We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic home made pasta”
Review of Don Beta

Don Beta
Ranked #33 of 89 Restaurants in Volterra
Price range: $31 - $126
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic home made pasta”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled in here on what was a freezing March day and it was nice and warm with authentic Italian food. Pigeon, wild boar and duck pastas featured. The best looking meal in our group was the ravioli - 3 huge hand made pieces! Have uploaded a photo to share. Service could have been better, the locals were given preference even though we were prepared to stay a while to shelter from the weather and keep buying plenty of food and wine. Overall a good experience though not the best we've found in Italy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    328
    178
    76
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good but overall nothing special”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food was good but the service and atmosphere was not special. The tagliata was too rare for my liking and you could tell the meat was not the freshest (or the cut was not the best) as it was kind of chewy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dundrinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Following a friends suggestion we went to try their meat and truffles. At our arrival we are offered a small drink and olive oil facaccia, which was good. One tagliata was good, meat cokked properly and tasty, the other was covered in old walnuts which were even showing signs of mildew, obviously even if the meat was good, the walnuts were uneatable and when we pointed it out to the waitress, she seemed not to care. Costs are weird as well, even on the menu they don't have the prices of the truffles claiming that it depends on the cost of the truffles, for a few gramms, I was charged an extra 10 EURO and the truffles were definitely not better than others I've had. Our bill had a service charge of 5.30 which I found odd as we were only two! The restaurant could use some touch up as well. It is a shame as the kitchen does seem to have the capabilities to cook well. Staff are generally friendly and the two guys bringing food and plates to the lower floor also stop and get out of the way of the clients, no matter what they are holding. There was also a girl that kept running around the room during our dinner which was very annoying.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dario954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service.”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on an Italian holiday and there were few people there for dinner. The service was excellent and the food was rustic and delicious. We were a party of four and started with the prosciutto Toscano, crostini tartufo, and pecorino alla griglia. Next we did pasta dishes, carbonara, cacio e pepe and pici al fagiano. The first two were good, but the fagiano was amazing!

Our third course filetto al pepe verde and capriolo - both were excellent.

Volterra is a wonderful, quaint medieval town and this restaurant did not disappoint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlondeAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Busy but I'll pass”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Maybe it was me....this restaurant was very busy each time we passed but our meal here was unimpressive and the wait staff not particulary friendly, Check out the other options in this lovely little city

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gazell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Beta also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Don Beta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing