We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room in a lovely town”
Review of B&B Medieval House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Medieval House
Ranked #2 of 96 Viterbo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, MA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely room in a lovely town”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We often stay in Viterbo for our first night between landing at Fiumicino and going on to the first site of interest after a good night's rest, as it's an easy drive from Rome. This time, we stayed two nights, so we could explore Viterbo, and a good idea it was. We stayed in the tower of this B&B, across via S. Andrea from the main house, where we had a lovely room, with wonderful cross-ventilation -- essential during a June heatwave, a view of the back garden and the streetscape, a comfy bed, a very nice en suite bath, and a delicious breakfast. The owner's family run Coccia Prosciutto, whose products are sold only in Viterbo, and some of whose wares appear at breakfast -- delicious prosciutto and capocolla, for example. The proprietor, Matteo, is friendly, helpful, and fluent in English for those of us whose Italian, particularly on the first day out, is rusty or nonexistent. And Viterbo rewards a two-night (or longer) stay, with excellent restaurants in via San Pelligrino in the medieval quarter of town. Parking on the street or in the carpark a short walk from the B&B makes it convenient to unload/reload for departure. We highly recommend this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaylynBrookline_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    67
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
51
281
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed 1 night in May 2014 as part of a wider 51 day trip through parts of Europe. Paid €65 pn for each double room. Beds were large twins pushed together and very comfy. Rooms were in a smaller building directly across from the main building.

Rate included breakfast which was made freshly for us at whatever time suited us by a lady in Matteo (owners) employ. We chose fresh fruits, juices, hot drinks, fresh meats, cheeses, croissants, etc (could have eggs and other items as well if you wanted to). Matteo's family has a cold meats business & cold cuts were exceptionally good. Very nice, fresh breakfast.

Rooms did not have balconies.

We considered it was very good value for price paid. Matteo spoke pretty good English (breakfast lady did not but it did not matter a bit).

Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The whole building oozes ambience as does the main B&B reception area across the road.

Both rooms had AC, Heating, Fridge, Mirrors, Wardrobe and flat screen TV. Both had an extra single bed as well in the room. One room was on the top floor in an attic so our tall friend had to watch his head a bit but it was decorated well with everything one could need (but no kettle). Note that the Air Con was programmed on a night switch so it only worked during the daytime hours.

Bathroom was private. Of good size and VERY modern with room for a small clothes rack. Toiletries provided were soaps & shampoo. Hairdryer provided. Hot water shower and good water pressure. Shower was on own base and had a glass surround (not extremely tiny but not large either).

Parking is wherever you can get on the nearby streets and is metered in the day (free from 8pm to 9am on the night we were there but this apparently is changeable). We got lucky and our car was only steps away.

WiFi was free and worked really well but only in the breakfast area and stairwell (rooms had way too thick walls as it is in a medieval house). No pool.

Easy walk to the middle of the old medieval town. So, so quiet at night for sleeping; was wonderful.

Overall, we would give this 3.5 - 4/5 stars. We would stay again due to friendliness of owner and quality of sleeping conditions and lovely, fresh breakfast however it would be easier to stay here without a car overall. The difficulty finding the place was frustrating as Google Maps has it listed incorrectly as some blocks away (both address and co-ordinates) as does booking.com. Matteo is trying to have this fixed but it will take some time; it is a big concern for him. I hope this gets sorted quickly for you Matteo as you deserve lots of guests to come your way! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishtago...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

When you decide to stay in a B&B you have low expectetions. Here you can have Maximum of your lifetime. Owner of the house (Matteo) welcomes you, takes care of every question, be there on time, and make you have great time at the city. Yes, houses name is medieval but conditions are much higher than you need. You have a very clean, wide room, with good sunlight, new furniture, a shared kitchen if you want to use, and a good breakfast in the morning. Sleeping conditions are perfect, but I can suggest to close the curtain of roof window before the sun rises. Prices are very good for a B&B like this. And you have Matteo's hospitality and friendship also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yücel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Superb! Very nice and good B&B in the heart of the Viterbo's medieval town. We received warm welcome, and Matteo was very helpful and friendly person. Room was decorated nicely having amazing view to the town. If you are arriving by car, please don't try to enter the town (in side medieval walls) - instead park your car outside of the city walls and walk to the B&B. Unless you are keen on driving very narrow streets.

The only drawback was that we spent only one night in this lovely B&B and medieval town, but it was our fault.

So if you are looking for very nice and relaxing place, even day-off from Rome, please visit to Viterbo and stay at least one night in this nice B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

It is a must for any lover of Italy to stay at least once within the old wall of one of their ancient cities. The Medieval B&B was a perfect pick for that, excellent value for money, delightful and knowledgeable host, Matteo, and good substantial breakfast. The actual architecture is picture perfect and Viterbo might not be a well known travel distinction, but worth the drive for a first day on your way to Tuscany or further north. Have a Good GPS and you will have no problem finding it.

Room Tip: Bring your blindfolds when you travel in June. The nights and early morning are very bright unless t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KarenFitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice location in the old town and easy to find. Not too far from the train station. Matteo was helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. Maybe a little unknown Viterbo is so close to Rome and easy to access. We recommend this B&B if you visit Viterbo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location inside city walls, beautifully appointed accomodation, fast wi-fi and as many devices as you like, delicious breakfast. The owner Matteo was charming and very helpful. His refurbishment of the medieval home into a B&B has exquisitly merged medieval charm with modern design and convenience. Viterbo is a great town, not full of tourists, but with heaps to enjoy. Great food. Everything in walking distance. Highly recommend a couple of nights in Medieval House.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viterbo hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Salus Terme
Hotel Salus Terme
#2 of 20 in Viterbo
1,066 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Viterbo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viterbo Inn
Hotel Viterbo Inn
#9 of 20 in Viterbo
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Sofia
Villa Sofia
#5 of 20 in Viterbo
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tuscia Hotel
Tuscia Hotel
#6 of 20 in Viterbo
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Orchard
B&B Orchard
#4 of 96 in Viterbo
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Medieval House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Medieval House

Property: B&B Medieval House
Address: Via Sant'Andrea 78, 01100, Viterbo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Viterbo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Viterbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is in the heart of Viterbo’s historical town centre, just a stone’s throw from the Papal Palace and the fascinating medieval quarter of San Pellegrino.The house is built on two floors and has been carefully renovated to preserve all its unique features, at the same time transforming it into a great living space with all modern comforts.Antique wooden ceilings, tasteful décor and carefully chosen fixtures and fittings, combined with a warm welcome, guarantee our guests an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B Medieval House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing