We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Villa Sensano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful getaway in a corner of paradise, this is the place.
Having lived in Italy for a number of years, I can honestly say that villa di Sensano is extremely unusual to the extent that it is everything that (unfortunately) you don't usually expect !
The apartments are of a very high standard with high quality finishings and have been furnished with care and attention to detail.
The pool is great and also offers fabulous views of the Tuscan countryside.
In addition, the owners are exceptionally welcoming and friendly and really do make you feel like you are an important guest and not just revenue !
Excellent value for money and quite frankly have no hesitation in recommending this as a fabulous vacation destination.
Complimenti !

Room Tip: No A/C but weather was hot when we were there but we didn't need it and slept wonderfully.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worlds_traveller_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federica C, Proprietario at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you very much for this wonderful words, we have been very happy to have made your holidays special, full of relax and of good quality!

All our guests are like friends that come to visit us, is normally for us, be welcoming with them and take care about everybody.

We Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Relais Villa Sensano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 232 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Take the gps coordinates and let them drive you to the remote Sensano! A nice family will welcome you to this unique place located in restored historical buildings, with a few charming apartments. They are very roomy, well furnished and fully equipped. Outside you can enjoy the front garden, the swimming pool and the private wellness centre... In addition to peace, green, sun, the beside trattoria and go to Volterra and San Gimignano in a few kilometres.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federica C, Proprietario at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

3 "P" that make us very happy to gift so wonderful emotion to our guests and also proud to make this work!

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and it was a great base for exploring Siena and a number of hill towns. The setting is classic Tuscany - rolling hills, vineyards, fields of sunflowers. The villa itself is comfortable but I wouldn't say luxurious. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, cooking facilities are fairly basic. The bed is firm! There are possibly a few changes I would suggest - providing a second pillow, cushions on the couch, free access to the washing machine, provision of coals for the BBQ. Nothing major but would make it feel more welcoming. The pool is lovely and very welcome after a hot Italian summer day. The grounds are well looked after and very relaxing. You definitely need a car to stay at this property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federica C, Proprietario at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us, suggestions are always welcome because they help us do better our work .

On request, we always give extra pillows to our guests, without any problem and our orthopedic mattresses are the latest generation, in fact we often receive many compliments from our guests who appreciate the quality of sleep.
Maybe they seems to be a bit firm, because you are not used to.

Unfortunately we are not able to allow free access to the laundry room ( the first wash is always free) for our guests, because the washing machine is written in Italian, so the presence of one of our employees is always necessary.

Trying to improve more and more our services, we hope to welcome you again at our Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed one week with our two kids (daughter 15 and son 12). The location and infrastructure is perfect! The two women running this place have a great eye for details and are extremely service minded! Great apartment, marvalous pool, and fantastic Osteria around the corner.
A great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streng-Rechtvaardig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federica C, Proprietario at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

What can I say except "thank you" for 100 times?
We are pleased to be able to give holidays so perfect that will remain forever in memories.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from our 5 day stay in Villa Sensano and we are already making plans to go back! We could not have been happier with the villa, the services, or the very helpful members of staff. The grounds are well maintained and very peaceful. The pool is AMAZING! It has great views across the Tuscan landscape. Everything was very clean and well kept. We stayed in the 2+ bedroom apartment, Laurence, and it had everything you would need to make your trip comfortable. The 2 bedrooms were both modern en-suites, and the kitchen and living areas were perfect for gathering for meals and relaxing ... although we did most of this outside by the pools and tables that are through the grounds. The restaurant next to the villa was very well priced and had a good variety of food and drink. We ate here twice and it was busy both nights! On one night we even had a taxi arranged for us to get to San Gi and back from the villa so that all four of us could enjoy a great meal and some local wine on our last night in Tuscany. A car is essential if you want to do some exploring, and is certainly necessary to get to the villa. Can't say enough positive things about our stay! Perfecto!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfrediani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federica C, Proprietario at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for this fantastic review!

We are very happy to read all this beautiful words, we try always to do our best and , when we receive review like yours we understand that quest will remember for ever his holiday!

Good job has been done..
Thank you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This carefully restored house from late eighteenth century is situated highly on one of the characteristic hills of Tuscany. With an astonishing view from the beautiful pool and garden you will find a harmonic place to contemplate over the stressful world you just left. You may also start to wonder why you don't live in a such place. Our apartment "Rosa Tea" was nice, clean and well equipped for a pleasant and memorable stay. Close to the Villa you will find a restaurant with tasty traditional Italian food and attentive staff. Federica and her sister were very gentile and helpful. We highly recommend a visit to Villa Sensano! Erland and AnnaMaria

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I spent one week of holidays in the villa Sensano with my friends. It was wonderful. The villa is situated in the middle of a beautiful landscape, it is very restful. The apartment was very clean, with a geat view. The swimming pool is brilliant! I recommend you this villa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volterra
7.3 mi away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
5.6 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
309 reviews
5.1 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
268 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,237 reviews
13.2 mi away
Relais Guado al Sole
Relais Guado al Sole
#1 of 4 in Pomarance
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Sensano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Sensano

Address: Localita Sensano, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Volterra
Price Range: $110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace in the picturesque hamlet of Borgo di Sensano that is surrounded by woods and olive groves and the majestic silence of the Chianti hill country; Relais Villa Sensano offers charming, beautifully furnished apartments with all up-to-date amenities (TV, Internet). The Relais Villa Sensano is a complex of the eighteenth century, composed by a Villa and a close Resort, everything brilliantly restored, both with a private park where there is a swimming pool. For its guests there is a wonderful wellness area. Villa Sensano is located in the heart of Tuscany and after visiting the region's most famous cities (with their museums, monuments and exclusive stores) or the Chianti country, nothing could be better than a relaxing stay in a beautiful place with every comfort you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Relais Villa Sensano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing