We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great - a few points to mention...”
Review of Cruccuris Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cruccuris Resort
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Villasimius
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not great - a few points to mention...”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

While we enjoyed our time at Villasimius, the Cruccuris 'resort' was a little disappointing. However, there are a few points that I wish I'd known before booking:

* 'resort' - it's not, really. It's a hotel with two pools.

* 'four-star' - while it may have sufficient amenities to meet some specific definition of 'four-star' (or indeed, they may have simply awarded that rating to themselves, as so many hotels do) it's not a four star experience. The rooms, while clean and large, are bare and unwelcoming (think UK TravelLodge with french windows!) and like the rest of the hotel, could really do with a significant update.

* 'access to private beach' - the same company have another hotel with a private beach, which Cruccuris guests are promised access to. Unfortunately, unlike many other hotel chains, this isn't complimentary - it costs €15 per person, per day, meaning it's not really a perk at all, given there are many other hotels and beaches in the area offering a similar opportunity for the same or less.

* the wifi - costs €3 for 30 minutes.

* the restaurant - is erratic. Some of the dishes are really good, while others are surprisingly poor. A particular low point, however, is the wine list. We had to spend €40 (the most expensive white available) to get something approaching pleasant, which even then was way worse than you'd get for a tenner in the Italian section at Tesco. In addition, the rose prosecco on their list has the unfortunate distinction of being the single worst bottle I've experienced in many years.

* the staff - on the whole pleasant, although sometimes the level of service is poor, especially from the receptionists, who couldn't really be bothered to help a lot of the time.


All in all, as I said, we enjoyed our stay, although this was probably more to do with the weather and the fantastic beaches around the area, than the hotel. I wouldn't consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    151
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
94
389
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Crucurris for three years , and the level of service we have gotten and the memories we have retained are overwhelmingly pleasant. What does one want on vacation? To have a sanctuary to rest and recoup lost enthusiasm? To have your needs anticipated, and if requests are made (or things break for instance) to have them rectified immediately by an accommodating and friendly staff? To be able to bike, to explore new beaches, restaurants, to climb mountains, to read, and not to be troubled in any way? To practice (or perhaps inflict) your Italian on those quite willing to listen? If you are looking for ready made entertainment, flat screen TVs, or being ferried around, perhaps Crucurris is not for you. But if you want a place where the two of you can concentrate on each other in an impeccably maintained setting, and forget the rest of the world exists, then I have found few better places. Maurizio and his team should be congratulated for keeping the high standards and for the friendly warm welcome we have received year after year. It should be noted that we do not have half board, as we prefer to explore, and that as such a car is essential. I would echo other comments not to bother with going to the sister beach hotel. There are plenty of other beaches which are secluded and perfect. If you are into it, climbing the mountains behind the hotel are a wonderful way to start the day, or hiring the mountain bikes (which have steadily improved each year). Crucurris is a place, one of very few, to which we return again, and again, and again. Like next year, if possible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericwhitetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

One of the nicest resorts ever. Beautifully designed buildings, gardens and pools, superb views on mountains and sea. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soanmaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Perfect for a relaxing holiday by the pool with good food and excellent service throughout the Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russells21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 1 week at the start of July this year. I have to say it met all our expectations and lived up to all the other positive reviews we had read on Trip Advisor.

It is called a "resort" although really it is just a hotel set in lovely landscaped gardens. It has an intimate feel (i think there are only about 50 rooms) and the rooms are spaced out so that although you have neighbours you never really feel you are being overlooked or your privacy invaded.

There are 2 pools, the main pool is located by the bar and terrace area and this one seemed to be the most popular. We always found there to be plenty of sunbeds available, all which were shaded by huge sturdy umbrellas if needed. Fresh towels are provided every day as required.

Everywhere is immaculately looked after. The gardens are beautiful, the pools are clean and the rooms (although a little basic - Sardinian style) are cleaned to a high standard every morning.

The staff were aso fantastic, very polite and courteous and nothing ever seemed like too much trouble.

The resort itself is situated about 5km away from the nearest town, Villasimius, and about 2 mins drive from the nearest beach. As an area there is not a great deal to do really. Villasimius has a few interesting local shops (and plenty of identikit Armani shops!!) and 3 or 4 very good restaurants, La Galleria being our favourite. Not a gripe as we weren't expecting it to be a busy place and we welcomed the small town feel.

The beaches are fine but we have seen better in the north and east of the island. That said, they are still of a very high standard and the sea is crystal clear as it is in most of Sardinia. The resort offers customers the chance to use their sister hotel's beach (Stella Maris) for €15 each but we wouldn't recommend this. It is one of the less impressive beaches in the area and the Stella Maris hotel isn't a patch on Cruccuris anyway.

Only two minor gripes about Cruccuris. Firstly, they charge for internet access. Sorry, but in this day and age that is a liberty. Should be free to all guests in my opinion. Secondly, we weren't impressed with the quality of the food. We ate at the restaurant once and the food arrrived luke warm and it was expensive. Therefore, I wouldn't recommend half board option. Much better to get out and enjoy what the local town has to offer.

All in all we would thoroughly recommend Cruccuris Resort. If you want a holiday where you simply want to relax, take in some sun and just chill out then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbyBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUCKS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was our third time staying at this beautiful resort and once again we had a fantastic time.
Service - the staff and management are caring, considerate and helpful. Always polite with a smile for everyone.
Food - plenty of choice, amazing fish night. Sardinian food night was my favourite, antipasti, pasta, pork with myrtle. Very good.
Room - beautiful big room with balcony overlooking the ocean and pool.
Grounds - the grounds are what make this hotel! A little oasis set in paradise. Pools are gorgeous, always a bed, and so relaxing and peaceful with the only noise being the noise of the birds.
Location - I would suggest hiring a car to see the rest of the island - it is possible to walk to Campus beach if you ask the quick way to go! We used to do it every morning -around a 10min walk and a lovely beach. However if you have a car we would suggest driving to Costa Rei - Cala Pira is the most fantastic and breath taking beach I have ever been too. This was our seventh time to Sardinia and this was the best beach I have been on.

Thank you to all the team for making our stay so wonderful (again!) Almost do not want to tell people incase it gets too popular!

See you again next year!

Diane and Katie [...]

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiestirling20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiipping Campden, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We spent two nights at the Cruccuris Resort after getting married in Costa Rei and we could not have chosen a better location. It was just what we needed after the stress and tireness related to the wedding organisation. The hotel is beautiful, with a really nice pool area (two) and we had a nice external room, very quiet with mountain view.
The staff were very helpful and professional. The food was also nice, with breakfast the best we had had in a hotel in Italy, hot and cold choices, lots of everything. We had lunch in the bar by the pool and this was ok, not so good, but dinner at the restaurant was very nice and not too pricey for a 4 star hotel. Will definitely go back for a couple of nights and woul recommend to anyone wishing to relax and get spoiled!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tersonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villasimius
2.4 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
1,309 reviews
29.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
794 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#10 of 33 in Villasimius
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
134.8 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
470 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#14 of 33 in Villasimius
258 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Caterina
Hotel Cala Caterina
#17 of 33 in Villasimius
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruccuris Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruccuris Resort

Property: Cruccuris Resort
Address: Via Cruccuris 17, 09049 Villasimius, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Villasimius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Villasimius
#1 Luxury Hotel in Villasimius
#4 Family Hotel in Villasimius
#8 Romantic Hotel in Villasimius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cruccuris Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruccuris Resort is built in typical Mediterranean style with 2 large swimming pools, ample terracing and terracotta colouring which contrasts the blue of the sky and the green of the surrounding beautiful garden. It is situated at the foot of a gently sloping hill overlooking the renowned sandy beach of Campus, only 900mt away from the hotel. Quiet and relaxing, Cruccuris Resort is perfect for those seeking a smaller hotel in tranquil surroundings. Guests can relax peacefully in the gardens or sunbathe by one of the hotel's two swimming pools, where sun-loungers are at their disposal. The hotel offers a private beach at the Hotel Stella Maris (4 km far) where a beach/pool service is available on payment and by reservation according to availability, including sun umbrella, sun bed, beach towel, shuttle at settled times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cruccuris Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruccuris Hotel Villasimius
Cruccuris Resort Villasimius, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing