We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place”
Review of Borgo Pignano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borgo Pignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

There is no need to give a detailed description of Borgo Pignano, you simply must visit! Hosts and all staff are wonderful, very international,fluent english is spoken. The setting is breathtaking with beautiful views, especially from the incredible infinity pool. The charming rooms are tastefully decorated- all in all the whole atmosphere is very welcoming! In summer our absolute favorite thing to do is to attend "Pizza Night" on tuesdays, an experience not to be missed!!
Special greetings to Camilla and her wonderful gang - we'll be back this summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Tina we are very touched by your warmth. We can't wait to see all again! Much love specially to the kids!
Camilla and the Pignano Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at La Fonte Villa, a beautiful converted farmhouse at Borgo Pignano. . Overlooking a beautiful lake and surrounded by rolling hills, La Fonte is the perfect place for a peaceful, relaxing week of reading and walking in the Tuscan countryside. It's also well located for day trips to Florence, Pisa, San Giminiano and Volterra.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancisTrotter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

It was so nice to having you all here!! Thank you so much for your warm words, we hope to be seeing you soon again and wish you all a great spring!
The Pignano Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a very memorable stay at Borgo Pignano. The site is stunning, surrounded by idyllic foothills and woods, and we enjoyed some perfect pre-dinner sunsets from the terrace. All the food was fresh, tasty and beautifully prepared - the salads were particularly fine - and the service and hospitality were impeccable. Add to this the proximity of Volterra, Siena and Florence, and you have the perfect Tuscan holiday experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ablades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words and we look to welcoming you again at Borgo Pignano.
The Pignano Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our stay in Borgo Pignano was one not to forget. The site is stunningly beautiful, yet close to Volterra, Siena and Florence, the food was the among the best Italian I've ever had, and the staff was so lovely and helpful. One is truly cared. Going there is being at home and being away at the same time. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixiehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you for your warm words and we look forward making you just as happy the next time you come.
The Pignano Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

What an idyllic place. Beautiful, tranquil location, delicious food and brilliant service. Nothing was too much trouble for the villa staff, whose informal kindness made it feel like a home rather than a hotel. All the food was local, and despite eating far too much, we felt really nourished and healthy after our stay. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Abigail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dearest Abigail,

They say "home is where the heart is" so this must have become your Tuscan home and we are so happy and honored to have you as a 'Pignano family member'!
We can't wait to see you again with your great children or\with you fantastic students. Please give them all our regards and thank them for the beautiful cards they left for us.
Love from all of the Pignano gang to all of you,

Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

There is not other place just like Borgo Pignano! One big family of knowledgeable (but never pretentious) and passionate people who simply love and respect life! Being there makes you appreciate this, and being in the most amazing piece of Tuscany I can simply say it's my own piece of Heaven on Earth! Please do not ever change any bit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo_Pignano, Direttore at Borgo Pignano, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you Valeria for such warm words. You all have become part of our 'Borgo Pignano family' and we look forward seeing you soon. In the meantime we will try our best not to change, in fact we will try and become Red's Cloud poem:
"I am Earth.
My eyes are the sky,
my limbs are the trees,
I am the rock,
the depth of water,
I'm not here to dominate Nature,
I am Nature."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This place is absolutely magical. Settled in the beautiful rolling hills of Tuscany, it is an absolute escape from the every day world. An old rustic feel complimented by the most sincere service you will ever encounter. The food that chef Anthony Burd creates is all locally grown and produced and couldn't be more delicious! The most amazing trip of my life and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volterra
8.6 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
14.7 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
658 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
211 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
327 reviews
6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Pignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Pignano

Address: Localita Pignano 6, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Volterra
Price Range: $298 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Borgo Pignano 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Pignano is a charming private Tuscan estate on 750 acres of secluded and unspoiled fields, hills, woods and gardens near Volterra and San Gimignano, in the province if Pisa, between Florence and Siena. Pignano’s main building is an eighteenth century villa, surrounded by English gardens, with pristine landscapes that are unchanged from Renaissance times. To the west, a series of hills unfolds towards the sea; to the east, woods and gardens are alive with the song of birds. There are 14 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, some with their original frescos and all with white marble or travertine bathrooms and spectacular views. An elevator serves every floor save the cellar. There are generous public rooms and dining areas and WI-FI is available throughout the villa. On top of the Villa, it is always possible to lodge at the Podere La Fonte, Casa del Lago, the Artists’ house or to rent one of the Borgo’s apartments. The public rooms of the villa include a two-storey ballroom with a terrazzo floor and a balcony; a large library with a fireplace flanked by comfortable sofas; a music room with an antique Bechstein grand; a banquet room in a two hundred year old kitchen, a smaller dining room, a television room, a billiards room, a children’s activity room, a small gym, and a yoga and meditation room. The infinity swimming pool was carved from a limestone quarry on the slope of a hill directly beneath the villa. There is an adjacent outdoor bar and an outdoor shower. Borgo Pignano’s chefs prepare three healthy, authentic Tuscan meals every day, using the freshest local and organic ingredients, which vary by season. Bread, croissants, pizza, and biscotti are baked in our wood- burning oven. Vegetables, oil, grains, honey, and fruit come directly from the property, or from neighboring organic and biodynamic farms. We pay particular attention to the special dietary needs of our guests for vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, or anti-allergenic menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo Pignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing