We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”
Review of San Lino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Lino
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Seemed to be the best place in Volterra. The first room we were put in was very small and on the street side so noisy. We asked for another room and were given a much larger room looking over the pool - very quiet. Front desk staff were always very helpful. Tasteful. Volterra is a wonderful, historical town.

Room Tip: ask for a nicer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHADallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 440 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

Volterra is a great little town. This is a very nice place. The highlights: wonderful staff, good breakfast spread, clean room, nice pool (although we didn't use it). If I find myself in volterra again, I would stay here again. One thing I would do...request a room off the street. we overlooked the street...and at night it was peaceful and quiet...but once the day gets going, it can be a little noisy. not really a problem for us, as we were up...but something to be aware of.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomaskash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed here in July - room was small (single) but clean and comfortable. Perfect for a single traveller who spent about 36 hours in Volterra, which is a lovely and unusual Tuscan town. The hotel has a map with a tour, which takes you by all the important sites in Volterra.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Our stay at San Lino was disappointing. Yes, it was quiet and in a great location, but behind the beautiful facade, its history as a former convent was non-apparent. The inside has been ripped out to form a modern hotel, but certainly not of four-star quality. Everything was down at heel: artificial flowers; cramped and ill-designed shower room (no baths available, only fixed-head shower; the loo so near the shower that you had to sit sideways!); our room (so-called superior), apart from the rock-hard, big bed, had nothing to recommend it - shabby furniture, plastic door-handle; the breakfast very poor - processed ham and cheese and no choice of cereal, no fresh fruit. Altoghether needs a make-over - far too pricey for what you get. Would definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We arrived at Volterra in the evening, not having a reservation, and tried many hotels in the area, but no one was satisfactory (either bad smell, not worth the high room rate, or faraway location). San Lino was the best choice, with very clean rooms, friendly receptionist and great location. We were the only clients in all the hotel and payed 90 eur for a double and had free parking. Room was very quiet, we woke up in the pleasant birds' song. Covered parking next door, which is a great asset for Volterra, but 11 eur/night normaly.
The only remark is that this should not be rated as a 4 stars hotel, in my opinion. The shower cabine door was broken, the floor was tiled like in cheap hotels, the heating wasn't working (and it was cold, even for April), the TV wasn't working, the bathroom had an outworn general look.
I think if you stay longer in Volterra you should check the agroturism villas, which are many around the town. We saw one and was great, but they only rent for the week (at least not only one night).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreeaVillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The hotel is located just inside the town walls and has garage parking (11EU/night). It is an easy walk to all the main sites in Volterra (which is a beautiful Tuscan hilltop town). Unusually it has a swimming pool, though not huge, there is plenty of deck space and sun loungers, with towels available from reception. Breakfast is standard Italian fare. It has Wi-Fi at 5eu for as long as you want. Though they don't serve dinner there are numerous places within 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckdenbursar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This hotel is located at the bottom of this beautiful, quaint village. The parking lot is conveniently located right next door. The hotel staff is friendly and attentive and offered a great suggestion for our evening meal. The pool is quiet and crisply cool with great sun exposure. You will not be disappointed - especially for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
211 reviews
5.7 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lino

Address: Via San Lino 26, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: $98 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lino 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lino is a 4 - stars Hotel set within the medieval walls of Volterra, only a 5-minute walk from the central Piazza dei Priori. It offers a fresh garden with outdoor swimming pool and panoramic sun terrace. Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel, even if it's not easy to realize a wiFi connection in a structure created in the 14th century.All rooms come with an en suite bathroom, satellite TV, and a minibar. Some feature a rustic Tuscan style, with wooden furniture and terracotta floors.San Lino Hotel is also a 5-minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre. A garage is available on site.In the morning, a various continental breakfast buffet's waiting for our guests, during the summer months, it's even possibile to get the breakfast outside in our courtyard. The Restaurant "I Papi" offers you a light lunch and a special evening service with traditional specialities and also selected fish preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your San Lino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lino Volterra
San Lino Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing