenities, a telephone and a TV. . Spend an original and pleasant stay in one of our rooms. All the rooms are provided with the free Wi-Fi internet access.A lovely Restaurant can be found inside. Here, you can enjoy great Tuscan cuisine prepared with nothing but the freshest and most genuine ingredients , combined with an excellent wine selection. The restaurant is made up of an ample dining room that can host up to 110 people, making it particularly adaptable for weddings, ceremonies, official work or group dinners.If You're travelling by bike, You can store it inside the Hotel. If You're travelling by bus,We stand 50 meters in front of the main bus stop. If You arrive by motorcycle, You can park in public places outside the building.To reach easly the Hotel by car, follow Viale dei Ponti untill You reach Piazza Martiri della Liberta and enter this adress in Your sat nav system. You can park Your car in the close secure public garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Albergo Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Nazionale Volterra
Albergo Nazionale Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing