We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly great”
Review of La Vecchia Lira

La Vecchia Lira
Ranked #8 of 93 Restaurants in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed March 16, 2016

We had dinner here two times in one week, loved it. Massimo and staff were friendly and helpful. Italian food at its best (must be this way even if some think it's a bit greasy)! Would recommend it and will come back.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brunoh357
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 134 of 2,681 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

We have had dinner here two nights in a row because it is definitely the best place to eat in Volterra, and in Tuscany!
Fantastic pasta and some amazing beef. Great house wine and delicious dessert. Really friendly service with at least one member off staff speaking good English.
Just go.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 674lottab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

I wasn't sure I give 4 or 3 for this restaurant. The food was really good but sweets were disappointing. The waiter was really unfriendly and he didn't explain anything when he put the first sauces on the table. We had to guess from the smell what they were. The owner was more friendly but really in hurry. The price wasn't too high but not either economy.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Sogii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

They speak English poorly and the food is only regular (to greasy). I bread and they told me to stop and what they meant was if the they could charge. After that other problem. I was finishing my wine (waiting for my family to use the rest room and they asked me to leave the table!!!

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Larissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed good soups and pastas in this quaint establishment that was frequented mostly by locals during our visit.

The staff was very helpful with our limited Italian vocabulary.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank KidsLeftBehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed La Vecchia Lira also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to La Vecchia Lira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.