We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Countryside stay near Volterra”
Review of Molino D'Era

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Molino D'Era
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Countryside stay near Volterra”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Molino d'Era and felt very at home. The location overlooking the Tuscan countryside was exactly what I was hoping for. The staff accommodated us with an unexpected early arrival. The gardens and courtyard were lovely. We found communicating in English a little more challenging here, which was part of the fun, and everyone was extremely gracious as we pantomimed our way through - this is what international travel is all about for us! The hotel had a decidedly feminine feel to it, including our room, but my husband argued that it felt appropriate for the location and not overwhelming. The only negative of our experience was the shower, with a detachable nozzle that had broken the day before and therefor had no support, along with no hot water. I'll attribute that to the out-of-the-way location and it certainly didn't ruin the experience. Meals, including breakfast, were outstanding and especially memorable out in the garden. Breakfast was easily the most generous we experienced on our 14 day trip through Tuscany.

Room Tip: We requested a garden view but reserved our room late and missed out on that. I think it would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_marice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    86
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
120
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed en route from Pisa to a wedding in Tuscany. We met family at the Molino and enjoyed dinner together in the excellent garden terrace. Car parking is easy and helps to make this a relaxing stopover. We would return to explore more of the area.

Room Tip: Book dinner. The restaurant is popular with local people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnPrimeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, NY
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at beautiful Hotel Molino D'Era for three nights in May and loved the hotel, grounds, staff and restaurant. We had a lovely very spacious room with two windows overlooking the large back garden and patio. Everything was beautifully decorated, immaculate and one could see the love and care of the family run operation, headed by Irma and her staff. For people with a car, the location is perfect in the spectacular countryside with easy access to Volterra, San Gimignano and other wonderful hill towns in the picturesque and mountainous area of Tuscany. The family restaurant, popular with locals and tourists, was absolutely wonderful and we had the best dinners, reasonably priced, of our month long trip through Italy. Breakfast was also superb with a wide variety of items including juice, cereals, breads, pastries, meats, fresh fruit, cheeses, yogurts and each morning a fancy hot egg dish was included. The extensive, lush and lovingly cared for grounds, offer a wonderful respite in the afternoon after touring and one can enjoy reading or simply relaxing with a fine glass of wine on the patio. Irma and her staff offered us many suggestions on places to visit in the area. Hotel Molino D'Era was by far the nicest hotel of our recent trip to Italy and we recommend it with great enthusiasm. We will definitely return on future visits to Tuscany.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet location and had a lovely room in the back facing the extensive and beautiful g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingkellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We loved Hotel Molino d'Era in Volterra, and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is family run with a passion for perfection. We were pleased to note that the locals frequent the bar and restaurant, which serves beautiful food at reasonable prices. The hotel is set in a lovely rural environment beside a river. The entire hotel feels spacious and light. The rooms are also spacious and nicely furnished. This was a great base to explore the beautiful nearby Tuscan towns of Volterra and San Gimignano, to name but two. There was really nothing about this place that we didn't like. We left there wanting to move to Tuscany! You would need to have a car to stay here, as it wasn't close to public transport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Sisters with a passion for service. Lovely hosts. spotlessly clean cool
rooms, i would stay here again and again! The food is top quality. The place is central for many sites, pisa florence voltera the coast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enuttybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Me and my husband stayed for 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. The rooms with air conditioning were clean and the beds ensured a good night sleep. It's location is right next to a road, but there is very little traffic, especially at night, so that didn't bother us.
Molin d'Era is also a restaurant with high quality food, and combined with one of the many great wines we had a wonderful dining experience. The fact that many locals eat there also says enough I think :-). Too bad we only stayed for 4 night, otherwise we would have tried everything on the menu. The breakfast was extended with fresh fruit, several kinds of cheese and Italian ham, freshly baked pastries and cappuccino’s prepared with love. The warm atmosphere that the personnel creates is truly exceptional. Thanks for the wonderful time we had!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinnyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We hadn't originally planned to stay in Volterra as part of our trip, we were just going to do a day trip. But due to us not liking our Siena B&B, we decided to stop in Volterra for the night on our way to Pisa so logged onto TA and searched for B&B's in Volterra and picked this one. This hotel was about a 10 min drive outside of Volterra, just at the bottom of the hill so pretty good location. The room was nice, clean and tidy and a good size. Bed was comfy, the only downside was that the traffic noise was quite loud outside as it's on a main road, but this quietened as it got later enough for us to get to sleep! The breakfast was average, usual pastries and james etc. I found this hotel a good stopping point, a nice average hotel - but get the feeling it's been rated so highly because of the restaurant as that's what most of the comments seem to refer to. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed the night we stayed there so didn't get to try it so can't comment. I'd recommend this hotel to people as it's a good base for visiting Volterra.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#1 of 24 in Volterra
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
570 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 24 in Volterra
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#11 of 24 in Volterra
183 reviews
4.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#5 of 24 in Volterra
480 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#3 of 24 in Volterra
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino D'Era? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino D'Era

Property: Molino D'Era
Address: S.R.T. 439 Dir km 6,400 | Molino D'Era - Villamagna, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Molino D'Era 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Molino D'Era reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing