We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food ok, service poor.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Etruria

Ristorante Etruria
Ranked #40 of 88 Restaurants in Volterra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Food ok, service poor.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had lunch at this restaurant.
The food was good - spaghetti vongole (spaghetti with clams)
The still water is not mineral water, but tap water cleaned by a machine - but you still get charged for it.
I ordered a glass of wine and was surprised at the very small size, even more so when every other glass of wine that I saw was up to double the portion. On mentioning this to the staff, my glass was topped up, but it did leave a bad impression.
Service was grudging. I didn't feel welcomed. Despite the restaurant being far from full.
I won't be going back. There are other restaurants with food as good/better and much better service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    77
    56
    40
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shkoder, Albania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bella sorpresa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent, the waiter very friendly among other very kind! The food good good! very nice.I recommend really good place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank otr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ok food, not so much on the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had lunch with the family at this restaurant and the food was nice, the one we go anyway, ordered four pasta and only received three. When they realised their mistake it took them 30 minutes to bring out the fourth and you guessed it, it was cold. The pasta we did have was nice…

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yummy food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

After a distaster attempt at eating at Don Beta (we walked out!) we went to this restaurant. It again always seems busy and is linked to the hotel we are staying at so thought it would be good. It did not disappoint. Because we advised we were guests at their hotel they provided us with a free bottle of red wine with compliments (great starting point!) Due to it being late we decided to just have one main meal (pizzas) and have a sweet (tiramisu and panna cotta) all of which were delicious. The service was a nice change from Don Beta as the staff were very attentive, showed interest in our baby and seemed very on top of serving other guests. We are definitely considering eating there again as the menu has such a variety and I saw a fair few dishes being brought out looking and smelling inviting! Go here for a great meal but because of crowds either eat early or book!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GigglingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere + good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We ate here with a group of friends. The staff were quite happy to split our bills so that each couple in our group of 8 had a separate bill. All the food was very fresh and prepared to order.

The raw meat and fish are all visible on a cold slab by the kitchen so you can see the quality of the ingredients. I had carpaccio which I would only do in a place where I have confidence in the beef - it was very good. The house wine by carafe is better value than a bottle and of a decent quality, as you'd expect in chianti country.

We intended to return to this restaurant the following evening but it was closed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Etruria also viewed

 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Ristorante Etruria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing