We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Veggie's Dream”
Review of Organic Bistrot Dioniso - CLOSED

Organic Bistrot Dioniso
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome in DIONISO, a special restaurant with many particularities. Explore the ancient rooms, walking between etruscans and medieval riuns. Discover kitchen and tasting our organic and local products. DIONISO is a true testimonial of our origins and strong thinked foraward for the future.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Veggie's Dream”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It was so good to find an organic and vegetarian resturant in Italy. Being a Veggie and almost Vegan (no fish or eggs) it can be a little awkward sometimes ensuring what you order is handled as you would like and knowing the whole place is veggie was reassuring. My Meat eating husband managed OK as they had a good selection of Pizzas, salads. Great location, and when you sit outside you have an amazing view down the steep medieval street. Ensure you have cash on you because they don't accept Cards, Cash Only! This did catch a few people out a number of times when we were there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J0anne_L0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    49
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't overlook the vegan muffins”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed just outside Volterra for a week and ate in a dozen places in a fifty mile radius ..... This one is by far the best. So much so we ate here three times. My only mistake was overlooking the vegan coconut muffin until our last meal...... Superb !
First meal was spaghetti pomodoro with lemon, I have eaten this meal on numerous occasions but never as good as this. Also the tagliatelle with vegetables. The house Chianti Classico was also excellent. Just wished we lived closer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate twice in this restaurant. The ourdoor seating is very nice. The floor of the restaurant is all glass. So, one can see the old granary under the floor.

The food is quite good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vijaysatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Idaho
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really excellent vegan dishes”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We passed by the restaurant during a walking tour of Volterra, then circled back after the tour was over for lunch. It was a beautiful day so we took advantage of the outside seating. I eat vegan and selected the lentil falafel which was so good my mouth is watering thinking about them! They were crispy, crunchy and very flavorful with some salad and a vegan dressing. My brother had the vegan pizza which he said was delicious while the others in our party who are not vegan had pizzas. They all thought the pizzas were very good in spite of the fact that they were not eating something with meat. I ended the meal with the vegan coconut muffin/cupcake which was moist, flavorful and wonderful. The server was excellent, and able to understand our broken Italian. I would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Tasty Organic Food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident- note, most of the restaurants in Volterra are closed from 2.30 and wont serve you if you turn up around 2 ish. By luck, Dioniso stays open- which meant we had time to savour really excellent organic food and see the thunder and lightening at the same time. It is a lovely place to eat- the food is fresh and whilst the portions are not large- they are filling.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Organic Bistrot Dioniso also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing