We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Meal in Italy”
Review of Trattoria Bada Ganzo - CLOSED

Trattoria Bada Ganzo
Cuisines: Southwestern, Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Pickering
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Favourite Meal in Italy”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We also wandered across this restaurant as we entered Volterra. Saw it, noted it, and came back before we left. As Canadians, we don't eat when Italians eat so we were the only ones there at 4 PM but the food was fantastic. My wife's favourite meal of our 2 weeks in Italy. She had the ravioli with truffle sauce. Amazing. All the other meals were fantastic as well. I must agree with another review in that the service was a little slow as we waited quite a while for a bill but we were eating not on Italian eating schedule.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    21
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We came across this restaurant while walking around Voltera. We really liked the food at Bada Ganzo's. They had a separate menu that highlighted foods prepared with truffles, which we enjoyed very much. The house wine was more than adequate. Service was not very attentive and we had to ask for the bill several times. But the food was worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefDon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
322 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great choice in Volterra”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Trattoria Bada Ganzo, less than 100 yards away from the main piazza, was a mostly random walk-by choice for lunch. It is a small place, 4 or 5 tables outside, less than a dozen inside. Fantastic menu, appetizers, soups, salads, pastas, main dishes. Of our choices, crostini toscani, consisting of pate and bread served individually, and panna cotta con ciocolatto, served inventively in vial-like cups, were the highlights, but all of our other selections were just perfect. Friendly service, pleasant atmosphere, great choice for a meal in Volterra.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent local food and service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a nice family evening at this restaurant. The food was excellent (local specialities) and we received excellent service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XBrittax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just great !”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Food, service, wine, atmosphere....everything was perfect. If ever in Volterra dont miss this little gem. There is also a terrace to enjoy the view of the medieval streets

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Bada Ganzo also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing