We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the perfect place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Villa Sensano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Villa Sensano
Certificate of Excellence
tel aviv
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

villa Sensano is the perfect place for charging batteries. located about 5 km. into the countryside , in the halfway between Volterra and San Gimimigano. very nice comfortable apartments. in a fantastic compound of buildings. surrounded with a beautiful big garden and a national park.
a very helpful & friendly two sisters are running the place with the help of their dog Jonatan.
a good money value . very very quiet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pogibonsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
95
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

It seems to both my wife and I that, by every measure, Villa Sensano can not be beat. It is THE place to stay in Tuscany. Beginning with their warmth, hospitality, and expert local knowledge, the owner-managers Federica and Lavinia are tops. We felt at home immediately on arrival, and throughout our week's stay. The renovation of this property is truly first class, taking an incredible 3 years to complete. Our apartment was very comfortable, immaculate, and fully functional. The view and landscaping are spectacular, including a large, beautiful pool, and fruit trees that provided us with breakfast every morning. Even our sense of smell was delighted with aromas of rosemary, and blooming flowers. The location of this property is also perfect because it is conveniently located between Volterra, and San Gimigniano, and also close to Siena, Pisa, Lucca, and Florence. And all this at a very reasonable tariff. Look no further -- Villa Sensano is where you want to stay in Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I are not city people and although we enjoyed Florence, we were especially happy to drive out to the Tuscany countryside and to be rewarded with such a lovely stay at Villa Sensano. The 18th century villa has been renovated by a family whose caring ways are seen in every minute detail of the buildings and the grounds. And the care is extended through the gracious hostesses, Federica and Livornia.

My thought about the apartment while enjoying the comfort of the living room, was, "I could live here". The kitchen is fully equipped and we prepared several meals while we were there and it was especially lovely to bring our breakfasts and dinners to the tables outside and enjoy the beautiful property with its many trees and flowering shrubs.
There is a little market in Castel Sangimigniano which is a village about 3 miles before you turn off to Villa Sensano, if you are coming from Florence. It has fresh meats, cheeses and just about everything you need without having to drive to Volterra. It is a little hard to spot so look for the Bar/Restaurant and the store is across the road.
The highlight of our stay at Villa Sensano was our cooking lesson with Federica and the "cooker" Rocco. I now know the secret to perfect basil pesto and pasta carbonara. What fun! It was a generous gesture by Federica and Rocco to take their time to teach my husband and me.

The experience in the spa was so relaxing and made me realize that the Italian lifestyle of not living to work (I think they live to eat) is one that we could easily adapt to.

We traveled to Volterra where we visited two alabaster workshops and the alabaster museum. To watch the masters of alabaster sculpture was extraordinary. Then a visit to Colle di Val ol Elsa, where 95% of the Italian crystal is made. (We missed the festival by one day). My favorite was Casole d' Elsa, a quiet and oh so quaint village. (How many photos of windows with flower boxes does one need?)Then as we drove back to Florence after our 6th day, we stopped in San Gimigniano. It, along with Volterra are very popular and to guarantee a parking spot arrival in the morning is best.
The markets in San G are glorious. Cheeses, wines, delicious meats all presented with such inviting design and if you pass through there in the morning, it would be a great place to get your groceries for your stay at Villa Sensano.

Now back at work, I just let my mind carry me back to those exquisite days at Villa Sensano and I can only smile with the memories of a most delightful vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosa Rossa suite. All of the apartments are lovely and the view from this one is pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonHappyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My family and 1 (Mother, Father, Girl 6, Girl 4) stayed in Villa di Sensano for almost a week at the end of August 2012. We had spent a week at another location, which we had enjoyed enormously, and so were a little concerned that the second week would not be as excellent.... We had no need to worry, as Frederica and her sister (as well as a small terrier!) made us very welcome, and the accommodation is impossible to fault.
The building was an old villa which has been totally renovated, and to very exacting standards. All modern conveniences are in place, including a wi-fi connection specific to each apartment which actually worked, contrary to many other hotels supposedly offering this convenience.
We are not really 'Spa' people, so did not avail of any of the offerings in that regard, so cannot comment on those facilities.
The surrounding countryside is typical Tuscany, rolling hills, covered with productive fields and treelined roads, to our eyes very lovely. From Villa di Sensano we travelled to Florence, San Gimignano, Volterra and some other more lesser famous towns. There is a restaurant in a nearby building (not owned or controlled by the villa) which does a good job for an evening meal, i enjoyed a seafood platter starter which was really very good.
I would have no reservation recommending Villa di Sensano, as I know that anyone would have to enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capranera, Direttore at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Trying to give our best is our prerogative and we understand that we are doing the right job when we get reviews like this .

Thank you so much for these beautiful words, Villa Sensano is proud to have made ​​your holiday wonderful and we really hope to see you soon in the future.

All the best,
Federica Cipriani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were in a Villa Sensano for five nights, as part of a star-trip that we did on our honeymoon.
As we arrived, Federica and Lavinia welcomed us with a warm welcome, when we looked around we found ourselves in an amazing place with a "manicured" gardens, a beautiful pool and breathtaking views.
We stay at the Rose Rosa, a stunning room which has a small living room and a fully equipped kitchen, a shower room and a bedroom with amazing view. the Rooms are quiet and every guest has his own corner. In addition there is a large room open to visitors where there is a large seating place with a computer with Internet to plan your trip the next day.

Although some people will think that it is not comfortable location, we went to various far and near locations on every morning and returned on the late afternoon.
its took us:
25 minutes to San Gimignano, 20 min Volterra, less than two hours to Pisa and Lucca, Siena less than an hour, two hours and a half to La Spezia (Cinque Terra).

So, for a couple celebrating their honeymoon in Tuscany is definitely the place.
We are really pleased we chose the place.

Thank you girls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capranera, Direttore at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are very happy to have made ​​your honeymoon more romantic and sweet,
the thing that makes us happy is that this experience will be a lasting memory for you and Villa Sensano will always be in your hearts.

Thanks for giving us your trust and see you soon!

Federica Cipriani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent location
Figs apples herbs and grapes around the beautifull pool
Welcoming host
Lovely spacious rooms
Great value for money!
We have stayed in many luxury places in Tuscany - this is our favorite

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alboher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capranera, Direttore at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
It 's really gratifying to have such positive reviews that encourage us to do even better.
We are pleased that our guests appreciate the products of our orchard (in Tuscan "Pomaio") cherries and apricots from the spring, figs and grapes from the autumn.

thank you again..

Federica Cipriani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

After 10 days of airplanes, busy cities (Paris, Rome, Florence) we wisely scheduled this somewhat remote stay. What a place! So we spent 2 or 3 hours trying to find it (my fault for not being a ready-traveler with accurate map in hand), but once we made it we realized we were in the perfect place to digest our wonderfully busy trip thus far. You can be quite alone here, amongst a few Villa patrons, feeling entirely at home. Federica and Lavinia gave us the run-down on the property and gave us the keys to what we felt was our own little hamlet. All was clean in the apartment. Well stocked kitchen (mainly just the utensils... You get the food), comfortable beds and generous bath. Volterra and San Gimignano are a close (15 min.) drive to go get supplies or just eat an excellent meal away. I would recommend eating at the "attached" restaurant for a dinner if they are open. We were not disappointed. And for breakfast, be sure to see Anna for the best capuccino and some fresh local fruit and pastries. She will charm you and you must buy some of her local olive oil.
This is an area competing for tourism and Villa Relais Sensano has it down. An amazing large salt water pool is a must-dip. Terrific vistas from this property. Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericlacom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capranera, Direttore at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are extremely pleased to read how much joy and passion our guests feel while staying at our Villa, and we try to do our best to make them happy!
Glad to see, that we have given you this piece of paradise even for few days, it was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you soon!

Federica Cipriani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volterra
4.1 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
14.1 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
5.5 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#10 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fattoria Lischeto
Fattoria Lischeto
#7 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
13.4 mi away
Relais Guado al Sole
Relais Guado al Sole
#1 of 4 in Pomarance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Sensano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Sensano

Property: Relais Villa Sensano
Address: Localita Sensano 13, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace in the picturesque hamlet of Borgo di Sensano that is surrounded by woods and olive groves and the majestic silence of the Chianti hill country; Relais Villa Sensano offers charming, beautifully furnished apartments with all up-to-date amenities (TV, Internet). The Relais Villa Sensano is a complex of the eighteenth century, composed by a Villa and a close Resort, everything brilliantly restored, both with a private park where there is a swimming pool. For its guests there is a wonderful wellness area. Villa Sensano is located in the heart of Tuscany and after visiting the region's most famous cities (with their museums, monuments and exclusive stores) or the Chianti country, nothing could be better than a relaxing stay in a beautiful place with every comfort you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais Villa Sensano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing