We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect hotel in a wonderfull location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Nazionale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo Nazionale
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a wonderfull location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Following a 3hr delay and mammoth ques at the airport to collect our car we half expected a closed up hotel on our arrival in volterra at 12.30am. The hotel staff new we where arriving a kept the doors open and welcomed us, even though usually they closed up at midnite. The hotels location was 2mins from a secure underground carpark priced at 11euros per 24hrs. The room we had was very spacious and cleaned everyday, new towels etc. a lovely balcony view out over Tuscany, we really couldn't ask for more . Breakfast was a Buffett self service continental style, perfectly adequate but nothing over the top. We only ate in the hotel on the last night but a three course dinner for around 15 euros was good value. Staff helped us with wine coolers in the room, tea and coffee cups in the room also. The limited English speaking staff didn't hinder us it just made us work harder to speak Italian, we loved it. Would I stay hear again ...a big Yes! Would I recommend it? Yes again. Trip advisor helped us choose so I hope my review helped you make the right decision.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlnazionale, Manager at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank You for Your positive review. Review like yours give us the charge to go forward and improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    50
    40
    25
See reviews for
29
67
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Note that no room's have AC, no way you can sleep in 37'C degrees. Extremely bad service, the whole hotel gave us bad feeling! We left after one hour. I would recommend another hotel! I hope that the hotel really chape up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asbjørn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Volterra hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and appears quite nice from the hotel lobby. If you receive one of the two front facing rooms they are not bad as you have air flow however the rest have one window facing a back alley that has sewage smell constantly throughout the day. The rooms get very hot and have nothing other than a bed.

I would not stay here again despite its great location. There are many other places nearby that offer this convenience without the bad service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zerep08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed on 3rd floor with deck overlooking plaza and had a great stay. Parking garage was close by and made our visit very easy to access. Large older room was dated but clean and comfortable . Very reasonable price for location

Room Tip: Choose upper rooms to get plaza view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noscire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlnazionale, Manager at Albergo Nazionale, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank You for your positive review. We agree that our rooms with balcony have a great view over the city and the surrondindgs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I've read the other reviews. We stayed here as a stop in a bike tour of Tuscany. It's easy to find. Check in was friendly. Room was on floor 3 (fourth floor) with one small 2 person elevator to serve hotel. We expected old...that's part of the charm, but room (309) was small, supposed to be a double but all floor space was occupied by 3 slightly smaller than twin beds. Bathroom small and dirty, no place to recharge phone. Breakfast OK, but not stunning. I would definitely look elsewhere, will certainly never go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Room was huge and clean with a nice view on two balconies. Large bathroom as well. Nice amenities. Style a bit outdated but we did not care.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktlnhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Title says it all... we were quite satisfied with the hotel. It was reasonably priced, the staff looked after us well, the beds were good etc.

Only issue is that the location is noisy till quite late at night and again first thing in the morning, so for a hotel without air conditioning (so you can't close the windows in warmer weather) it disturbed light sleepers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Keogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camere Renzi
Camere Renzi
#14 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#8 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#9 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Nazionale

Property: Albergo Nazionale
Address: Via Dei Marchesi 11, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nazionale is situated in an antique palace since 1890. Thanks to our great central position, you can visit wonderful Volterra easily on foot. We offer 38 rooms all of them with private bathroom with all necessary amenities, a telephone and a TV. . Spend an original and pleasant stay in one of our rooms. All the rooms are provided with the free Wi-Fi internet access.A lovely Restaurant can be found inside. Here, you can enjoy great Tuscan cuisine prepared with nothing but the freshest and most genuine ingredients , combined with an excellent wine selection. The restaurant is made up of an ample dining room that can host up to 110 people, making it particularly adaptable for weddings, ceremonies, official work or group dinners.If You're travelling by bike, You can store it inside the Hotel. If You're travelling by bus,We stand 50 meters in front of the main bus stop. If You arrive by motorcycle, You can park in public places outside the building.To reach easly the Hotel by car, follow Viale dei Ponti untill You reach Piazza Martiri della Liberta and enter this adress in Your sat nav system. You can park Your car in the close secure public garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Nazionale Volterra
Albergo Nazionale Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing