We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere dell'Arco Country Charme
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
1 review
“Beautiful place ever!!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Beautiful place ever!!! The hosts and their two sons are fabulous, friendly and helpful. I wish I could stay more than four days. If I had a chance to go there again I wouldn't think a second! Words are truly not enough to describe my experience. Basicly I can tell that I highly reccomend Podere dell'Arco Country Charme.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in perfect condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandeHande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
67
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were a family of 6 and stayed here in 4 rooms for 4 nights. Rooms very comfortable, the surroundings were lovely with gnarled old olive trees, and lovely gardens. A good size pool to cool off - during this time of the year it is very hot. The owners were very welcoming and informative. Being Australian we appreciated the fact we had small kitchenettes to prepare a cup of tea and some snacks! Lacking in most Italian hotels.Quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend people stay here if you appreciate the countryside. And only 5 minutes drive to the old town of Viterbo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyM499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Renown for is cool breezes and proximity to thermal spas, Viterbo was the preferred summer resort of the ancient Roman patricians. Today it is a bustling, small city of narrow medieval streets with an urban rhythm keyed more to Rome than the surrounding countryside. But just beyond the city walls lies Podere dell'Arco, a superbly appointed B&B, beckoning the sophisticated traveler to a calm, friendly respite off the beaten trail.

La Strada Signorino leading to this exquisite hacienda is one of the most enchanted roads in the world. It is a narrow one-way passage carved about 6 meters deep into a soft stone plateau and shrouded above by the verdant foliage of Lazio. Upon arrival one discovers that the Podere also comprises a private equestrian center, discreetly separated from the hotel grounds by a line of tall cypress tress. The hotel is a lovingly renovated old country monastery with an enclosed courtyard and babbling fountain. The rooms or suites are distributed on three levels, each with its own landing and separate entrance. We stayed in Passione, a spacious, comfortable three-room attic suite furnished in authentic regional antiques.

After a long drive from Chianti, we were warmly greeted in the courtyard by the innkeeper, Anna, who checked us in and showed us to the room. Within minutes we were tranquilly lounging on the adjacent lawn alongside the large infinity swimming pool basking in the late afternoon sun. The sound of wind rustling the estate's trees was punctuated from time to time by the braying of horses in the nearby stables. A thick scent of lavender permeated the atmosphere. For the better part of the afternoon we were alone, joined briefly by an Italian couple on a weekend getaway from Rome. This is a place for adults. No rambunctious kids diving cannonball-style into the pool, shouting in the almost ubiquitous cacaphony of FrenchEnglishGermanDutch heard throughout many luxury resorts in Central Italy during the summer months.

Later Anna booked us a table at a very good restaurant in Vitberbo. (Driving the city's streets is like negotiating a maze. I strongly advise parking outside the walls, maybe at the train station, and walking into town ... unless you're partial to backing out of dead-end cobblestone alleys.) The next morning Anna prepared a breakfast of delicious homemade pastries and breads, seasonal fruit, and freshly made jams. Then we headed out for the day toward Caprarola to the tour the magnificent Villa Faranese -- 40 rooms of High Renaissance frescoes including some by Annibale Carracci. The renderings of ancient mythology provide an unforgettable almost psychedelic experience. Worth the price of admission, next time I'm bringing my iPod for some Hendrix or Trane.

Back at Podere dell'Arco we chilled out for the rest of the day and got to bed early in anticipation of Anna's breakfast the next morning. Fortified by a perfect double-espresso we collected our stuff & headed to Rome promising each other that we will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Make an effort to speak Italian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My daughter and I stayed two nights and wish we could have stayed two weeks! This was my first trip to Italy, and I'd go back again just to stay at Podere dell'Arco. Anna & Marco are remarkable hosts. We did not have a car, and they helped us with transportation, even making dinner reservations for us the first evening and taking us to the restaurant! Our room was "Purfumo" in the upper level of the 13th century farm home which has been completely restored with every modern day convenience, yet maintains the old world charm. The shuttered windows open to expose an amazing view, where I loved to sit in the window bench and see the glorious lavendar fields. The flowers were gorgious from the climbing roses to the enormous hydrengia pots made the patio a perfect setting for morning breakfast. Much of our time we spent simply enjoying the estate - the pool area was very large, clean and relaxing. We walked through the stable area to the lavendar fields and yet another path took us past vineyards and some of the horses.
We did walk into Viterbo, which was a ways, but manageable. The narrow road from the Etruscan era that leads to Podere dell'Arco is a beautiful walk and stately entrance to the property. Food was excellent, bedding and the size of our suite was excellent, and the hospitality Anna and Marco extend is excellent!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

A wonderful place to stay, beautiful, quiet, with flowers everywhere and a big swimming pool. The hosts, Anna and Marco love the area and want to share with you the beauties of the surrounding. Follow their advices, you will discover nice historic sightseeings as well as good restaurants.
Podere dell'Arco is not only an hotel, but like the house of close friends who take care of you...
Brigitte & Yves, France

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I found this place recommended in the Blue Guide on Central Italy, which has often proved to be a trustworthy source. Added to that the pictures on Podere dell Arco’s website and with great expectations I booked for a week.
The place was even more wonderful than we thought. Exterior and interior of the old farm are restored with great taste and with attention to detail as well (hand sewn curtains, percale bed linens).
The biggest asset however is the wonderful family that owns it. Their warm reception really made our stay very special. They have a 5* approach and left us nothing to wish for. Where do you find a B&B with self-catering apartments, a daily Italian newspaper and a breakfast that consists of exactly what you like and can be taken whenever and wherever you want it? Anna daily bakes fresh biscuits and cakes for breakfast. When I think back to the mornings under the pergola with cappuccino, slices of lavender cake and a nice chat with Anna I immediately want to return!
The region offers more sights than I expected. We got to see only the most important ones e.g. Tuscania, the Parco dei Mostri, and Palazzo Farnese because the lounge area and the pool proved to be an excellent way to enjoy the warm September weather and we simply couldn’t bring ourselves to leave the estate. We ended up prolonging our stay with another week and this is our third year coming back… In all this is the best B&B I’ve ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchFlybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

My husband and I recently enjoyed a weekend at Podere dell'Arco, outside of Viterbo. The final approach on a narrow road cut through stone by the Etruscans was awesome. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well-maintained. Flowers are everywhere. This is a lovely, peaceful place--so close to the busy world and yet so far away. With our cameras in hand everywhere we looked was another picture deserving to be framed. Much of the past was obviously highlighted during the restoration of this lovely Italian hideaway. Our lovely suite was once the common kitchen. The fireplace in this beautifully restored suite is now in the living/dining area with antique cookware gracing one wall. For those wanting to prepare their own meals there was an adequate cooking area. The large bedroom and modern bath were covered with antique floor tiles. Our suite had lovely views. It was most comfortable and quiet, with excellent air conditioning (important because it was hot when we stayed!). The beautiful, clean pool was especially welcome--we spent much of one afternoon there and even went for a midnight swim. The breakfast is made-to-order and was delicious--we ate outside in a secluded courtyard surrounded by roses and an arbor. Podere dell'Arco is also a riding school. The owner gave us a tour of both the suites and common areas of this ancient palazzio, which was once the residence of a cardinal, as well as the stables. Viterbo is a beautiful, interesting town. Although Podere dell'Arco is a little too far to walk into town, there is ample parking around the city walls. The restaurant in town recommended by the owner was excellent. It was a wonderful weekend--we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBORLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viterbo hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Salus Terme
Hotel Salus Terme
#2 of 20 in Viterbo
1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Viterbo
2.7 mi away
Alla Corte delle Terme Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo Le Quattro Stagioni
0.8 mi away
B&B Medieval House
B&B Medieval House
#2 of 93 in Viterbo
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Viterbo Antica
B&B Viterbo Antica
#1 of 93 in Viterbo
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere dell'Arco Country Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere dell'Arco Country Charme

Property: Podere dell'Arco Country Charme
Address: Strada Signorino 3, 01100, Viterbo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Viterbo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Viterbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient farmhouse dating back to the 15th century was once home to a small community of friars. Here one finds hospitality and comfort in an ideal place for relaxation, for observing close up a landscape full of colors, perfumes sensations and traditions.The ancient monastery overlooks a typical Viterbese panorama with a thousand shades of green, a perfect starting point for interesting walks and rides on mountain bike trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere dell'Arco Country Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing