We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place.”
Review of Molino D'Era

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Molino D'Era
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Sisters with a passion for service. Lovely hosts. spotlessly clean cool
rooms, i would stay here again and again! The food is top quality. The place is central for many sites, pisa florence voltera the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enuttybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Molino D'Era
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 215 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Me and my husband stayed for 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. The rooms with air conditioning were clean and the beds ensured a good night sleep. It's location is right next to a road, but there is very little traffic, especially at night, so that didn't bother us.
Molin d'Era is also a restaurant with high quality food, and combined with one of the many great wines we had a wonderful dining experience. The fact that many locals eat there also says enough I think :-). Too bad we only stayed for 4 night, otherwise we would have tried everything on the menu. The breakfast was extended with fresh fruit, several kinds of cheese and Italian ham, freshly baked pastries and cappuccino’s prepared with love. The warm atmosphere that the personnel creates is truly exceptional. Thanks for the wonderful time we had!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinnyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We hadn't originally planned to stay in Volterra as part of our trip, we were just going to do a day trip. But due to us not liking our Siena B&B, we decided to stop in Volterra for the night on our way to Pisa so logged onto TA and searched for B&B's in Volterra and picked this one. This hotel was about a 10 min drive outside of Volterra, just at the bottom of the hill so pretty good location. The room was nice, clean and tidy and a good size. Bed was comfy, the only downside was that the traffic noise was quite loud outside as it's on a main road, but this quietened as it got later enough for us to get to sleep! The breakfast was average, usual pastries and james etc. I found this hotel a good stopping point, a nice average hotel - but get the feeling it's been rated so highly because of the restaurant as that's what most of the comments seem to refer to. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed the night we stayed there so didn't get to try it so can't comment. I'd recommend this hotel to people as it's a good base for visiting Volterra.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel was a very comfortable and affordable hotel just outside the town of Volterra. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. If you have a car and want to be in the volterra and San gimignano area this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ld6506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We chose the Molino d'Era hotel as a stopover for one night after visiting the lovely hill town of Volterra. We wanted someplace outside the city that had a restaurant on site, and this fit the bill nicely.
This hotel and restaurant seems to be run completely by women and they do a fantastic job. The rooms are decorated with pretty quilts and tasteful furniture. The lobby is welcoming and unpretentious with lots of sofas and easy chairs for relaxing, as well as a corner dedicated to a flat-screen TV. Check in was quick and easy. Everyone was extremely pleasant and eager to help. Free wifi is available for the asking.
The hotel is surrounded by a big patio with tables for taking a before dinner drink, with lots of potted flowers and an herb and rose garden in the middle. Next to the patio is a very large patch of natural beauty, with grass, a wisteria arbor, a little babbling brook and plenty of tables and benches for sitting and relaxing.
The restaurant is top-notch in every way! It was fun taking a moment to watch the women in the kitchen as they put together their homemade pastas, Our party ordered a variety of dishes, from ravioli with gorgonzola and walnuts, a fried fish platter, rabbit with porcini mushrooms and polenta, a tagliata with radicchio, a filet of veal that was the tenderest piece of meat imaginable, with a sprinkling of crunchy sea salt on the crusty outside....in other words we went to town. Our meal included a nice bottle of their own red wine and a couple of bottles of mineral water. The bill? 104 euros. And the evening wasn't over....out came plates of complimentary cookies and an offer of limoncello or grappa. We cried uncle.
It was lovely being able to just walk upstairs to our rooms after such a feast and relax in the pleasant atmosphere and comfortable bed. Extras like complimentary slippers and a soft little throw blanket on the foot of the beds made it super comfy and welcoming. It's too bad that this gem of a hotel is so off the beaten track. I would love to come back here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelfreak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Been there for 4 nights, and was very sad to leave. It is a wonderful hotel, the owners are family and they treat the guests as family (on the good aspect of it...).
The food in the restaurant was on of the best we had on our trip.
Is is deep in no where in Tuscany (no cellular reception...) but if you have a car it's not a problem. just make sure to have GPS when you arrive for the first time.
Most recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stavti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We've eaten at molino D'era before and as we had to spend time in Volterra we booked to stay there. The rooms are simple but very comfortable. There was slight road noise (exacerbated by the horrendous rain during the night) and there was a problem with the heating on one night however these didnt spoil our stay.

The food and service here are great. very good quality, reasonably priced, tuscan food. One strange event was that on the third night we got to the hotel to find the restaurant in darkness and when we called reception they said the restaurant wasnt open that night - I would have thought they would have informed us beforehand? Still, as 10 mins from Volterra we found somewhere else which was great anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuartAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volterra hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
267 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
309 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
Hotel Foresteria Volterra
#12 of 25 in Volterra
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
499 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
367 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#5 of 25 in Volterra
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino D'Era? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino D'Era

Address: S.R.T. 439 Dir km 6,400 | Molino D'Era - Villamagna, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: $73 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Molino D'Era 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Molino D'Era reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing