We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to try”
Review of Trattoria Da Bado

Trattoria Da Bado
Ranked #21 of 91 Restaurants in Volterra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Closed on Wednesday
Volterra, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to try”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food was filled with pepper and salt i could barely taste any of the ingredients. Also , i was forced by the waitress to finish my meal even though i did not want to!
i dont recommend it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    103
    33
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having read about this restuarant in Rick Steve's and also on Trip Advisor we thought we would like it and we were not disappointed. It is very popular, so reservations are recommended. The dinning room was filled with english speaking guest, the waiter barely spoke English yet somehow was able to serve everything just as everyone ordered, it was perfect. He was also great with the wine orders. There are two dinning rooms one small, the other large. The local Rotary Club members were there for dinner, and even though it was a large group our waiter continued to make sure that we were taken care of. The dinners that we had were Tagliatelle with hare sauce and pasta with blue veined pecorino they were both incredible. If you are in Volterra don't miss the wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snow---1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice food, a touch pricey”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a lovely meal with our family of four, including 2 children, 4 and 2. Park toward the back of the restaurant. Fantastic risotto ai funghi and casarecche di zucchini. The top two pasta events our our 2 week Italian trip. Side dishes were over-priced and a bit boring. The kids had a rigatoni pomodoro that was very good. Very friendly waitress named Sylvia. Definitely worth a stop, but not cheap.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MomWithTwoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food Too pricey”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Fred Plotkin aside...Da Bado was beyond pricey..my main complaint....food well prepared and quite good..ambience tired and rough around the edges...service..local indifferent tap room style...came highly recommended but somehow given our spectacular experiences in Tuscany and Umbria I didn't have the same experience that others may have had.

Helpful?
1 Thank ormerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Tuscan cuisine just outside Volterra city walls”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Fred Plotkin makes another good recommendation (along with Rick Steves and Fodors). This trattoria, just a 10-15 minute walk from the Etruscan Museum is a great find. With three guidebooks recommending it, we were somewhat mystified as to why we had the place almost to ourselves for a late (1:45 pm) lunch. We had the zuppa Volterrana (you could eat it with a fork, delicious and hearty); assorted crostini with liver, leeks, tomato, and mushrooms; delicate tortelli with ricotta and spinach stuffing, and a delcious blue pecorino sauce; an unremarkable, plain fagioli bianchi as a contorni; risotto ai funghi (very good); and an excellent papardelle lepere (hare sauce). Good vino rosso della casa and very pleasant service. Cannot recall total cost, but prices seemed quite reasonable. Definitely a better option than the many establishments with "menus turistico."

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sagvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Da Bado also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Trattoria Da Bado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing