We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, amazing hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Villa Sensano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing stay, amazing hospitality!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Villa Sensano is run by two very hospitable sisters, Federica and Lavinia, and the property is set in stunning surrounds with views that seem to go on forever.

The location of the villa feels "off the beaten track" but day trips are in easy reach which makes it a really great place to base yourself for exploring Tuscany. You will need a car and a GPS to find it, but the girls are very good at supplying details for everything before you arrive.

The villa itself is lovely and attention to detail is apparent throughout the property. We were in the Rosa Lilla apartment - a sizable apartment for two with a kitchen/diner and separate bedroom and bathroom.

The kitchen has full facilities so a great way to make use of all the lovely local produce. There was even some local olive oil from the family farm for us to sample - and the girls sent us away with a small bottle too!

If you dont fancy cooking, surprisingly there is a small basic trattoria just a minute walk away. But if you do, the garden is set up with several tables and a gazebo, just perfect for sundowners and dinner outside on a warm evening. There are also two pools, but the weather was too cold for us to swim.

We couldnt have hoped for a better stay at Villa Sensano - we didn't want to leave and certainly hope to visit again! Thank you very much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liseylou018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    32
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
99
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were very lucky to stay in the Villa Sensano during our first time in Tuscany. It definitely topped our expectations! The rooms are perfect: very clean, great mattresses, enough and good equipment in the kitchen and comfortably furnished rooms. The garden and pool are wonderful and with a view to the great tuscan landscape - perfect for a quiet an relaxing holiday ! The Villa Sensano is not far away from Volterra an San Gimignano - both towns which are great to explore.
We were very friendly welcomed and very well looked after during our stay. Thank you so much! We will come again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KurtPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuldiga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just a great place. Our family loved the hotel, although more will call it home. Because she really do not resemble the classic hotel, but the rural apartments.
Everything was clean, fresh and new. Manager responsive and recommended the best sights for which we had not imagined.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baiba I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We were very happy to have kept you discover an unknown Tuscany, always beautiful and fascinating.
We always try to suggest places special and magic but here the thing is too easy!

Hope to see you in the future!

Federica Cipriani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochecorbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed a week at Villa Sensano at the end of May, my wife and me to explore Tuscany. Our stay was truly pleasant in a comfortable and tastefully decorated apartment, with hostesses especially welcoming and helpful, a beautiful landscape in a main house having a lot of character (restored building from the 17th century) only 15 km away from wonderful San Gimignano. We were able to go easily to Siena, Florence and the country of Chianti (less than one hour away), and to discover less known wonderful spots in San Gimignano, Volterra, Lari...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Besnard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2011

A wonderful relaxing week was spent by us. We particularly enjoyed the spa & chair massage and the ambience in the Wellness Centre. Our apartment was excellent, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Wi-Fi available was a bonus. The downside was its location to shop for food being 17 kms to Volterra, around winding roads. We needed to self-cater for special dietary needs. The restaurant on site, with an excellent menu was not always open. However at this location we could drive and visit many of the beautiful Tuscan towns through magnificent scenery. Our hostesses Federica and Lavinia were especially welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in Rosa Tea Apartment, because of being on ground floor. It was ideal for senior ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racher1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capranera, Direttore at Relais Villa Sensano, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Eve and Michael ,
thanks for all the positive comments that you have written, we have been very happy to have made ​​enjoyable your holiday and to have known you.

I'm so sorry for the problem of children in the apartment above you, if I had known,kindly I would have told to the other guests to don't do to much noise.

We hope to see you again so soon, Villa Sensano and Wellness area await you!

Hugs from Tuscany,
Federica,Villa Sensano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We have been at Villa Sensano at the beginning of November, first days with a lot of friends (8 adults and 4 little children) and then my family alone (2 adults and 2 children of 4 and 1 year old), and the Villa has always comply with all our needs and expectations. The whole Villa is great for sharing time with friends and, as appartments have their own bathroom and kitchen, they also provide privacy and independence whenever it is needed.
Owners and extremely friendly and always willing to help, and location cannot be better: on a hill from which you can see charming Volterra, and only 15 km away from wonderful San Gimignano.

Room Tip: Whatever room you rent, is simply perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We decided to stay at Villa Sensano during our honeymoon in Tuscany and we spent there one week to explore Tuscany. Our stay was truly memorable: the landscape is beautiful, and can be enjoyed from the outdoor pool, the main house has a lot of character (restored building from the 17th century), and (last but not least!) the staff was extremely friendly. We were able to go easily to Florence and Siena (less than one hour away), and to discover less known wonderful spots in San Gimignano and Volterra. We would love to go back, but even if we can't we shall keep a lot of amazing memories from our stay at Villa Sensano...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiefroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volterra
3.8 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
557 reviews
5.1 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
472 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
235 reviews
13.2 mi away
Relais Guado al Sole
Relais Guado al Sole
#1 of 4 in Pomarance
74 reviews
21.2 mi away
Tenuta di Monaciano
Tenuta di Monaciano
#7 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Sensano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Sensano

Property: Relais Villa Sensano
Address: Localita Sensano, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace in the picturesque hamlet of Borgo di Sensano that is surrounded by woods and olive groves and the majestic silence of the Chianti hill country; Relais Villa Sensano offers charming, beautifully furnished apartments with all up-to-date amenities (TV, Internet). The Relais Villa Sensano is a complex of the eighteenth century, composed by a Villa and a close Resort, everything brilliantly restored, both with a private park where there is a swimming pool. For its guests there is a wonderful wellness area. Villa Sensano is located in the heart of Tuscany and after visiting the region's most famous cities (with their museums, monuments and exclusive stores) or the Chianti country, nothing could be better than a relaxing stay in a beautiful place with every comfort you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Relais Villa Sensano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing