We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great hostess!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Primavera

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volterra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Primavera
Save
You added La Primavera to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 26 Volterra B&B and Inns
Raanana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great hostess!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are beautiful, large, and very clean, Sylvia the owner was very helpful, breakfast was plenty and good. The location (walking distance from the old town) is great, and also the free off-street parking was a bonus. One negative thing - the wifi doesn't work in the rooms, barely works in the lounge, and works fine outside in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Viola and Campanula rooms are both large, with lots of light and windows, and lovely furniture. Camp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latte_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    27
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
96
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Volterra. Good location just outside the city walls, with parking. Our room was big, but we found it a bit odd that it did not have any windows (neither did the bathroom). Upon closing the door, the room was probably the darkest we've ever slept in, so make sure you bring your alarm clock! It was still comfortable though as it was not hot in September, but in summer it might be different. The breakfast was a bonus for us, so no complaints there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights in September, having chosen this place based on the reviews. It is a great location, just outside the walls of Volterra but with its own parking. We had a lovely big room with plenty of space, there is a garden to sit in if it is warm,and the breakfasts are good too. Silvia is really kind and helpful and gave us great recommendations for restaurants. In fact La Vecchia Lira was so good that we went back on the second night. Volterra is a charming town and this is the perfect base for a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLS953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I visited Volterra for 3 days in Sept 2012. I selected La Primavera based on reviews in trip adviser. I was not disapointed. It is a very nice B&B. The hostess, Silvia is great. When i first arrived in Volterra, i had trouble locating the residence. I called Silvia and she was fantastic in assissting me. My room was spotless. Silvia obviously takes great pride in her establishment and it shows.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lots of positive comments about this B&B, great location just outside the walls of the town of Volterra, free parking, spacious clean rooms and en-suite bathrooms (4 in total), comfortable beds (perhaps two pillows per person would be a great addition) ample room to hang your clothes.

Downsides :

Breakfast is very disappointing! I don't think one needs to spend much, but I think toast should be cooked to order, not cooked at 7:30am and it is cold and hard by the time you have breakfast at 8:00am and it is probably the same toast that is still sitting there at 9:30am. I mean toast...how can you mess up toast! Croissants are not great either, they are served like the ones you get on an airline i.e. in a sealed plastic bag...again...is there not a bakery close by that could deliver these? The rest is OK is you like yogurt, cornflakes, lemon cake, cheese, and salami.

Electric Fans - It is hot hot hot in Italy in the summer, I wonder whether fans could be added in the rooms, I guess that does use up electricity?? It was OK, but some people might find the no air conditioning unbearable.

I would not stay here again, if we are traveling in the summer again to Italy, Tuscany, I'd prefer to stay somewhere that has a pool. Otherwise the 70 euro fee for a double room for two is a good price and Silvia is a wonderful host, oh and also you get free Wifi in the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

For us, one of the most important factors when booking La Primavera was the free parking and close proximity to the Centre. This B&B is indeed just a couple of minutes walk from the walls of this charming little town, and it does offer ample off road parking for its guests, so a big thumbs up for that! However, logistics aside, La Primavera is also everything a family run B&B should be. Beautifully decorated, spacious bedrooms which, as already mentioned, are immaculately clean. A gracious and welcoming host, who had plenty of local knowledge to answer the many questions that we bombared her with. Thank you Silvia.
As for the cat, we simply fell in love with him, you could literally pick him up and wear him like a scarf!
great place and great memories.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Would endorse positive comments in other reviews: spotlessly clean, comfortable, two steps from town yet with parking (NB the public car parks close to the old town are metered), charming and helpful owner, great food at breakfast. There is wifi - one just has to ask for the code and it works in the lounge or just outside the door. Volterra is a wonderful, friendly town, very different from some of the more frequented places in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandRCrystalPalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Lino
San Lino
#7 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 24 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Primavera

Property: La Primavera
Address: Via Porta Diana, 15, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing